We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for exploring lake como”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of MARINAHOUSE

promenade by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
promenade by night
VARENNA night is  beautiful Amazing  lake view at sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
promenade by night
VARENNA night is  beautiful
Amazing  lake view at sunset
castel Vezio
Varenna view
View from livingroom window
Kitchen
Livingroom
Sofabed in the livingroom
Window with lake view
Bedroom
Bedrooom
Bathroom
Balcony
St. Giorgio Church in the main square
Promenade on the lake
Promenade
Varenna typical alley
Varenna with snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kiwi-D
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring lake como”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in varenna and the apartment reflected the thoughtfulness of the hosts. We really appreciated the amenities included - wifi, washing machine, books to read, paper towels, serviettes, etc. The apartment was spacious and cheerful and Lara and Alessia welcomed us with a drink when we arrived - that was a lovely touch.
The location suited us as it was in the main square where the grocer and bar were located. It was great to return to the apartment after our outings especially hot showers ( pack a lunch if you are walking the mule track from varenna to bellano - nothing was opened).
We would be very happy to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful hosts know how to cater to their guests
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hideaway, centrally located jewel.”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lara was great to work with and the apartment was centrally located, very clean and had everything we needed. The lake was visible from our windows, and Lara lived in the same building incase we needed help. Varenna is beautiful and the location is quieter than some of the other towns.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelon11
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The Marina House was as close to perfect as you can get! Centrally located, immaculate, and owned by an incredibly accommodating hostess. It is an absolute steal for the price point. Plus, Varenna is storybook beautiful. Less action than Bellagio or Menagio, perfect for a relaxing and ideal Italian experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the living room window
Liked least: The pull out bed in the living room
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThatNameI...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfect views, exceptional value for money”
Reviewed 6 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Previous reviews are entirely accurate - Marinahouse is spacious, clean and well equipped - if you're going to properly self cater there's even a dishwasher.
There's a huge amount of wardrobe/drawer space and the rooms are bigger than they appear on the photos. The balcony is big enough for two people to drink wine and play scrabble - and it also has a slice of lake view. ALL the windows have views of the lake - the view from the living room is so good that you might find it difficult to tear yourself away (especially if there's a wedding going on in the garden of the Royal Victoria Hotel).
Location wise it's perfect - we timed our walk to the train station and found it took us just under 15 minutes - uphill & carrying our bags. If you want to swim in the lake you can access the water at the 'beach' behind the Royal Victoria - only a couple of minutes walk from the apartment.
Grocery shopping in Varenna appears limited, but if you look closely (and ask) you can find essentials. The shop a couple of doors down does bread/milk/breakfast cereal/cheese and the 'other' shop has fruit & veg (plus lots more), the bar next door also sells wine & postcards/stamps.
We were a bit concerned when we first heard the bells - but they don't ring between eleven and seven ...and you'll want to be awake by seven anyway, won't you :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, cleanliness, location
Liked least: er...there was no kettle? (English reviewer!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zella123
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We recently returned from a month long vacation in Europe and Marina House was one of our stops. We stayed for one week and it was the best experience of our entire vacation.

First the apartment is pristine and has every convenience that a traveler will need to enjoy a self catered vacation. The apartment is large with a full kitchen and large bathroom that is fully stocked and exceptionally clean. In addition the bedroom is large with plenty of storage and comfortable bedding.

Perhaps one of the best things about the apartment is the views from every window including the bathroom and balcony. The views of Lake Como are fantastic, relaxing and romantic.

The hosts Lara and Alessia are outstanding. They met us at the train station and escorted us to the apartment where Lara had lovely treats including a bottle of bubbly for our anniversary. What a great surprise.

There are plenty of pamphlets for planning excursions available for the traveler and Varenna is a beautiful town with wonderful people. It is not as commercial as Bellagio and Mennagio and retains the laid back charm of a small village.

We can't wait to return to Varenna and would not consider staying any place else. Our experience will be one of the highlights of all vacations past and future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and cleanliness of apartment coupled with the views and the owners hospitality.
Liked least: There is absolutely nothing I would change. Stairs could present a problem for the elderly or disabled.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$131
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing