We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
246
104
37
16
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
104
37
16
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach pool restaurant beautiful hotel sea view other star hotels sea area impeccable service public areas old world charm luxury hotel rooms are spacious road noise hotel beach small balcony included breakfast beautiful terrace lounge chairs
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

We stayed for 6 nights at the Imperiale Palace prior to going onto a family wedding in Tuscany. This is a classy hotel with no airs or graces and everyone is made to feel welcome. The noticeable thing about this hotel is their staff , most are long serving but they all carry out their jobs excellently being so helpful and go out of their way to accommodate special requests . Its a credit to the team. Back to the hotel we had a superior double room, sea view with balcony. Its worth the extra cost for the view to wake up to ! Breakfast is excellent out on the terrace overlooking the sea . Crossing over the road on the hotel's bridge from reception you walk down the steps to the fantastic private beach/deck with its own lifeguard and drinks/ snacks service . There, if you require lunch you can prebook and have the lunch menu which was also nice . This is located on the way to beach/ deck by the pool. When we had finished our first few days of touring we spend the rest of our stay on the beach/deck including swimming in the clear sea which was exhilarating. Worth mentioning is the small rail station a short 5 minute walk from he hotel( no you don't hear any noise) which is great for using to travel around the region either to Pisa ( 2 hours) or to Cinque Terre (40 mins) . Italian trains are very good and relatively low cost . A 15 minute walk down to Santa Margherita are some lovely restaurants tucked away from the main strip. Recommend that you prebook as the best ones are always busy. Don't miss the boat trips round to Portofino to enjoy the peoplewatching and designer shops while you enjoy a lovely coffee. We really enjoyed this trip and appreciated the quality and welcome that the Imperiale Palace provided and would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Choose a room with a sea view and higher up floor( there are four floors) for a better view and all round stay . Its worth the extra money .
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silversurfer500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

We were guests of the Imperiale on September 8 - 12. If you are looking for Old World charm, then this is the hotel for you. When you approach the hotel there is a long winding road leading to the magnificent entrance. The reception desk hosts a very accommodating staff. There is a lovely formal bar off the lobby where they stock a very extensive liquor menu and the cocktails are wonderful. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room which is beautiful and the offerings are plentiful and served by an attentive staff. But the "piece de resistance" are the breath taking grounds. You have to see them to believe them. Most magnificent is the approach to the pool and the "beach." However, BEWARE, in order to get to either of them you must descend (it seemed like 100) winding and steep steps and what goes down must go up. So if you are not particularly ambulatory, you can ask for the golf cart to take you up and down.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank chernbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Our group of 24 were easily accommodated and we were treated very well. The breakfast is outstanding. We enjoyed the bar and the convenience to the town. Short drive to Porto Fino. Very good service. The room was clean and spacious with large bathroom.

Room tip: Upgrade to the water view for a larger room
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ThePlasticDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We stayed for 6 nights at Imperiale Palace Hotel for our honeymoon and it was a very beautiful hotel with old world charm. Perfectly located in town with likely the best views in town. We had an incredible stay and wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else in Santa Margherita.

The breakfast at the hotel is absolutely incredible, full of pastries, fresh fruit, 6 different fresh juice selections with prosecco and white wine, and chef manning the omelet station. Cocktails at the bar costed 9 euro for a beer or glass of wine and 18 euros for a mixed drink, which is expensive but you are paying for cocktail hour as they give you three bowls of snacks and a tray of Hors-d'oeuvres with salmon and cream cheese and other goodies. The restaurant had a really nice dinner selection and was very reasonably priced (most dinners at under 25 euro). The pool bar was the perfect place for lunch and had exceptional food.

We stayed in a suite overlooking the sea which was absolutely beautiful. Our room was well air-conditioned which was very nice after soaking up the sun at the beach and pool. The road in front of the hotel was a bit loud with the sound reverberating off the stone wall, but the windows and balcony doors were very thick and once shut you couldn't hear a thing. The hotel common areas were absolutely magnificent - it felt like we were staying in a true 1890's villa as every room was kept perfectly clean and true to its original beauty.

The gardens, beach, and pool grounds were absolutely stunning. There were many lifeguards who set up lounge chairs for you and would position your umbrella, while with numerous waiters going around to take your drink orders.

My only complaint is that there was normally one attendant behind the front desk, who usually had two people on the phone at once with a guest waiting to speak to him. Every time I called the front desk I was put on hold or had to wait - other 5 star hotels in Italy have at least 2 people behind the front desk at all times. My only recommendation to the hotel would be to have at least two attendants at the front desk at all times.

Our stay was absolutely lovely and we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Santa Margherita Ligure.

Room tip: pick a room overlooking the Ligurian sea - well worth the price!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

spent 3 nights in 2 rooms.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. our sea view room was comfortable though the bathroom a it small. Breakfast was incredible. A wide variety of fruit , pastry, cheese, juices, meats and eggs. All of which were kept refreshed. Presently, the gym is in adequate but I was told that there are plans to build a new one by the pool.

Room tip: sea view higher floor
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank westendave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews