We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Stay, Highly Recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
L2travell...
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with Julia at Il Giradino sul Lago in May of 2014 for several days - we wish it had been longer! As we were travelling with a friend we booked both bedrooms. Julia was a warm, gracious and amazing host - provided many extras, wonderful breakfasts and excellent suggestions for sites and touring information in and around the mid-lake region of Lago Como. As others have noted, the garden view and terrace overlooking the lake are beautiful and offer amazing views and a peaceful quiet environment to relax and enjoy the view! We enjoyed our stay immensely, feel we have made new friends with Julia and her family, and hope to return soon! Thank you Julia --- Highly Recommended!! A & M, Edmonton, Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rooms, garden and terrace overlooking the lake and our excellent host, Julia
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jian T
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We will stay here again!”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Julia is warm, considerate, knowledge, down to earth and very nice! She provided us a beautiful and comfortable twin bed room. The entire floor and the room are clean and spacious with stylish deco. The yard is amazing: facing the lake with artistic patios and an iron pagoda on the top stone steps. From far away on the lake, we could see that pagoda knowing we had a comfortable home to stay albeit temporary. She provided us with a nice breakfast and even did our laundry. She sent her son to pick us up and sent us off at the train station. We strongly recommend this place and we will stay here again in the future when we come back for a visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonia_be
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view on the lack”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent one night there. The garden is charming and the view on the lake beautiful. The bathroom is shared btw 2 rooms, but we were the only one that time. The bathroom is big, with a bubble bath!
Great after trekking!
The only problem was humidity in the room and bathroom.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOakesUK
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect place to savor the beauty of Lake Como”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
6
people found this review helpful

Il Gardino Sur Lago is defined by the beautiful terrace from which to savor the lake with a glass of prosecco and the friendliness of the host/owner, Julie. Julie couldn't have been more helpful and nice; from picking us up/dropping us off at the train station to making dinner reservations to inviting us up for drinks with some of her friends, she and her daughter made us feel very welcome. Julie can arrange for kayak and small power boat rentals as well (which we did (powerboat) and is highly recommended). When we arrived there were was gift bottle of preosecco and several bottles of water - a very nice touch.

The B&B itself is a 2 bedroom affair and we rented both. Both are located in the bottom of the villa which does not afford a tremendous amount of natural light; but that is more than made up for by undoubtably one of the most prized terrace locations in Varenna as it is right on the water. The Master has a queen size bed and the other bedroom has 2 twins (perfect for our two boys). There is a nicely outfitted bathroom and a little sitting area with a small fridge, desk and various pamphlets of the area. Wifi was present throughout but best in the little sitting room.

We didn't have the best of weather (seemed like a running issue all summer), but the beauty of the area still shined from the terrace. With a couple of small tables and a couple of loungers we were still able to enjoy the view in between the rain.

Breakfast was served on the upstairs terrace under a pretty trellis (if it rains they serve it in your sitting room) and composed of a typical Italian breakfast of meats, cheeses, cornetti, cereal, juice, tea/coffee and fresh fruit. Was a very nice way to start the day.

Note, as said, we had some rain and the air was humid, and the rooms did feel damp despite a de-humidifier running; though that did not negatively impact our stay at all.

Varenna, is a charming and IMO the prettiest of the mid-lake towns. The location of the B&B was perfect - just a few steps from the main square with small grocers and bar and even fewer steps to half dozen restaurants/bars. It's a short (and pretty) walk along the promenade to the ferry landings.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and hope to one day return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View from the terrace
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifera...
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very comfortable and welcoming with an amazing view”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a stay in Varenna. The owner of the property was there to meet us in the square which was lovely. The accommodation was really nicely decorated and furnished and everything was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great with lots of choice. The property has a brilliant view of the lake and the garden is very peaceful and relaxing. Having breakfast looking at the view was brilliant. Julie was really welcoming and helpful about the local area. All in all a lovely peaceful place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing