We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveller rating
696
549
237
90
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
549
237
90
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel indoor pool lake maggiore marble floors grand staircase beautiful hotel tour group head waiter small balcony dining room old world scrambled eggs steam room a lake view room half board salad bar main course
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018

A Grand Dame of a hotel on the shores of beautiful Lake Maggiore.
The public spaces are well maintained. The decor is a little "over the top" but is consistent throughout and in keeping with the overall theme.
The location was perfect - close to the lake and a less than a 5-minute walk into Stresa.
Our room was small and not overly bright. The bathroom was minuscule - the door could only open 3/4 of the way because it hit the bidet. It was impossible to shower without water going all over the floor.
The buffet breakfast was very uninspiring compared to other upscale hotels we stayed at during the trip. Tinned fruit should not be served - period!
Despite the foregoing, I am glad that our tour booked us into the hotel for two nights.
Waking on a clear morning and looking out over the Borromeo Islands made everything good in our little world.

Room tip: Room with a view of Lake Maggiore
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

The Regina Palace is a stunning building both inside and out. It is well placed for shopping, and booking water taxi etc is just across the road, and of course it overlooks the lake, even the rooms at the back have good views, our bedroom on the first floor had a balcony, even a murano glass chandelier, but our bathroom was small in which there was an even smaller shower, but a large spa bath and bidet, but no ventilation at all as none of it worked, and neither did the air conditioning, and the only means of air was to have the french doors open, thus allowing smokers on the balcony next to you polluting the air, or talking so loudly sleep was impossible.
The staff were very helpful. The dining room was beautiful but food mundane, the breakfast never changed, and evening meals took forever, in fact on our last evening, having sat down for dinner at 7.30 we left at 9.45 having had a starter. Drinks were expensive in the bar, and given how much it cost to stay here not great value.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank janechater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

What a magnificent hotel! Ir was a shame that the carpark is at the back but they lobby was a surprise opening up in front of the stairs. The corridors are a little windy with some steps to get to the lift. The air conditioning wasn't on but when asked, they turned something on asks the fan worked. I had to get a maintenance man for the tv but he wad so lovely and also assisted with an adapter as the plug isn't European. They dining room wad set up to a wedding standard.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lluly0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This is a great location to relax and explore Maggiore for a few days. The public spaces are beautifully maintained. A lake view room is worth it - the views are amazing. Great croissants at breakfast. The front desk can help you get tickets to visit the islands. The indoor pool/wellness area is fantastic- plan to spend a few hours relaxing there! There is also an outdoor pool in the back garden. The main drawback: mattresses could use replacing.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank dbtravel_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We booked a lake view room with balcony for one night. Minuses first: The room was a bit small (but very high ceilings). The bathroom was small with shower over bath (and the shower nozzle was set at pygmy height). The bed was hard and there was 3 pillows for 2 of us. We could hear guests in the hallway walking past the room. Small lifts. Popular with tour buses.

But all was forgiven when you see the view. Truly lovely views.

If you like hotels where every surface is ornately decorated then this is for you. The hotel is oft photographed from the street and inside. It's lovely to look at for sure.

Pluses in my opinion:Breakfast was good. Wifi good. The town is one block away. Easy access to the ferry. There did seem to be parking, pool, spa area (we didn't use them) and two restaurants, one with set menu and one al a carte.

Oh did I mention the view is amazing!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews