We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant”
Review of Enoiteca Mascareta

Enoiteca Mascareta
Ranked #317 of 1,617 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
Reviewed 20 September 2016

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel. The setting is lovely and the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Our waiter was very knowledgeable with both the food and wine.
We tried the antipasti meat board; eel starter and also oyster which everyone thoroughly enjoyed, followed by the Duck and Turbot dishes for main. We all shared the cheese board and all agreed that the meal was fantastic.
Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great place for a meal or drink. I had cuttlefish in a sepia sauce, which was tender, tasty and looked spectacular. Great selection of wines by the glass, with bottles left for you to help yourself then charged by what you drink. Atmosphere and service both great.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ppaulnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We came for dinner (booked in advance) - the chef spoke english and french - was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the dishes and wines... the quality of the food is great! All is fresh , tasty and prices are OK
Some locals and tourists were there
I highly recommend this place

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MariaCE7121WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Be careful in Venice, so many restaurants serve mediocre food for tourist dollars. And yet there is so much amazingly good food also...but how to know how to choose if you're new in town? Here's a hint... if a restaurant's menu is translated into four or more languages, for example, it probably doesn't change seasonally like a good restaurant should; translating a menu is hard work!

In fact, my suggestion is to not even look at the menu. Look at the wine list. You don't even need to know anything at all whatsoever about wine. If the wine list just says:
Pinot Grigio
Chardonnay
Merlot
Chianti
Shiraz
with no other information...DON'T GO IN!

Would you write a menu with just
SALAD
FISH
LAMB
BEEF
GNOCCHI
and nothing else? No!

And if the wine list is actually longer than the menu, then you've really found a place for foodies...so even if you choose beer with your dinner, the food should be good. You may have to ask to see the wine list because it's not always on display, and they might look at you a little strangely if you then decline to order wine, but seriously, try this method to sort out the tourist traps from the real restaurants, it works!

This place however didn't even have a wine list, but it is definitely a wine lover's place...so so so many different wines on offer that they don't bother organising it into a list. But here's the thing; our waiter knew what he was doing, and was happy to recommend something for us. And then something different after that. And then something different after that. We asked for something local but unusual. We got options. We were also advised of the price beforehand...thank you for that, a small but important point.

FOOD: wonderful, especially the Burrata. There may have been a gnocchi of some kind that was equally as good. It was a wonderful meal. Details are not too important.

WINE: I don't quite remember the last bottle, but the two or three before that were great!

SERVICE: the place was busy, the waiter was busy, but he still made time to help us find the right wine. Professional, in other words. Not a tourist place staffed by students.

We did go back a few nights later, and the service was just as knowledgable from a different waiter, though not as friendly this time. (Possibly though because it was just before closing and we were already several aperitifs beyond a good start).

If you get some good advice here and enjoy it, do leave a tip, even if you normally wouldn't elsewhere in Italy. This kind of wine knowledge takes years to build up, and it's not often rewarded appropriately.

PS good luck finding it!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had actually planned on eating elsewhere but it had no availability, so we walked to this spot which was recommended by our Free Walking Tour guide. We are so glad we did! They had great wine selections and both of our meals were delicious. My husband had the braised duck and I had the lasagna primavera.

This place also has a love for gin, which seems odd for Italy, but they have shelves and shelves of choices. I ordered a gin and tonic at the end of my meal, and it was the best one I've ever had. Fresh lemon and some pepper in it. Awesome.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Cac_029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enoiteca Mascareta also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Enoiteca Mascareta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing