We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
164
134
44
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
134
44
15
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This hotel is located mor or less perfect, you are able to walk to most places. We parked in front and it was easy to check in, most friendly personnnel that offer to park the car for us. Our impression of the staff was, a yes we can attitude which helped us when we needed a dinner booking later that day. The room was spacious with AC and well equipped to our pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Clas-Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

I went to Merano with a group. We were all thoroughly impressed with the Hotel Europa Splendid: especially the staff, the charm of the hotel, the beautiful dining room with its stained glass windows and generous and delicious food, as well as the central position of the hotel.
This busy hotel has character, classical elegance and warmth. Every member of staff, from the Manager (Simon) and other Reception staff (Magdalena, Markus and Klaus), to the dining room staff, the cleaning staff and the maintenance person, were friendly, smiling and helpful to us. We were made to feel, personally, very welcome.

Room Tip: Excellent sound proofing if you close your door at night and put on the air conditioning. Some rooms have pretty flowery balconies.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiddyNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Excellent place to stay. Front desk staff were exceptional - courteous, professional and very helpful. The hotel itself has a lot of character and charm. We found the room to be quite small but was adequate, everything worked and it was very clean. Excellent breakfast with hot and cold items as well as the option to order from the kitchen.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Direttore generale at Hotel Europa Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

With best regards

Family Strohmer and all the Europa Splendid staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

We reserved and PREPAID a room two months before our arrival at this 50 rooms hotel. When we arrived in the afternoon, we were told that there was no room for us due to a "technical problem" in the room reserved for us. We have been sent in a supposed similar and even more expensive hotel. However, it was a residence-appartment style hotel, 1,500 feet farther from the town center and it didn't respond to our expectancy. They even didn't advise us by email. We question the motivation behind this way of doing.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gupom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon S, Direttore at Hotel Europa Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry for having inconvenienced you. In the morning of your arrival-day, a burst pipe occurred in the room we had booked for you. For we were not able to repair it immediately, we had to react in the short term and booked a room for you at Hotel Flora.

However, we are sincerely sorry that you felt below par at Hotel Flora. We have been cooperating for many years and, until today, we always got positive feedback regarding Hotel Flora.

We are clear on the fact that such a change of reservation is irritating, that is why we preferred explaining it when you would have arrived instead of sending an email.
We sincerely apologise for the trouble caused,
best regards,

Family Strohmer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Stepping back in time, this hotel has character, this hotel has great staff at front office, this hotel made me feel good. Great rooms, great breakfast venue, and an amazing car park for my car. I sure will be back. I love it, it's walking distance to everywhere you "need" to go.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpechtenhauserSimon, Direttore at Hotel Europa Splendid, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Dear Andreas,

thank you very much for your great rating and your kind comments. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Europa Splendid and we are already looking forward to welcome you soon again. In the meantime we send you our best regards.

Family Strohmer and the Europa Splendid Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews