We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
167
70
32
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
70
32
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel boat tickets fresh croissants lake maggiore quiet street shopping and restaurants several languages plenty of storage room was clean and comfortable location is excellent beautiful town pleasant stay quiet at night railway station gianni boats ferry
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The hotel is absolutely in the centre of Stresa and has all the feel of its mediaeval location. The hotel is run by Gianni Saini who gives it and everyone his absolute personal attention. He can direct you to the best restaurants, organise trips for you help out with advice or simply chat in several languages.
The hotel facilities are limited but what it lacks in 21st C design it makes up for it in atmosphere and friendliness.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank blbttl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights on the occasion of a family wedding. Nice enough bedroom, quite spacious. Bathroom also spacious and everything functioned properly. No hairdryer, but provided at reception on request. Towels of the fine linen type, which I hate, but changed daily. Breakfast basic but fresh croissants were available, not just pre packaged as most reviews mention. My only issue with the breakfast was that the owner dished out water as though it was rationed. No air con but fan provided. Plenty of storage in the room for clothes and suitcases. Our room had a lovely little balcony overlooking the rooftops and view of the lake.
Great location, very central and 1 min walk from lakeside and boats. Quiet at night. Owners very knowledgeable regarding area and gave excellent restaurant recommendations.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank deirdreroberts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Mr. Siani and his wife are very welcoming and helpful. The room is good size with large comfortable bed. Windows allow nice cross ventilation. Location is excellent. You can shop till you stop or sit and eat or drink and watch people go by! You can cross the street and hop the ferry to start exploring.
The room is kept immaculate! Breakfast is coffee and croissant type product only.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank patriciad378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

I found this place a bit hard to find initially but after getting our bearings, the location is superb. 1 minute walk from the pier, close to many excellent restaurants.
Gianni had great recommendations including where to park for free.
I would easily have rated this a 5 if it wasn't for the breakfasts....coffee or cappuccinos ok but I expected more than a croissant.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Mr Saini was an excellent host, he was willing to help us in any possible way, giving good tips on what to see or where to eat. We highly recommend the hotel. If we had the chance to go back to Stresa, we'd definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews