We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
238
91
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
91
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the river an excellent hotel every evening lovely swimming pool fifth floor english news channels bbc world a family run hotel both breakfast and dinner excellent holiday riverside promenade opening times good size the hotel staff small garden central location air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

My wife and I have just returned from a holiday at the Meranerhof Hotel at Merano Italy, this is a wonderful hotel in the centre of Merano right by the river that runs through the town, we had a room on the fifth floor so we had a good view over the town to the mountains beyond.

Room Tip: There was a road beside and behind the hotel with traffic but for us it was no problem
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid E, Inhaber at Hotel Meranerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Dear Mr. Edward P.,
many thanks for your excellent review and your nice words. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards, the 3 Eisenkeil ladies with team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

A very good place to stay.

The room (a "dream" room) was spacious, very comfortable, excellent bathroom and shower (no bath). Efficient air conditioning. Housekeeping was faultless. At the rear of the hotel with a nice balcony overlooking the garden. Some traffic noise but doesn't penetrate the room; large trees screen from actually seeing the traffic.

Good location, 3 minutes walk into town over the lovely river. Own car park very useful.

Breakfast choice was slightly limited, could do with a few more cake/pastry options and better toaster arrangements but the quality of the food was very good and the outside tables very pleasant.

Hotel bar and patio very nice, good drinks menu reasonable prices, very attentive barman. Nice place for cocktails before going out for dinner.

Only two negatives. No English TV channels even BBC World or CNN would be nice as background when getting ready in a morning. More annoyingly the room above seemed to be occupied by a small herd of elephants, the floor/ceiling insulation is poor. Luckily we went to sleep later than they seemed to; if we were earlier it would have been a problem. didn't notice any noise from adjoining rooms though.

Overall a very good hotel, would definitely return if we visit Merano again. I'd recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aji1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid E, Inhaber at Hotel Meranerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2018

Dear guest aji1376,
many thanks for your visit. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such detailed feedback about your stay. We do have english channels, please don't hesitate to call the reception for questions or uncertainty. Your concerns have been noted and will be discussed immediately. Hoping to see you soon again! The 3 generations Eisenkeil and stuff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

This excellent Hotel is at one end of the main promenades along the banks of the river Passer. It is ideally situated for the central part of Meran. The Hotel itself is beautifully furnished and fitted out. We had a rear room with a balcony , which overlooked the large well tended Hotel garden. The room, the ensuite bathroom and the balcony were all spacious, comfortable and kept immaculately clean. Everything about this lovely family run Hotel is first class. All staff were always pleasant and friendly and always provided an excellent service. The dining room is large and also has a large covered terrace, where we ate breakfast. All our meals were excellent with a good choice. We stayed a week in the Hotel and intend to return for longer.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back with a balcony and would choose this again
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid E, Inhaber at Hotel Meranerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Mr. John N S,
thank you very much for your wonderful review and for mentioning the quality and kindness of our hotel.
We are happy to learn that we could make your stay in the Meranerhof a memorable one.
We are looking forward to your next visit.


Kind regards,
the 3 generations Eisenkeil and the Meranerhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

This is an excellent hotel. We had a room at the front overlooking the river which we thought was lovely, a little noisy perhaps but also therapeutic. Very comfortable room, very pleasant and helpful staff (less so the barman though) delightful food, perhaps a bit upper class for me but it was all still beautifully presented and cooked. Ok perhaps other places have more choice eg hot food at breakfast but there was everything that we wanted. Also a shame no English news channels but then we did not go there to watch tv. Lovely swimming pool and garden area, we were very happy there, highly recommended as is also in an excellent position in town. Ok, so it was a little more expensive than some other hotels but this was repaid with excellence.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid E, Inhaber at Hotel Meranerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Mr. Steve M.,
many thanks for your excellent valuation. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and to read your honest words. Hoping to see you soon the 3 generations Eisenkeil and the Meranerhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Perfectly situated hotel in the centre of Merano, adjoining the riverside promenade. Very well run with exceptionally helpful staff - very responsive to requests for softer mattress etc. Beautifully cooked food, although no as much choice at breakfast as at some other 4 star hotels. Really lovely pool opening on to the small garden. Even single rooms were of a good size, as was the single bed. Everything was spotlessly clean. I was caught unawares by the fact hat they have European three pin sockets rather than two pin so adaptors used elsewhere in Italy didn't work, but staff had a stock of adaptors to lend out, which was so useful. Free wifi very reliable.
Minor negatives: walls were quite thin so if other guests were noisy, they did disturb sleep a little. No English language TV available at all if this is a concern for anyone (not even CNN or BBC World).
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OccasionalHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astrid E, Inhaber at Hotel Meranerhof, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear guest OccasionalHope,
thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our hotel.
- We invite you kindly, for the next time, to ask us at the reception for help if you can't find the English channels in your room, because we have them also.
We hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Hotel Meranerhof.
Best regards,
The 3 generations Eisenkeil with the Meranerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews