We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,284)
Filter reviews
7,284 results
Traveller rating
4,953
1,902
311
79
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,953
1,902
311
79
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station rubber duck carrot juice the main hotel mini bar free soft drinks breakfast buffet excellent hotel room temperature free wifi milano centrale superior room minute walk tea and coffee single room malpensa airport visit milan
Filter
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 7,284 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Central Location, Close to Central Station in walking distance.Friendly staff.

Rooms are average,Comfortable Bed.

Was during an Expo so was abit Pricey. Easy Access to Bars and Restaurants for the Party Weekends.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Very nice old stylish hotel located 5 min to Centrale train station, so inside the city.

We were suprised to have quite a big room with spacious renovated bathroom.
Some like me may complain a bit about sleep quality/matress. Also we regretted to have 2 single beds stick together rather than 1 big regular. Sleeping experience is not the same. But else the room was very enjoyable.

Nothing to complain about service: Reception, cleaning team, breakfast team. Staff are very dedicated to their job and always ensure you have everything you need.

Breakfast is nice with a large selection.

Wifi is easy to connect to with no restrictions of number of devices. Quality of network wifi is excellent,

Hotel parking available. Just need to leave the keys to the dooarmen but definitely ensure to provide guidance about specificities of your car. Especially if modern and equipped with electornic commands ex: automatic lights, side view mirrors. Had couple of bad surprises but fortunately no bad permanent consequences.

Aside from thos very minor "negative points", nothing to complain about.
Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ariel X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Ariel,

Thank you for reviewing Hotel Berna.

Reading your review, we understand that you are an experienced traveller with high expectations and welcome your detailed feedback.

However, we are sorry to read that you had some problems, fortunately “very minor negative points".

Concerning the beds, we regret we could not satisfy your request to have a queen bed. By booking, each time a guest selects the preference for a specific bed type, we do always our best to assign the wished room which satisfy his/her expectations, but not always is possible. If our queen rooms are already sold-out, we put a queen topper on the twins put together in order to offer best comfort and quality of the sleep.

Moreover, if a client arrives by car, we park it in our automated underground garage. For insurance and safety reasons, the access to the garage is reserved only to our staff. Being fully automated garage, you cannot access it freely because the walking entrance is very dangerous to those unfamiliar with our system. Furthermore, our garage is constantly under video surveillance and is not accessible to strangers.

Thank you once again for staying with us. We are waiting for your next visit.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

At the start of our holiday we stayed at Hotel Berna for 2 nights and were very pleased with both the facilities and service. We got a beautiful and super clean room with a good size bathroom and space for our luggage. The location is great! The staff was very friendly. Would definitely re visit.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank haeyeon715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We recently spent a night at Hotel Berna, the last night before we came home from a magical visit to Italy. I almost didn't post here, because there are already so many superlative reviews and this feels a bit like piling on. But this is an exquisite place to stay. After we left, my wife said that she thought this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. And I have to agree. The room was a bit small (as you would expect!), but completely comfortable. The breakfast buffet was something from a dream, absolutely the best ever. The happy hour buffet was also magnificent, and the barman Max was charming and attentive. The front desk staff was also charming, and the handsome man in the goatee that you see in the ads is actually the person who will check you in. You may have seen that you can go online before you arrive and select the temperature for your room, the toilet paper and towels for your bathroom, and the drinks to be left in your minibar. It's all true!!! Who ever heard of such a thing?? If we ever go back to Milan, we will absolutely stay here again. Your should stay here, too. You will love it.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_lauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear david_lauth,

Thank you for sharing with the community of Tripadvisor your beautiful feedback.

Our job is to take care of our valued customers offering them all our attention and a personalized service.

We are very happy to know we are the best hotel where you have been. It is a great honor that rewards all our efforts.

Hoping to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

I booked the Berna Hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, and generally it lived up to expectations.

The hotel is located very close to Milan Central station, so very convenient for arriving and departing. bus and metro access is very easy. Check in was straightforward, our superior category room was very nice, spacious, excellent bathroom and amenities. The only downside was excessive noise from the street and the lack of ability to cool the room beyond a preset 18.5 degrees C. At this time of the year, I guess there's no A/C option and it was impossible to leave the window open given the racket from the street below.

Apart from that, we were super impressed with the attentiveness and warmth of the staff - one older lady (manager? owner?) was much in evidence during the whole visit, keeping an eagle eye on things.

Big thumbs up for the very high quality breakfast buffet selection and the excellent morning staff; also the appies with evening drinks were very good. Mattresses in Europe tend to veer towards firm, this hotel being no exception. The same applies to pillows - all options provided tend to be on the firm side.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ikelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontana-GM, Direttore generale at Hotel Berna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2016

Dear ikelmay,

We are delighted to know that your stay generally lived up to your expectations. Thank you for sharing your nice review.

However, we are sorry to know that the noise coming from the street bothered your stay. If informed, the reception staff could have shown you a quieter room not direct on the main road.

Concerning the temperature, we regret you found the room to much hot. Being your feedback anonymous, we supposed that you stayed after the 15th of October. In fact, beginning from this date all hotels in Milan turned off the air-conditioning unit following to the authorization of the Major to start the central heating to the whole city. It is also fair to say that all our rooms have an additional "ceiling fan" which could have certainly helped to manage this situation and we wonder if you haven’t seen it. If asked, the reception staff could have gladly helped to solve the problem.

We take this opportunity to inform you that, on request, we could have added a topper to the bed and brought you softer pillows. In fact, our valued customer can choose between 4 different types of pillows to offer the best comfort possible. Please next time do not hesitate to ask, we are at your disposal to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you once again for staying with us. Please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews