We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Life in the Sky”

Review of Altana

enjoy the view from the Altana roof-top terrace!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
enjoy the view from the Altana roof-top terrace!
you can relax tasting Italian food and wine view of San Marco bell tower from the Altana roof-top terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
enjoy the view from the Altana roof-top terrace!
you can relax tasting Italian food and wine
view of San Marco bell tower from the Altana roof-top terrace
bright and spacious living room of the Altana Apartment
bright and spacious living room of the Altana Apartment
bright and spacious living room of the Altana Apartment
bright and spacious living room of the Altana Apartment
the apartment is finely furnished with Murano glass objects
above the living room there is a cozy gallery with library
the kitchen is large and well equipped
the kitchen is large and well equipped
the kitchen is large and well equipped
the dining room features a stunning canal view
the dining room features a stunning canal view
the dining room features a stunning canal view
pitoresque canal view
view from the living room
view from the staircase leading to the attic gallery
from the attic you have access to the typical foor top terrace
the attic is a lovely place for studing, reading or just relaxing
the attic is a lovely place for studing, reading or just relaxing
view of the dining table from the attic
view of the living room from the attic
bright and welcoming doube bedroom
bright and welcoming doube bedroom
bright and welcoming doube bedroom
spacious walk in wardrobe
bathroom with tub
bathroom with tub
other view enjoyable from the terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gary L
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Life in the Sky”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a delightful three-level home with 63 steps up to the kitchen, dining, living room; then up to the study, and finally to the piece de resistance, the Altana.

The apartment is filled with books of art, history and literature. The WiFi is fast and reliable throughout. This is a comfortable home to be in, with good furniture and bed. The floors are cold, I'm glad I brought my slippers.

There is a good unpretentious restaurant just downstairs and around the corner. The apartment is a few blocks from Piazza San Marco, and is in an excellent location for wandering in Castello.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality of architectural design and furnishing
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
Hillsdale, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect location for our first trip to Venice”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I travelled to Venice to celebrate my 60th birthday, staying for a week. We used this very central location to head off in a different direction each day, exploring as much of the city as we could cram into a week. This apartment is only a 5 minute walk from the S, Vaccaria vaparetto stop, and less than that to St. Mark's Square. However, it was quiet at night for sleeping. The apartment was sparsely furnished which allowed a lot of room to spread out. We used the washing machine a couple of times and spread our clothes to dry on the racks provided....which helped us pack a little less. The highlight was the view from the dining room window. We would open this window fully in the morning to watch the gondolas traverse a regular route right under our window. It was not unusual to hear a singer, and accordionist, or a guitarist seated on one of the gondolas serenading the occupants of the gondola, and all around, with a traditional tune. We taped this a number of times and these have been a hit since arriving back home.

Check in was a breeze after our long trip from Canada. Enrico was thorough in his introduction and even provided us with a map where he highlighted a few restaurants, art shops and other areas of interest for us.

We filled our trip with hours of walking, going to the opera one night, getting a 2 day vaparetto pass which we used to go up and down the grand canal a couple of times, as well as visit Lido, Murano and Burano.

The apartment is on the 4th (and 5th) floors and it's 62 stairs to reach the front door...but it's worth it once you're there. The Altana was comfortable for 2 offering views out over the rooftops, or a day ending drink and appetizer. The kitchen included everything we needed, although we prepared very little food. I would say the only thing I missed was a larger glass or 2 for the days when I wanted to close my day with a beer rather than a glass of wine.....but that is minor.

Although we happily got lost often we were always able to find our way back to this wonderful apartment, close to everything.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gondola route running right underneath the dining room window.
Liked least: I don't know....a little more selection in glass sizes?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vmillersr...
Niton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Second Wonderful stay in this fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We love this apartment so much we had to return for a second stay here making this our fifth visit to our favourite holiday destination . I would recommend this apartment to anyone wishing to have a truly Venetian experience. The area is quiet, away from the tourist trail and yet so close to St Marks Square it takes literally minutes to reach. It is our perfect bolt hole in this wonderful city

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$327
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
41800002729
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing