We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility by the Lake”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax area
Relax area View from the relax area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Relax area
Relax area
View from the relax area
Living room
Living room
Living room
First bedroom
First bedroom
Second bedroom
Relax area
Relax area
Relax area
Third bedroom
Third bedroom
Third bedroom
Third bedroom
Relax area
View from the relax area
View from the relax area
Balcony
View from the balcony
Entrance hall
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrhvsh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility by the Lake”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Varenna is a wonderful experience no matter where you stay; but Casa Mara is the perfect complement. The location is ideal. We could enjoy being within walking distance of every facility or enjoying the best facility (the lake itself) from within the apartment. We have family in Italy and they were able to stay with us for a few days. It was such a great opportunity to partially repay their hospitality in the most wonderful accommodation and location. Thank you so much, Marco and thank you Marco's mum!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you for the review, Valli and Mick. We are looking forward to hosting you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed 13 nights and loved the unit, location and verenna. Easy to move around by ferry or train. House fully self contained so able to make ours selves at home. Owners very helpful and kind leaving us proseco and local treats to start our holiday. Definitely recommend this place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2017
Dear Sharon, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
20Miles20...
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We loved Casa Mara! It suited 5 adults very nicely. Marco, the owner's son, was waiting for us at the train station when we arrived. He helped with our bags and escorted us to the apartment. It was spotlessly clean, and well-equipped. They even left coffee, milk, and bottled water for us. Marco was very accessible when we had questions about the apartment. The newly added upstairs lounge area has breathtaking views of the lake. Varenna is a small, quiet, very walkable town with great restaurants! From there, it was a very easy ferry ride to Bellagio. The beauty of this area is almost surreal. We can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super clean, wonderful views
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Thank you Roseann. We are looking forward to see you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen P
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Views and Perfect Location”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed here with another couple. We were met at the train station by the owner who personally escorted us to the apartment, showed us how to work everything, and make some great restaurant recommendations. They have added an upstairs lounge area with panoramic views of Lake Como. We spent a lot of time up there! We thought that the apartment was a great size with comfortable beds. Varenna is a wonderful location for taking day trips to Venice and Milan and even an overnight stay in St Moritz. I would not suggest Varenna for people with mobility issues. The streets are more like cobblestone alleyways with steep inclines.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Everything was wonderful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Dear Karen, thank you. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john91130
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family stay at this wonderful apartment!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

You could not ask for more staying in Casa Mara. Paolo picked us up at the airport in Milan and we knew we were in for a wonderful stay the moment we met this lovely man. We chatted about Como, travel, food, wine and family on the hour or so drive to Lake Como. Paolo gave us the tour of the village on the way to the apartment and then showed us around his beautiful home. The apartment has been expertly updated while keeping the true nature of this historic property. With wonderful modern appointments, comfortable living areas and exceptional lake views and access, we did not expect this lovely place to be as perfect as it was. We could live here comfortable for the rest of our days. Close to everything but just far enough away to be quiet and restful, we would stay here in a minute the next time we visit Lake Como.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you John, we are really happy to hear that. We hope to have you as our guests again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing