We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food we had in Italy (Florence, Rome, Genoa, Montecatini, Sienna, Lucca, Rapallo)”
Review of Moby Dick

Moby Dick
Ranked #52 of 219 Restaurants in Rapallo
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 April 2016

We came in late afternoon on St. Valentine's day. There were six of us and we ordered lasagna, seafood spaghetti, Calzone and Calamari steak. They were AMAZING and at a very good price (especially compared to the restaurants on the waterfront who had less tasty dishes). The seafood spaghetti was especially out-of-this-world! The house wine (a local classic chianti) was plentiful, inexpensive and fantastic tasting. The wheat beer was the best of the 10-12 brands of beer we tried on our four week exploration of Italy, Southern France and Barcelona. The wait staff and manager were wonderful! They chatted with us, offered suggestions and encouraged us to stay well past their afternoon closing time! Anyone visiting the Rapallo area (between Genoa and the Cinque Terre near Portofino) would be crazy not to dine in this wonderful restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicco31, Proprietario at Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Thanks for your review,
We remember well about you and we hope that when you will be back in Italy you would like to come back to us.
Kind regards
Moby staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We stumbled upon this lovely family owned restaurant on our last evening in Rapallo & we're very glad we did.The genuinely warm & friendly service we received was extremely welcoming. The food was all freshly prepared,very delicious & very reasonably priced. Had a lovely chat with the chef who came out to say hello & check that we were all ok & happy. Glad we had the chance to indulge before the season is in full swing.Hello from the family from East London!!

Thank virginbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicco31, Proprietario at Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2016

Thanks for your review,
We are grateful for your kind words, and we hope to see you again sooner as possible.
Kind regards
Nicolò

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

We stumbled upon this small restaurant as everywhere else was too busy and we were a little apprehensive as we were sat in a marquee area, however, we shouldn't have been. The pizzas were sooo nice and the owner so hospitable, between our broken Italian and his broken English we got there.

We loved it so much we went there every day on our 3 day visit and the owner always remembered us and brought us our drinks without us having to say anything! Also always sat us on the same table which we liked.

Such good value for money as well 6EURO for a huge pizza!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Clodagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicco31, Proprietario at Moby Dick, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2016

Thank you for your kind words
Kind regards
Moby staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We had our last meal in Rapallo before we had to leave to our last hotel and flight home. Rapallo was busy so we struggled to get a table. Tip - book first. We had to settle for a table inside the tented area and as there was no aircon it was hot. We shared a ham/cheese platter which was nice and then had pasta which again was very tasty, coup,ed with a litre of house red, tummys were full. Staff were nice but busy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Benny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We felt like a pizza and this restaurant came up on Trip Advisor. When we arrived, it was completely empty, and we were about to turn away when very friendly staff appeared from the kitchen and assured us they were open. Our charming waitress explained they had not been open long, and it was a family restaurant bought for the children of long-standing chefs in the business who had now retired. She explained that the pizza bases were made from a special flour which was easy to digest, which we decided must be sourdough. Whatever they were, they were absolutely delicious! Do give this place a try - they deserve to do well. And do ask the waitress about her pet pig called George Clooney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elfbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby Dick also viewed

Rapallo, Italian Riviera
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 
Rapallo, Italian Riviera
 

Been to Moby Dick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing