We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,691)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
1,022
478
121
45
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,022
478
121
45
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club infinity pool byron restaurant star hotel beautiful hotel lord byron eden rock sea view cinque terre old world italian riviera ligurian sea our honeymoon spectacular views santa margarita buffet breakfast superb location
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

No words can describe how beautiful, elegant, and high class this hotel in Rapallo is. It is situated on the coastline of the Mediterranean with their two infinity pools right above the sea. There are hot tubs, beach recliners, pools, a day spa, two restaurants, a bar, amazing breakfast with everything you can imagine (fruits, meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, bacon, sausages...), and the list could go on and on. Our room had a balcony view out to the Mediterranean, the bed was comfortable, and the room was very clean. The concierge service was very helpful in calling a taxi for us and answering our questions. We would happily return and stay here at the Excelsior Palace Hotel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Dear Ms. Kelsey,

We thank you for your review written on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior Palace Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you really appreciated our property and the experience of being our Guests.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon, we send you our kindest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Excellent hotel near beautiful Portofino and Cinque Terre. The staff was very professional and welcoming. The interiors are plush- feels and looks like a palace! Our room had a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea with a very nice breeze all night long.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Dear Ms. Christi,

Thank you for your comment on the occasion of your recent stay at the Excelsior.
We are delighted to hear that we did meet your expectations.

Hoping to welcome you again, we send you our warmest regards from the Portofino Coast.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Stayed with partner for 4 nights.
Had a great room, very spacious with a super comfy bed. The room overlooked the harbour and promenade which was a very pleasant sight to wake up to (especially as they have motorised blinds that can be operated from bed!).
Good choice at breakfast with fresh bacon, sausage & egg (scambled) OR if preferred there was a more local feel with a continental approach - did both and wasn't disappointed.
Now for the pool area - you really need to see the view to believe how good it is. The photos on here are good, but they do not scratch the surface against the real thing, especially when looking out into the sea!
Sunbeds were plentiful with unbridled sun from early morning to early evening.
Waiter service is available from the pool bar with the usual snacks, sandwiches, drinks etc...
The hotel is a short 10 minute stroll (more of an amble) to the town centre, albeit down a very steep drive - you'll know what I mean when you are half way back up it!
I would have no hesitation in staying here again (we are actually thinking of another short break next year).
Didn't eat dinner in the hotel as there are plenty of restaurants in town - that being said, the menu did look good.

Room Tip: Harbour or sea view
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shauny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, Direttore generale at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2016

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you really enjoyed the property as well as the service offered.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next year, we send you our kindest regards.

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Great location, superb views, the spa is great. Best place to relax in a classy palace.
The breakfast were so good and the staff was excellent
They offer bikes to ride in a beautiful atmosphere
I suggest to rent a car to go arround The city when is hot or rainning it s not so far but you may want to be confort

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Esperanza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExcelsiorRapallo, General Manager at Excelsior Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2016

Dear Ms. Nermine,

We wish to thank you so very much for your great review.

We are so happy to hear that you did enjoy the upgraded room with its amazing sea view and the stunning outside heated pool.

Thank you also for the comment regarding the exceptional service and very friendly Staff.

With best wishes,

Aldo Werdin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Beautiful and elegant hotel! On our arrival, we had a lovely surprise of getting an upgrade to a lovely room with a sea view. The service was exceptional and the staff very friendly. We loved the outside pool overlooking the sea. Stunning! The only downside was the steep ramp uphill to reach the hotel's main entrance. Exhausting!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nermine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews