We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
134
163
39
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
163
39
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the air conditioning lake orta perfect location to enjoy family run terrace overlooking the lake lovely family hotel recommend this hotel to anyone minor criticism adequate selection very attentive staff hotel grounds visit regularly business trip free parking up hill hard working staff small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel with good lake views is perched on a hill
It’s only three stars which means not luxurious BUT it’s restaurant is excellent
When we stayed the staff were also catering for a big wedding. The ease with which they cleared people and tables ready for guests to dine on the terrace was amazing. You need to be fit to stay as it’s in a hill .

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mevissapirie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Rooms a little jaded but very clean. The location is great - an easy walk into town and free parking a bonus. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake is a great start to the day and the breakfast itself is quite good.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katecrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here in July for a family wedding, to say they were unwelcoming is an understatement. Despite the trade we had brought them, they constantly complained about the ‘noise’ we were making however the noise was only playing ball games in the pool during the day. If you have small children avoid as any noise whatsoever will not be tolerated. Management are very rude, and tried to inforce a curfew for 12am and did ask us a few times were we had been, which was inappropriate. Lake Orta is such a beautiful place but would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank shanz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in August. When we booked we were initially concerned about being out of town and at top of hill ( we have an 18 month old) but it was great, after first walk into town we felt we had made right choice.
Plus points - hotel parking, good sized room, small balcony with lake view which was an unexpected bonus, friendly and helpful staff
No real bad points, breakfast was usual Italian continental offering, as mentioned previously the shower in bathroom has a very low head so ok for me but my partner struggled. Some of the poolside loungers were past their best as well. We both fell back after one collapsed!
We enjoyed our stay here and breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Lake was beautiful.
In terms of location it was better being on the outskirts. Better views and only a 5 minute walk into town.
I would recommend the hotel, and if we went back to Orta we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank aqua76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Plus points

Hotel located in quiet area
Great views of the lake
Walking distance to centre
Air conditioning
Car parking

Minus points

The hotel would benefit from a much needed update
Sunbeds were of a mixed lot with some held together with tape

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding and on arrival all was well. The night of the wedding we returned to the hotel at approximately 12.15pm and were told to be quiet as there were guests sleeping. In no way were we making excessive noise as we were four mature adults and know to respect others on returning to our rooms.

There were at least 25/30 wedding guests staying at this accommodation and the day after the wedding we were all lazing by the pool and enjoying each other’s company. When the groom appeared the owner informed him that there was too much noise at the pool area and it was annoying the other guests as they found it difficult to read. Later on about 8 of the group were passing a ball to each other in the pool. Again the owner approached the bride and groom and complained of the noise. If ball games were not permitted surely a sign should state this. Again I state that this was not an unruly party.

The group of guests had spent quite a substantial amount over the week and were very disappointed by the unreasonable behaviour of the management/owners.

We will not be returning to this hotel as we were so disappointed by the attitude of the owners.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mifi_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaBussolaOrta, Proprietario at Hotel La Bussola, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good evening
sorry that you did not understand our position but we also have to answer to other guests; we asked only to have respect of other customers, being a bit quieter.... as you did not book the whole hotel ...
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews