We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
27
10
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
10
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet village san giovanni villa melzi a wonderful stay air con minute walk top floor nene alley hosts fridge facilities apartment town lake
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Thank you Alissa for a wonderful stay. We were super impressed by Il Vicolo, a tiny little b&b with 4 rooms. We were on the top floor - it has a lift but then there are stairs up to the attic room. Brand new, super clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the whole experience great. We walked into and back from Bellagio every night, if you make it in before 6.30pm you can cut through the beautiful Villa Melzi. Would definitely stay again and will recommend it to friends.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank harriet_clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

This is a beautifully presented apartment in a lovely, quiet village within walking distance of Bellagio. There is a lovely fish restaurant in the village itself and another very good restaurant about 10 minutes walk away near the back entrance to the Villa and gardens. Also a few minutes away from this property is a public beach with a lovely bar. Opposite is NeNe foods, their hot chocolate is amazing. Breakfast at the property was lovely, with high quality ingredients on offer for the small buffet-style set up. A lovely place that we would definitely stay at again should we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harrison-Platton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Really nice little set of apartments in the village town of San Giovanni, which is about a 10 minute drive from Bellagio, The town is on the shores of Lake Como and is your typical little Italian village with narrow streets and cobble stone paving. The area we stayed in is made up of about a dozen little streets with a ice little bar/café across the road from the apartment. It sells coffee, pastries, wines, meat, cheeses and other basic supplies.
The apartments are set around a central courtyard which is really pretty. The apartment was a 2 bedroom with 2 bathrooms; both bedrooms are upstairs with one bathroom upstairs and the other downstairs.
There is a large living/kitchen area and good sized kitchen. There is also reverse cycle air conditioning units in each bedroom and in the living area. The apartment is a good size for 4 people (2 adults and 2 adult children) and we stayed 3 nights.
The township is Bellagio is about a 20-25 minute walk away.
The bathrooms are a good size with fair amount of space. There is also Wi-Fi available. We stayed late June and the outside temperature was high 20's, the air-con did struggle a bit as the apartment was a bit muggy when we got back in the afternoon.
San Giovanni is linked with the ferries that criss-cross across Lake Como, but there aren't as many as what you get from Bellagio.
We drove up from Milan airport and the drive took about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. There is no other option really to get there. The last 20 - 30 km's was hard work due to the narrow winding roads and Italian drivers coming the other way driving (in my opinion) way to fast!
Would definitely recommend Il Vicolo.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VictorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay near Bellagio. 25 minutes walk from the centre. We were in the room on the top floor. Clean well furnished and modern with great bathroom. It was very warm when we stayed so the water in the fridge in the room and the air-con was a blessing. Hosts very friendly and breakfast was also nice.

Great little bar / deli opposite for a snack or glass of wine.

Plenty of free parking close by.

I would definately recommend this place

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank GiloRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed for 4 days in the top floor apartment in San Giovanni for a family celebration. It was well furnished, and we had a welcome message and chilled water on arrival. Rooms were very clean with air con and bathroom / kitchen facilities were excellent. The Hosts helped with sorting a taxi at the time of booking and this was an excellent service. The lake boat service is close by and ideal to get around once you are there, and there was also a motorised train service which we did not use but we walked back through the Villa gardens from Bellagio. We had a superb tasting meal at Alle Darsene di Loppia, a short walk from the apartment. We also had good meals at Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella and good coffees / wine / lunches at Nene Food. It was nice to be away from the main towns on the lake, and good to be able to try local restaurants each evening. We would go back without hesitation - a special place for us.

Room Tip: Apartments, not a hotel. We stayed on the top floor apartment in San Giovanni. Quiet location
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tvrjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews