We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well-appointed apartment run by an exceptionally...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clive364
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-appointed apartment run by an exceptionally helpful owner.”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We cannot overemphasise the warmth of the welcome and the practical assistance provided by the owner, Marilena. She is a very caring person whom we got to know very well during our two week stay. Having lived most of her life in the area Marilena is very well connected locally and was able to give us lots of useful information. She went out of her way to help us in every way possible.

Casa Maddalena is situated on the main square, Piazza San Giorgio, and is very handy for the businesses in the village, e.g. small grocer, deli, fresh fish seller, pharmacy etc. Like a number of Italian pharmacies this one stocks a small supply of gluten-free foods. The lakeside is only a short walk away and the village is well supplied with good restaurants and gelaterie. Transport links are good with rail, ferry and local bus services within easy reach.

The apartment is very well appointed and spotlessly clean. We really could not have asked for a better place to spend a pleasant fortnight.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful friendly service
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly energetic and caring host!”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed five nights with our children aged 11 & 9.
Marilena collected us from the railway station, whisked us to the apartment and then took us to the next village to shop for supplies.
She then gave us a thorough briefing on the apartment and facilities and then basically left us to our own devices for the rest of the stay....perfect.
We departed at 0700 but Marilena gladly transported us to the railway station.
The apartment itself is smallish for four, but immaculately clean, loaded with personality and has everything you need.
As an added bonus the windows open on to the main square - you can just watch local life pass you by.
Thanks for a really memorable stay Marilena...Ciao.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A host that goes the extra mile
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul O
Portsmouth,Va
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than we could have hoped”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived at the Ravenna, Italy train station and was immediately met by Marilena. She took charge of our luggage, put it in her car and immediately took us under her wing. She gave us perfect directions to where ever we wanted to go, translated for us, and completely made us feel at home. The apartment was perfect and wanted for nothing. The location is right on the square, the square being San Giorgio Piazza. The apartment is on the second floor and that worried me somewhat until we got to the house.There are chair lifts on the stairs which is a Godsend as I have mobility issues. Marilena helped move the luggage up the stairs on the lifts, then I rode up. Very comfortable. The first lift is just inside the front door so there is no need to climb at all. We felt very safe and comfortable in Maddalena House and Marilena living just down stairs to answer any and all questions. We would without a doubt stay with Marilena again if we ever come this way again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thanks for your nice review, pls note the exact name of our town is VARENNA located on Lake Como and not Ravenna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri L
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were extremely pleased with our stay in Varenna and our accommodations at Casa Maddalena! The apartment is wonderfully comfortable and every detail was attended to. It is in a perfection location, just steps to the city center and to Lake Como. Our hostess Marilena was a delight to work with. She is very responsive to all of our requests for information, including giving us a ride from the train station as well as wonderful places to eat and even taxi service back to Malpensa Airport so that we did not need to overnight in Milan before our return to the United States. All in all, a lovely holiday. We would definitely stay in her accommodations again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and our charming hostess Marilena
Liked least: Can't say, it did rain the last day, but even that was wonderful for photos of the lake
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seglea
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and an excellent experience”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Casa Maddalena, as a couple for some days and then joined by our son and his wife. Marilena, the proprietor, did everything possible to make things convenient and comfortable for us; she speaks excellent English (and German). The apartment is in a historic building and it isn't huge, but it is very well equipped and full of character, and all the essentials are modernised. It's up two steep flights of stairs, but there is a stairlift so the apartment would be ok for someone with some mobility issues. The only downside was that the wifi was a bit intermittent while we were there, but a lot of people seemed to be having trouble with their wifi at the time so it may have been nothing to do with the apartment anyway.
The location is wonderful, looking out over the main square, and close to cheerful cafes and interesting restaurants, as well as some useful shops. The lakeshore is a short walk away. You're not going to sleep past 7 am, because that's when the church clock gets going (but if you want fresh bread for breakfast you'd be well advised to get up and go and buy it then anyway). In summer at least there's going to be plenty of temptation to stay up late, as there's often something going on in the square - but the soundproofing is good.
Be prepared to pay cash, and on arrival - Marilena doesn't have a credit card facility (but there's an ATM across the square); on the other hand, she doesn't take a security deposit.
We would try to book this place if we were going to stay in Varenna again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locatopm
Liked least: Wifi signal strength
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing