We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location - Lovely garden, very quiet and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Maison du Monde

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Alghero, Province of Sassari, Sardinia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sallylou...
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location - Lovely garden, very quiet and secure yet less than 10 mins drive to Alghero”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a great holiday at La Maison du Monde. The property is a spacious bungalow in large and beautiful grounds. Whilst the house is quite basic "shabby chic" as others have mentioned, it is clean, the beds are comfortable, towels and bedding good. It is also cool because of its thick walls, although we did find the air conditioning useful in the bedrooms during the night. The best thing about the property are the grounds - there is an area of lawn with hammock and volleyball/badminton net. There are olive trees and vineyard dotted with fig, plum and lemon trees - it was great being able to pick fruit for breakfast. also to pick fresh herbs. There is a large shaded terrace with plenty of seating and a large table, plenty of choice of places to relax - the hammock, the terrace or the decking by the pool. We made good use of the outside wood over/barbeque - we even tried making pizza! Whilst there were mosquitos outside and in the town, we were not troubled by them in the house as the windows are fitted with insect netting - we all had good sleep. The house has dishwasher and washing machine and hob/microwave but no oven or grill. We did not use the TV/DVD equipment as we spent the whole time outside. The pool is small but clean and large enough to play in - there are balls and inflatables there.
The house is in the depths of the countryside, however only 7-8 minutes drive from the beautiful old town and the coast road which leads to the many lovely beaches. Lidl supermarket (others too) on the way into town.
Michele and Lucia very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the garden, terrace and barbeque/oven
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
We were sure that even these customers would have spent an unforgettable holiday in "La Maison du Monde". We are pleased, therefore, that our country house has not betrayed the expectations, considering the long and detailed positive review from them. We thank them for this beautiful review but we do not understand why the score 4, instead of 5, as it was not expressed any negative rating that eventually would help us to improve the service for all of our future customers. We, however, want to point out a small disappointment for them, as they have been caused various damage to the objects of the house, made available to them, which have not been declared and paid. Our philosophy is not to ask any caution/deposit to our clients but only their correct style in declaring the damage and eventually make an offer for compensation. We're sure that was just an oversight for them, so we hope to have them again as our guests.
Thanks Michele and Lucia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran D
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“even better than last time”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at La Maison Du Monde and although I thought it would not be possible we enjoyed our stay even more.
The hosts are great and really let you feel that the house is 'yours' for the week. We used the facilities in the house more- the pizza oven,outdoor dinning, large garden, volley ball court, outdoor shower, swimming pool. ... the list goes on.
It's the perfect place to relax away from the distractions of a busy life and reconnect with loved ones.
Also great value, a room in a hotel would be more expensive, if your going to stay in Alghero stay at La Maison Du Monde ,you can thank me after

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Dear, what say more about it! Thanks ... we always try to do the best for our old and new guests, to make it an unforgettable stay in "La Maison du Monde". We will wait you again...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erling W
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at La Maison du Monde. This is not your typical summer rental apartment as it is located in an agricultural area. The house is very cosy, and has a "shabby chic" (I think it's called) style. Here you can enjoy your very own garden, with olive trees, lemon trees and other fruit trees.

There is even a hammock, where you can relax with your favorite book under the shadows of an olive tree. Or you can take a swim or just cool down in the private pool. The pool is very suited for children, as it is not very deep (about 1 meter). It is perfect for the little ones learning to swim...there is also an outside stove.

The house is located just a few kilometers outside of Alghero. You need a car, because walking is not an option, especially during the evening/night.

The owners of La Maison du Monde are very friendly! They will help you with any problem you might have and give you tips on where to eat, what to see in the area and so on.

This is our third time visiting Sardinia, and again we had a fantastic time. The beaches are truly beautiful, shallow with crystal clear water. Alghero is a nice little town and we especially recommend the old town, where you will find lots of restaurants and little shops. I could probably just go on and on....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Different, more authentic
Liked least: the mosquitos
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2014
Dear Early,
an heartfelt thanks for your kind review released to us. We are very pleased and happy that you spent a good holiday in Alghero and in La Maison du Monde.
We take this opportunity to inform you that for the next year it will be more comfortable inside, as well as we will take other measures aimed at better comfort, ambiance and service outside.
We will be glad to have yiu again our very welcome guest.
Best
Lucia and Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran D
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay to enjoy Alghero town and relax in the countryside”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from La Maison Du Monde and am torn as to whether to share this perfect location with other people. Stayed for 10 nights in the cottage and fell in love with both the house and the the large garden and pool. The kids really enjoyed the garden with the swings, hammock and pool and my wife and I loved the veranda and the outdoor BBQ.
The hosts were friendly and offered advice on where to visit and locations of good beaches. Alghero was only 5 minutes drive and a great town to hang out at night with the kids, friendly and not too commercial.
We will definitely return to enjoy another stay at La Maison Du Monde.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
We've been very pleased to host your family. You were very kind and polite. We wish to see you again in our "Maison du Monde". Thank you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete N
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Quiet, tranquil and at one with nature.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Good location for visiting Alghero with its shallow beach called Lido, and some beautiful beaches dotted around: Speranza and La Bombarde were some that we enjoyed.
Wonderful house for eating outdoors, pretty and idyllic.
Lots of grounds for little ones to explore.
Safe and secure.
Take mosquito plug ins, there are some about in summer.
Inside could do with updating but provides all basic needs. No oven, but microwave and hob.
Wonderful outside shower, great way to cool down on a hot day.
Careful where you park in main car park in Alghero, stay in white lines and check duration. We got a ticket.
Great to meet such friendly and welcoming hosts. Thank you, we enjoyed our stay so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor eating area and grounds.
Liked least: beds not overly comfortable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing