We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Castel Fragsburg

Castel Fragsburg
Ranked #4 of 205 Restaurants in Merano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$148
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: THE FINE ART OF TRUE PLEASURE "Nourish the body well so that the soul will want to reside there" is a saying apocryphally attributed to Winston Churchill. He would have truly loved it here, as we cook nourishing and refined gourmet cuisine in the finest sense of the word. A defiant fusion of hearty Alpine fair and Mediterranean opulence. In our gourmet restaurant, we love to amaze and astonish our guests. No matter how many times we step out onto our glass loggia and look out over the parapet of the panorama terrace at the stunning, cinematic views of Merano, we always find something new to marvel at in the ravishingly beautiful natural surroundings. There couldn't be a more ideal setting for the exquisite dishes prepared by our head chef Christoph Terschan. A culinary virtuoso, Christoph fuses the many facets of regional cuisine with the memorable delicacies he has encountered in far-away lands in the course of his career. These reinterpretations make for immensely rich and creative food. Whether it's an agreeable lunch you partake of, or a sumptuous gourmet dinner, you will invariably have a sense of savoring life to the full. The sublime cuisine is of course rounded off by impeccable yet affectionate service and the excellent advice of our sommelier when choosing from the fine wines in our cellar.
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

It has been a while since we were there; but, we are planning to go back soon. This magnificent gem in the Italian Alps is a five star experience! Fabulous views, spectacular food, and the ambiance of a Hapsburg’s hunting lodge!
This is a rare find while climbing the Brenner pass either on your way to Austria or visiting Italy.
Can not recommend any higher!

Thank chamonixCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelFragsburg, Proprietario at Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2018

Dear chamonixCalifornia,

thank you so much for your comment. We are glad that you had a wonderful time at our Restaurant at Castel Fragsburg.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Alexander Ortner and staff from Castel Fragsburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We are doing a road trip through Italy and booked a room - and upgraded to a Junior suite at great expense - so we expected a room with a great view of the valley and Merano below. However, what we got was a rather lovely bathroom with a view of the car park, and the other windows looked onto a couple of large trees which totally blotted out any view whatsoever. The bed was comfortable and the sitting area small and dark - a rug underfoot would have been good. It was rather like being in a sauna without the heat. We went down to have dinner and were given a welcome glass of something cold and bubbly and a little platter of anti-pasto in the lounge prior to being taken to our table. Again .... no view. All those lovely tables by the windows which had the view we were dying to see were taken by lucky people who were staying longer than a night and whom were a different nationality to us Brits. The menu was interesting ..... not to us, but to someone, I guess. A weird selection of "different" pairings, not a price in sight and just too complicated. As it happens, we had the fillet beef which was absolutely delicious but it would have been good to know the price prior to ordering. My husband asked for a glass of red wine and was assured the bottle had been opened that day. He got the dregs of the bottle which wasn't even a decent measure and the waiter thought that was okay. Breakfast was expensive - 25 euros per head and again, the strangest selection of nuts and "healthy" options I've ever seen. I am not a bird and I don't eat like one. Would we return? Nope. In our humble experience of Relais & Chateau hotels (we use them 5 - 10 times a year) this wasn't one of our better stays.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Jan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastelFragsburg, Inhaber at Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi So and so,

it is a pity that your stay at Castel Fragsburg did not fill you with joy and beauty. You stayed in one of our most loveliest Junior Suites with a view to our enchanting Rose Garden, the Fragsburg forest as well as the mountains, the "Adige-Valley" to the south but it seems that some people can only see what they allow them to see.
We surely can´t do anything to help you with your personal perception, but we may correct your wrongly conceived details:
You did not spend money for any upgrade. You stayed in a Junior Suite which is our most convenient priced room-category with a spacious walk-in wardrobe as well as a balcony. This room has 5 windows plus a balcony door made of glass, which means it is very bright and has a beautiful lighting. Nevertheless our reception staff offered you a different suite, which you did not want. What you call in your review „something cold + bubbly with a platter of antipasto“ before dinner, was your complimentary Welcome Cocktail after you arrived at Fragsburg. This is a very exquisite Italian Prosecco-Champagne and a typical South Tyrolean delicacy board prepared in our award winning Gourmet Kitchen with salami, bacon, cheese, pickled cucumbers with horseradish and a selection of home made fresh bread. Our Gourmet Restaurant is in our Glas-Loggia which means every single table has a cinematographic view to the mountains, with no exception. All our rooms have automatically our Breakfast Royale included. So there was no extra-charge for the Breakfast........
We are very proud of our unique Gourmet-Arrangement which is a 5 course Dinner à la carte and already included in the room price if you book it with Gourmet-Arrangement. That is the reason why the menu comes without a price list on it.
We hope you find in the future a more positive as well as objective perception for the places you stay.

Best wishes
Alexander Ortner
owner&director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Gloved waitstaff, crisp linens and superb cuisine melt your taste buds and ruin your waistline, but all is worth the memories!

Thank jane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander O, reception at Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Dear Jane o,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovelly review.
We have passed your compliments on to our restaurant & kitchen team.
We hope we can spoil you soon again with our cuisine.

Best regards
Family Ortner & your Fragsburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We stayed four days and had breakfast and dinner each day in this beautiful Relais and Chateaux resort. The setting in the hills above Merano, Italy is spectacular. One drives from Merano on a beautiful quiet road through classic European orchards and vineyards to reach the Castel Fragsburg. We stayed at several places in Italy and Switzerland on this trip, including Michelin 3 star restaurants and, guess what, Castel Fragsburg was the best! So do not miss an opportunity to stay and eat here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marc1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander O, Reception at Castel Fragsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Marc1937,

Thank you very much for such a lovely review.
We are more than happy that you enjoyed the hotel, its surroundings and the food in our Restaurant. And it is great to hear that Castel Fragsburg was the best on your trip.

We hope that we can welcome you soon again.

Best regards

Family Ortner & your Fragsburg team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Summary:
Castle Fragsburg was a fine dinning stronghold in recent years. Located on 750m height above Meran it offered best al fresco terace dining with exquisite food and sophisticated wine selection.
This is past. Today it is overpriced wirh non inspired cooking and non attentive service. If you you want fine dinning with a view select Miromonti in Hafling or Culinaria in Dorf Tirol if you want a satisfying fine dining experience with a view.

The ups:
The view ist great. On 750m above 0 the restaurant terace offers great view over Meran.
Some of service, like Lisa is kind and nice in a humble way.

The downs:
The food is poor. sorry to say. only offer two set 4 and 5 set menu. Paid 108 EUR for "Christopher's Choice" menu. Got non inspired duck salad, half done octopus rissoto, tiny piece of fish and mediocre piece of crispy suckling pig and a meaningless desert. While Culinaria's Waygu combination kicked me off none of Fragsburg creations was worth to mention.
Why we had to wait 20-25 Min between courses on a set menu of two choices in the menu the South Tyrolian of service knows.
The wine and digestifs are quite overpriced. In Culinaria you pay for a Ruinart Blanc De Blanc 84 EUR in Fragsburg more then 120 EUR.
On digestifs you need to spend 15 EUR for a local spirit.

Wrap up:
Sorry Fragsburians you lose the shoot out against Hafling Miromonti and Tirol's Culinaria 3:1 , neither your food nor drinks nor service can convince. Just the view isn't enough. For 108 EUR a menu and 13.50 EURva digistif I expect more .
A pity, two, three years ago Fragsburg was a great place. Now it's better to save the way up.

3  Thank mustermann_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castel Fragsburg also viewed

Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
Tirolo / Dorf Tirol, Province of South Tyrol
 
Merano, Province of South Tyrol
 

Been to Castel Fragsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing