We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent view, wonderful host”
other travellers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent view, wonderful host”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Would definetly stay here again. More charm than the other towns. Awesome garden. Julie is very warm and welcoming. Could have spent a few more days with this as the home base.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rddean
Forest, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay. The accommodations are great, but the views are even better. Sophie (Julie's daughter) was amazing and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The breakfast was delicious, and it was incredible to eat outside looking at the lake. This is one of the most beautiful places we have been to.
We would like to thank this wonderful family for being such a great host and making our trip so memorable. It is an incredible place. Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and Hospitality
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian C
Lincoln, California
1 review
“Fantastic location!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Most spectacular location with a view! Julia was a delightful hostess and very helpful. We especially appreciated her driving us to the train station when we left. Delicious breakfasts with a view and a great place to relax after a day exploring Bellagio and Menaggio. Very friendly dog, Alfie!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Patio by the lake for relaxing
Liked least: Weak wi-fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John4395
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“B&B”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Newly renovated old Convent on the edge of Lake Como and in the heart of Varenna. Julia has created a very pleasant B&B. Clean bedrooms with an adequate sitting room. The most outstanding part was breakfast on the patio of her beautiful yard sitting near the wall overlooking the lake with the Swiss Alps in the distance. Bar Molo was very close for an afternoon drink and snack. Julia's WiFi was not working, but Bar Molo's was free and sitting sipping a glass of wine while checking emails wasn't too difficult to enjoy.
Be sure to get careful directions to her front door, as it is tucked away and doesn't have any signage. Would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violet889...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Views of Lake Como”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately, we only stayed two days at this wonderful B&B because staying at the il Giardino Sul Lago in Varenna was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. The B&B was clean and spacious, but the views were simply breathtaking. The first day we were there, it was cloudy and hard to see the Alps, but the second day was sunny and gave us spectacular views! Julie is a wonderful host who provided us with water, wine and a delicious tray of cheese & olives upon our arrival. We felt right a home and couldn't wait to explore. The breafasts were amazing. We were provided with fresh cheeses, meats, fruits, bread, etc. A lot of thought went into making guests feel comfortable.

The second day we were there, we took a ferry to Bellagio, which is also beautiful, but felt a little more touristy. The ferry's are a good way to explore Lake Como. If going to Lake Como, I would highly recommend staying at Giardino Sul Lago in Varenna. I only wish we could have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing