We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
234
216
93
38
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
216
93
38
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach sea view superior room large tent walk into town the hotel staff old town free sunbeds swimming pool half board hotel is located wonderful week deep end four courses mini bar quiet location plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

This was our first trip to Sardinia so booked the package with Thomson after reading reviews.

The hotel is wonderful, food was good, we paid for a sea view room, and it well worth it. Watching the sunset from the balcony was a high light for us.

All the staff are nice, rooms are clean and well maintained, and even the hotel wifi was better than I have found with most holiday hotels.

Hotel is situated a 20 minute walk south of Alghero old town, in a quiet location, which was perfect for us. It's a pity the buildings next door are unfinished and seem abandoned, as this lowers the area, glad our rooms didn't look out that way.

Evening meal was of good quality and quantity, only improvement would have to serve on warmed plates, so if this was the only fault I found, overall quality was high.

Little private beach is tiny, we didn't bother, deciding to stay by the pool. In mid Sept weather was still hot, although we had a thunderstorm one night, and it was overcast for two morning.

Top tip, at breakfast ask the waiters/ waitresses for a pot of coffee, the machine coffee is not good.

Best recommendation I can give is to say if I visit the area again, I would have no hesitation staying at the Calabona again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank jegehubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This hotel by far has the most loveliest staff we have ever met! All of them were friendly and my husband was unwell they helped us and even offered to pick us up from hospital. Our room was lovely and clean, pool was never too busy and pool attendant was very diligent keeping it tidy and making sure everyone was happy. Breakfast was outside overlooking sea view and the waiters were so attentive Dinner was 3 courses but they were obliging when we only wanted a main course. We always had WIFI in the room and the small beach was rocky but ok The walk along the seafront to town pleasant. Once again we cant thank and praise the staff enough we would defiantly go back to the hotel again

Room tip: 302 had a massive balcony overlooking pool one side and sea the other
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheznclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Mrs Cheznclive,
Thank you for your kind review.
We are very happy to learn that you will return again in Hotel Calabona.
You can contact us directly or you can enjoy the best offers available in our official website :)

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This is the third time I have stayed in Hotel Calabona since 2012 and, returning this year for a week's stay, I am pleased to report that it has not lost its charm. In fact, nothing much seems to have changed at the hotel, although in a good way. We were greeted from the taxi in the courtyard, by the usual friendly porter (did not get that at the T Hotel; see earlier review) and our room was as good as on the first time we stayed here. On each occasion we have stayed in room 342, which is the highest category room with a balcony and sea view. The room was clean, well-equipped, had a very large double bed, and the room is a good size for two. The balcony is also a very nice treat! There is not a gym at the hotel, but there is a large pool and a child's paddling area. There are two main dining areas: a large canopy-type structure for breakfast and dinner, and a poolside terrace at the back of the hotel, for lunch and snacks. We always went out for dinner, but the breakfast is adequate and there is certainly enough food.
So what makes me return three times to the same hotel, especially when there is not a shortage of hotels in Alghero? In short: the very friendly and relaxing atmosphere. Nothing is too much for the hotel staff. Indeed, not only is there a large percentage of return guests staying at the hotel, but many of the staff have worked there for over 10 years: a very good sign in my books! You can also do as much or as little as you want during your stay; the hotel staff can help to arrange tours and car hire, and they hire out bikes for a very small fee. But, Hotel Calabona is not a sophisticated hotel, or a formal, business orientated hotel. It is also important to note, that the hotel is about a mile from the centre of the historic centre. But, it is a lovely walk and taxis are plentiful. Finally, the Hotel does have its idiosyncrasies: taking menu requests at breakfast from those staying for the evening meal; erratic wi fi etc. But these all add to the hotel's charm. So.. If you are looking for a very friendly, welcoming and relaxing hotel with charm, then I have no reservations in recommending Hotel Calabona. Enjoy!

Room tip: We stayed in Room 342
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank minimouse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Minimouse10,

we are very glad for your fidelity.

Each time you came you found some innovation, but we really try to maintain the same atmosphere that you found the first time, as you wrote " the very friendly and relaxing atmosphere".
We have a large percentage of return guests staying at the hotel and it is the best acknowledgement for us.
It's true, a lot of staff members have worked here for over 10 years, consequently everybody is sharing the most important target, which is to assure the best treatment to our Guests.

See you next year !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had a incredible meal in the garden of the Calabona hotel. The sun was setting while we wetted our appetite with glasses of sparkling wine produced with the local Vermentino varietal. The food was superb. Wonderful fish, amazing lobster, and fantastic roasted piglet. It was one of our best meals ever.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRe411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear SRe411,
Thank you for your beautiful review.
We are happy to read that you had one of your best meals ever at Hotel Calabona.
We hope to welcome you again.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Calabona,the staff are very helpful and friendly,the hotel itself is spotless clean and the pool and little beach are exactly as advertised,no problem getting sun loungers at any time of the day and all have comfy cushions on

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank baraiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabona, Direttore at Calabona Hotel Alghero Sardegna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear Baraiste,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
We hope to welcome you again for a relaxing stay.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews