We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home in the village of Varenna...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SheilaKen...
Kenmore, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home in the village of Varenna...”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Maddelena House in the village of Varenna was the perfect end to our three week stay in Italy. Marilena met us at the train station, gave us a quick tour of the village and showed us our apartment in Maddelena House. This is truly a home. Warm and cozy with everything you need for snuggling in, cooking meals and relaxing. But you don't have to relax! The apartment overlooks the village square, and is a short walk to the ferry terminal for cruising on the lake, Hotel Villa Cipressi and its lovely gardens, as well as restaurants, bars, and shops. Staying at Maddelena House is like living, even for a brief time, in a lovely village on the lake. We arrived in early November, and unfortunately many attractions and restaurants were shutting down for the season. Even so, we had plenty of places to eat and things to see and do.
I can't say enough about Marilena and this property. Marilena's friendly customer service is flawless, and the apartment provides everything one could want or need. I hope to visit Varenna, and stay in this apartment, someday in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and caring customer service of Marilena
Liked least: Seasonal shut-downs, which we were aware of in advance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryandkr...
cape cod, MA/naples, FL
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment with incredible lake views!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I rented the Camilla House for three nights in October. We were so impressed with the apartment--comfortable bedroom (lots of storage space), large bathroom, fully equipped, modern kitchen and a dining/living area with views of Lake Como and the mountains.

Marilena met us in Varenna and gave us a detailed overview of the town, the apartment and lots of important info pertaining to the area.

We opted to cook in all 3 nights because we couldn't get enough of the spectacular views!

Convenient to shops, restaurants and the train to Milan!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joeafromn...
Laconia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Marilena is a wonderful hostess, making you feel at home from the very first minute. She picked us up at the train station, brought us to the apartment and showed us everything we needed to know- how the appliances/heat/shutters etc work. I can't say enough about Marilena and her concern for all her guests.
The apartment is in a perfect location, right near the beautiful town square. Everything a guest could want or need is available in the apartment. All appliances, even a washer/dryer, clothes line (indoor and outdoor), books on the area, books to read, two tv's, clean, clean bathroom with shower, comfortable bed, and plenty of closet space.
The price is unbelievable reasonable. We have stayed in many areas of Italy at similar places, but each one is unique. Our expectations run high because of our previous good experiences. Marilena did NOT disappoint! She is always available and warm, friendly and helpful.
As I said, I cannot say enough about our Varenna experience and it is due in large part to Marilena and wonderful apartment. She is so warm and friendly you feel so at home. We loved her cats too.
Don't stay any where else in beautiful Varenna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne W
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ideal apartment”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Finished our 2 month trip to Europe with a 2 week stay in Varenna. Our decision to stay at Maddalena House was one of the highlights of our trip. The apartment is very authentic and exactly as described. Ideal for two people and very well equipped. Situated on the town square it is within walking distance to pretty much everything you need, including the pier for ferries to other towns on Lake Como and the train station. Maddalena as a hostess cannot be faulted. Picked us up from station on our arrival as we were loaded with luggage and took us to a supermarket to do some shopping. Also took the time to show us a few of the sights and gave us recommendations as to where to eat etc. Nothing was ever too much trouble for her and I must say that in all our years of travel we have never experienced anything like it. Much appreciated the fact that she also took us to the train station the day of our departure as we had a very early train to catch. In summary anyone considering visiting this amazing part of the world would do themselves a favour in staying at Maddalena House for genuine Italian hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location - Authenticity
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wmrbarker
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maddalena House Rocks”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We recently spent two weeks in Marilena Anghileri’s Maddalena House in central Varenna. The one-bedroom apartment was located on Varenna’s main piazza, with a picture-perfect view of the piazza and the town’s church. The apartment was clean, comfortably well appointed, authentically decorated, and had a modern, updated kitchen and bath. Ten minutes walk to the train station. Less than ten minutes walk to the ferry. One minute walk down to the waterfront. Several dining options right out the door on the piazza and off. Varenna’s two small food shops (macelleria and frutta e verdura) and town pharmacy are also located on the piazza. And for the two weeks we were living there, the main piazza had several local events that had us right in the middle of things.

Varenna is centrally located on Lake Como, a ferry ride away from Bellagio, Menaggio, and the other lake towns. Trains runs north-south on the east side of the lake through Varenna. Milano is just over an hour away by train; St. Moritz via the Bernina Express is a long day trip, but worth the effort for the adventure. We chose not to rent a car and never felt we needed one. For “groceries,” take the five-minute train ride north to Bellano.

Varenna makes a great base for exploring this part of Italy. After two weeks of almost daily excursions, we feel like there is more to do. We will happily return.

We really enjoyed our stay and wholeheartedly recommend this apartment to those looking for an authentic Italian Lakes experience in the lovely small town of Varenna.

William & Patricia
Seattle, USA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central Location
Liked least: Not enough time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing