We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
522
168
66
32
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
168
66
32
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free shuttle shuttle service lake maggiore le isole borromean islands venetian chandeliers three islands private boat isola bella the general manager lake view room our honeymoon murano glass beautiful terrace junior suite the hotel offers walk into town
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Hotel has 3 locations in central Stresa, ours was an aparthotel with kitchen/living room in addition to bedroom and bathroom. Just 5 minutes walk from the centre of town and the ferries. Stresa is a great town, lots of good restaurants and shops. Absolutely no need for a car as you can use ferries and train to get to 3 wonderful islands in the lake, botanical gardens, cable car and Switzerland

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Graham M.,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Villa & Palazzo Aminta.
It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback even if there are some notes that do not corresponde to our product.

Hoping to welcome you again in Stresa we send you our

Best regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

There are hotels and there are hotels... but the Hotel Villa and Palazzo Aminta is in a category of its own. We have stayed in many beautiful hotels around the world but this hotel is a stand out. The Belle Epoch inspired decore....collected with love and style from all around the world has to be experienced to be believed. But really it was the staff that made the difference...from the daily check-in with every guest by the charming owner, to the warm and friendly attention to detail provided by all staff ...it all made us feel so very welcome and “at home”. It is a truly romantic hotel, the Camelia Grotto is a delight and we feel that we must return. Take a bow Villa Aminta.....Bravo!

Room tip: We had a side lake and garden view and it was lovely. Front views of the lake must be spectacular
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank _claregrant330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmintaStresa, Direttore at Hotel Villa & Palazzo Aminta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Dear Claregrant330,

Your warmharted review is lovely and I'd like to thank you to share your feelings with us!

Thanks again for your feedback and hoping to see you soon again for your next trip to Italy, please accept our

Warmest regards
Fabio Vigitello
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

With our suit overlooking Lago Maggiore we could see the Beautiful island Bella and the other two Islands as we sipped our chilled Glases of Prosecco,as we flipped through the photos we had taken on our stay,those majestic hanging chandeliers,The sumptuous Suits,The Spa with exceptionally Proffessional and friendly massage therapists,we couldn’t help but agree that this amazingly beautiful Hotel is like a small pleasure fortress that also boasts the most Friendly and attentive receptionist,massage therapists and waiters.For those of us who enjoy being treated like Royalty You can luxuriate in one of their Suits.(The lavish castle Bella is a must visit)we will definitely come back in May,let’s see if our Safari in Kenya this Oktober can top That amazing weekend in September

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank luboilke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

The Aminta hotel may be a few steps further from Stresa than one wants but it is well worth it. This boutique hotel is a wonderful mix of class and kitsch. The Rooms are small but very comfortable, the views are spectacular and the service is perfect.

Room tip: The full lake view rooms are best but partial view are excellent/cheaper. Front and east side rooms have less railway and more sun.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hughm914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We recently stayed at Hotel Aminta for 10 nights. I am finding it difficult to review this hotel as what it does well it does exceptionally well but there are too many areas that require improvement for a 5* hotel.
The building itself is beautiful, with fantastic views of the lake and islands. All the public areas are immaculately maintained. However they are underused and because of this the hotel lacks atmosphere.
The food is of a very high quality but if like us you stay on a B&B basis dinner is very expensive and there is a lack of choice. There are two A La Carte restaurants both with limited unchanging menus and with a strong emphasis on fish and veal which means that you run out of options very quickly if you dine in these restaurants every night. The breakfast buffet is very good but the hot food selection would benefit from more vegetarian options. Service in the evening can be very slow even when there are very few diners. I do not believe that the chefs’ talents are fully utilised.
The majority of the staff at the hotel, especially the housekeeping staff, the drivers, the porters and the restaurant staff are delightful and work extremely hard.
Like many other reviewers we were not satisfied with the room we were allocated. We paid for a twin deluxe front lake facing room with bath and/or shower. Shortly after I made our booking with British Airways Holidays I contacted the hotel directly and advised them that I would need to be allocated a room with a walk in shower. I received a response advising me that my request would be taken into consideration and therefore incorrectly assumed that this would not be a problem. However, on arrival we were advised that there were no rooms in the category we had reserved with a walk in shower and we were therefore going to be given a nice Jacuzzi bath where I could relax instead! It transpired that the bath was so high I couldn’t get in or out of it safely.
The room (604) that we had been allocated was at one end of the building so like other reviewers our view of the lake was partially over the staff car park and obscured by trees. It was not possible to walk around the bed unless you bumped into the window or in avoiding the window you stubbed your toes on the bed. There was very limited storage space in both the room and the bathroom with the former having a shelf instead of a dressing table.
The next day we were moved to a room on the 4th floor (402).This was more spacious with an uninterrupted view of the lake and islands. Again it had a bath with shower over but the bath was much lower and therefore easier to get in and out of. However, because this room was also at one end of the building it had a sloped ceiling which meant that it was not possible to stand up in the bath and wash one’s hair under the shower as the shower had had to be mounted so low.
Had I been told at the time of my booking, and I believe I should have been, that it would not be possible to have a room with a walk in shower then I would have stayed in a different hotel. Furthermore, with the possible exception of two nights the hotel was rarely full and I fail to understand why we could not have been given a room that even if it did not have a walk in shower it didn’t have a sloping ceiling. The mattresses in both rooms were too soft.
I confer with other reviewers comments regarding the improvements required to the shuttle bus service. It is not simply a question of paying or not paying as we did both on several occasions and were let down badly on two of these, one being at 10 o’clock at night when Stresa has gone to sleep. Another area which requires improvement is reception/availability of information. The reception desks are often extremely busy especially in the morning. This could be alleviated to some extent if there was more information generally available in the rooms and reception about local attractions, ferry timetables etc.
One thing that the hotel does exceptionally well is to ensure that when they are hosting functions these do not interfere with their other guests. During our stay there were two weddings and a classic car meeting. These did not interfere with our stay in any way, in fact the latter enhanced it. Despite the fact that the hotel is on a busy road we were never woken by traffic noise during the night.

Would I stay at this hotel again, no. Would I recommend it, to couples celebrating a special occasion for a short stay, yes. To anyone who has difficulty using getting in and out of a bath, no. To middle aged, and over, couples looking to stay in Stresa for a week or longer with a healthy budget, probably not. They may not be as luxurious but you will probably have the equivalent holiday in a more convenient location if you choose one of the more centrally located historic hotels and a second holiday on what you save on the price.

Room tip: Ask for a photos of the room you are going to be allocated.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews