We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
208
65
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
65
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located train station few minutes walk cinque terre wonderful hotel stayed for nights on arrival excellent location marco filippo kettle toiletries portofino seafront
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel/hostel in the heart of Rapallo. The owner was a lovely man and went out of his way to help you with what you wanted. Breakfast was nice, good selection, the outdoor seating area was also lovely. The rooms were so nicely furnished and little touches made it so homely! I have lots of lovely memories in Rapallo and would definitely come back here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LilyD585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdhotel2014, Gestore at Hotel San Desiderio, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear Lily D,

thank you so much for your lovely review.

Filippo and I (& the dog Idefix) are glad that you felt comfortable and at home at Hotel San Desiderio and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.

Arrivederci with a big hug,

Marco, Filippo & Idefix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the San Desiderio to explore the area with Portofino and the Cinque Terre. The hotel is a very short walk from the Harbour pier to Portofino away. We enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere that Marco and Filippo created.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdhotel2014, Gestore at Hotel San Desiderio, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Carsten,

thank you very much for your kind review.

Filippo and I (& Idefix) are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the relaxed and homey feeling at Hotel San Desiderio.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon again to discover even further the beauty of our region.

Arrivederci a presto,

Marco, Filippo & Idefix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

This is a small hotel with the best personal service that one can get. The hotel is located in a small narrow ally, about 550 meters from Rapallo train station. It runs by a couple of friends. Marco was very helpful and patient. He provide any assistance needed.

The facility is quite small, 1-2 stars only. Elevator is very narrow.

The room is well equipped with more that you would expect, however it was packed with too many furniture - maybe an outside designer would recommend what to remove from the room.

Breakfast was rich and included in the rate. WiFi was very good.

We arrived by train.

We reserved the room directly by calling the hotel. Marco has a way to show trust - he did not ask in advance for our CC # (as a guarantee), nor did he ask it upon arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdhotel2014, Gestore at Hotel San Desiderio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Marathon308,

thank you very much for your kind review.

It's a pleasure for me and for Filippo to provide the best possible service, in order to make our guests feel comfortable and "at home"

Our rooms are all individually decorated, our repeat guests know that no two rooms are alike.

Filippo likes to decorate and we invite guests to come back and discover what has changed in the meantime.

Some spaces in our hotel are "intimate", the elevator has been introduced in the building in recent years, but every detail has been thought in order to make even these spaces as comfortable and homey as possible.

Next time we'll be glad to provide you with an accommodation with a more linear design.

Arrivederci a Rapallo,

Marco, Filippo & Idefix



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

This is our second time staying there. Great location and only a few minutes walk to the harbor with lots of restaurants & cafes. The rooms are clean and spacious. The owners Marco & Filippo are always very helpful when it comes to finding a parking space for our large car.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdhotel2014, other at Hotel San Desiderio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear GP,
thank you very much for your kind review after your second stay at Hotel San Desiderio.
It has been a pleasure for us to welcome you back and to make you feel at home.
Filippo and I (& Idefix) look forward to keep welcoming you back soon again to your "italian home" in Rapallo.
Kind regards,
Marco, Filippo & Idefix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

One of the best places to stay; close to the station, friendly hosts, super clean and so beautiful. Each room has its own theme and has very homely touches to them including but not limited to, microwave, wipes, coffee machine and many more. Highly recommended and you will not be disappointed.
I can definitely come back to stay here. Loved it!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Chimuka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdhotel2014, Gestore at Hotel San Desiderio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Chimuka,

thank you so much for your kind words.

Filippo and I (and Idefix) are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hotel San Desiderio.

Kind regards,

Marco, Filippo & Idefix

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews