We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
48
26
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
26
4
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san giovani nearest supermarket riccardo apartment ferry lake views
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We loved our stay at Casa Lory! It is family friendly, a lot of space for the kids to run around in the garden, big apartments with beautiful views and very well equipped The owner Riccardo is very friendly and helpful person!

Room Tip: great location
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vikson_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We spent last 3 days there , everything about apartment fantastic , Ricardo lovely man and welcoming . Toilet rolls kitchen paper and washing liquid all provided nice touch . I would give it 10 out of 10 if u had a car nearest supermarket 1.5 km , walk into town 1.8 km . We are good walkers so didn't mind too much . But would like to inform others .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Casa Lory in San Giovani for 4 days and our hole experience was satisfyingly good. The location was everything we would expect: very silent and next to Belagio (5 min. by car and 30 min. walking where you can take the ferry and fool around in all over the lake). The apartments where pretty comfortable, had a lot of space and where especially designed for families (there where two bath sinks, one sower and one bath tube). The kitchen was fitted with every kind of equipment needed and the whole room had a nice, cosy, minimalistic design (even if every thing that was inside the apartment was bought from the closest IKEA store). But with every good part came a not so nice one. To begin with, the checkin and checkout hours where not comfortable at all. The room should have been left before 10:00 in the morning something that doesn’t happens in any kind of hotel. Also, the deal we had was to enter the room in 14:00 but the manager had “another thing to do” so we waited for 1:15 hours right next to the building for the manager to open us the door! We were not able to reach the hotel by car because the road was very tight and we hired a mini van so we had to walk a bit. In addition, the everyday cleaning happened only by extra cost and at 10:00 so if the room was not empty by then, you had to wait for tomorrow… But the worst part for me was the quality of the cleaning. Some days it was more than enough and perfect but some days it was something less than heathly: When we first came in the room we found body hair in the bathroom (something unacceptable) and some days, the bath towels (that were supposed to be changed) were change but the ones that we were given were not fresh and cleaned at all because they smelled like a dirty racoon lockroom after a baseball match and had black and brown spots, something that reminded me my first scouting days! To sum up, the whole experience was nice and I would easily stay again forgetting all the bad things.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank theoiako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Casa Lory is a fantastic place! The apartments are really BIG and convenient. It is a short walk to San Giovanni ferry terminal from where you can catch a ferry to Bellagio or Varenna. You can also reach Bellagio within 8 to 10 min by driving. Its also a short 10 min walk to the local supermarkets and a 5 min drive to the Villa Melzi (must see). The place is very quiet and peaceful. Its very accessible but at the same time away from the crowds of Bellagio.

Riccardo was SUPER HELPFUL. He allowed us to check-in early. He was there when we misplaced our keys and got locked out. He also gave us some free wine bottles to have.

I would recommend renting a small car (problem with a big car is you will have to drag your luggage the last 70-80m which can be inconvenient if you are not traveling light).

Overall highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! We stayed on the 1st floor which was very good. Ground floor has an outdoor garden which is an advantage
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rameshgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We are a mature aged agile couple and the apartment was fantastic with a balcony view of some of Lake Como. Everything in the apartment was fantastic from a very comfortable bed to all the amenities provided. The hostess was delightful and for a couple we had plenty of room to spread our. There is a good restaurant and supermarket close by with very friendly and helpful staff. The owner even provided a few condiments and soap for both the dishwasher and washing machine. Unfortunately you could hear people moving around in the apartment above and they will not turn the airconditioner on unit love the apartment reaches a certain temperature which made for sleeping under a quilt too hot but too cold for just sleeping under a sheet. Perhaps the provision of a blanket would resolve this problem. The town is very pretty and their is a two hour ferry ride on Lake Como available on a Sunday at 1130 and 1430 which is great. The self guided walking tours are also worthwhile although there are other tours available. The suggested restaurants are also a great idea but you may need to book ahead. Walking into town can be a little risky unless you pay to walk through the park which we considered to be expensive. There is also a factory outlet [lace just over the boarder that is worth investigating.

Room Tip: Floor 2 balcony view of lake but hear moving around upstairs. Limited use of airconditioner so donnas can be uncomfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1952KathyK1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews