We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
563
383
90
47
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
383
90
47
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews capo caccia sea view natural park octopus minute drive junior suite on the rocks swimming pool paninis sun loungers lovely hotel sea water breakfast buffet is sandy beaches stayed longer car is essential superb location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at the El Faro hotel for 2 nights.

Idylic setting and we never shut our balcony doors as the view at all hours of the day was just so stunning! Superb 'insect net' folding door meant we could have the lovely sea breeze come in but no bugs at all!

Good sized, light airy room pleasantly decorated. Comfortable beds, we slept very well. Good amount of hanging space and shelving. Safe in room and mini bar but we never use those. No beverage tray.

Double sink in bathroom, water always hot, good shower. absolutely fine. Everything in the room and bathroom was in a good state of repair and both were spotlessly clean.

Extensive cold selection at breakfast in a large light dining room which over looked the bay. Wonderful choice of breads, pastries, cakes, fruit, cold cuts... you were spoilt for choice. We really enjoyed our breakfasts!

The hotel is about 20-30 minute drive from Alghero.

The fire alarm went off 3 times the second night... the last time at midnight.. reception told us they thought it was someone smoking... you could smell cigar smoke.. felt they should have clamped down on the offender the first time it went off... but clearly nothing was said, as it went off twice again. If this had been dealt with in a better way I'd have given the hotel 5*

We really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank dedicatedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is beautiful, in a national park with beautiful scenery & access to the sea.

We were on a girls weekend away.

There was a hiccup when we arrived with the accommodation booked through hotel.com - there are two types of family room & we had booked two with a queen bed & twin beds, unfortunately we were given one with this spec, but the second had a double bed & a sofa bed & at 45, I was not prepared to stay in a sofa bed; but to their absolute credit we were given an additional double room for 1 night as the second family room as ordered was not available for our first night.

Breakfast is very good & we all enjoyed that.

We hired cars to enable us to get out and about during the day - as you are in the middle of nowhere in this hotel.

The transfer cost into Alghero was €60 for the minibus one way; which accommodated the 7 of us.. maybe cheaper for less people.

Bar and pool bar service could be a little slow & only the alcoholic drinks at the main bar would be recommended by us - they were very good, cocktails at the pool bar were not so good & I would totally avoid the Mojito.

However on reflection of accommodation, breakfast, restaurant, facilities & staff, I would def recommend this hotel to get away from it all.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile


Location: Amazing and absolutely Spectacular! The position of the El Faro is the most beautiful and special characteristic about this hotel. Rating 10!

Check-in: Deplorable! Not worthy of a 1 star brothel. Ouch I know that’s harsh but true. After our flight to Sardegna which was 2 hours late, we were anxious to check-in and begin our weekend holiday on the beach. When we entered the hotel and approached the front desk, the receptionist, Deborah, was by herself and helping a guest with a car rental contract. That’s fine. A simple smile with a “buongiorno, I’ll be with you as soon as I’ve finished assisting this guest” would have been more than sufficient.
Instead, Deborah left us waiting in front of her for more than 20 minutes without ever even acknowledging our presence. Finally, she peered over her glasses to look at our luggage and sneered, “Oh. Did you want to check-in? (She’s a quick one that Deborah) Check in is not until 4 pm!” It was 1:30 p.m. Very charming lady indeed. Maybe she could have informed us 20 minutes earlier if she had only said “hello”.
Our rooms were finally ready after 5pm! Don’t expect a greeting or welcome when arriving at the El Faro. Not going to happen. And they don’t even ask you how was your stay when they hand you the bill. And it was not even poor Deborah so this lack of courtesy and basic training is all pervasive.

From 1-10, the check-in and check-out was definitely a 1. So much for first and last impressions! Shame shame!

Rooms: The beds were very comfortable and our junior suite was spacious and very clean. The cleaning lady, Ms Stefania, was extremely kind and courteous and they should make her the front desk manager and move Miss Deborah and the lot behind the scenes with minimal guest contact. Just saying. Would make the hotel more charming and kind.
No amenities unless you count a bar of soap. We had a junior suite and unfortunately I would not recommend it to anybody because the entire floor of Junior Suites have no sea view because they are blocked by the eyesore rooftop of the restaurant (see picture to understand). All of the standard rooms have better sea views and probably a better value for your money. I rate our room a “6/7”.

Restaurant: Breakfast - I read all of the bad reviews but actually we found that breakfast is the best meal you can have at El Faro. They offer an abundance of pastries, cakes, fresh fruits, fresh breads, cheeses, prosciutto’s, and scrambled eggs. You can special order omelets or eggs to your likening at a surcharge. The orange juice is cheap and crappy and so if the Nescafe machine is lousy but you can order a fresh cappuccino or espresso. I rate the breakfast an 8/9.

Lunch- the lunch menu is non existent so don’t expect the variety normally associated with a 4 star establishment. El Faro also needs to stop serving wine in plastic glasses at their terrace restaurant because it is sac-religious. Lunch Rating is a 2. Step it up!

Dinner: Unbelievably poor. Avoid it! You will need to rent a car, but go to Alghero for your dinners and there are plenty of charming places to dine and explore.
Anyway the servers at El Faro are all kind and will do their best. We appreciated the service. I was the only vegetarian in my party and it was a bit surprising that every time I told the waiters that I was vegetarian they would guide me to their fish menu. They have very limited options. I also recommend the waiters to inform themselves on special dietary needs because they could accidentally kill somebody on a special diet.
Dinner experience a 3. Not worthy of a 4 star hotel.

The Mediterranean gardens of the hotel are beautiful.

The beaches are amazing. Unfortunately the vast majority guest put their towels on the lounge chairs before breakfast, even if there is a sign forbidding this practice, so it is not guaranteed that you will have a chair and umbrella.

We had other problems with the front desk who seem to eager to say no to every simple request and seem to take pleasure in saying no to basic request.

We even requested 3 times to speak to the hotel manager, Ms Secchi, during our stay but the front desk staff always said either that Ms. Secchi was in a meeting or that she was not there. Needless to say that Ms. Secchi never once attempted to reach out to us which speaks volumes about the hotel management or lack there of. We were astonished!

In short, I would recommend this place if you go with simple expectations and go for the location but don’t expect polished service of a 4 star extablishment. The El Faro team is rough around the edges, literally.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Malibu_Shanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Located facing the lighthouse and opposite Capocaccia, this hotel has an amazing view and the beachfront is amazing (better than the best rated beaches in Alghero). You can rent a bike/scooter and enjoy a lovely ride to Neptune’s grotto and Capocaccia. The rooms are absolutely super comfortable and service is good. One thing they can add would be an egg station for breakfast ( a small thing that would make a big difference). Overall, it has the standards of a 5 star hotel and I enjoyed a great stay there.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
Thank Iulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

Assets: absolutely great location. Absolutely great view from balcony. Relatively big hotel nevertheless finding a sunbed in post-breakfast hour was not challenging even in August. Clean, cosy, comfortable junior-suit. Satisfying, yet duplicating, breakfast. Kayaks, hibrid boat, pedalos available.
Drawbacks: a 70/80s built hotel, cosmetically (from outside) adapted rather than consistently rebuilt. Looking from outside (also from balconies/terraces, unfortunately) not more than 3* facility. Garden big but generally neglected. Family hotel (this is not a defect, this is a neutral statement :)) - if your plan is to have a romantic stay consider other facility :)

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews