We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
55
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews settimo cielo studio apartment minute ride infinity pool free parking perfect location cinque terre lucia media microwave hostess residence village property train boat
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel, amazing service, great location to visit the cinque terre. Very relaxing place after visiting around and walking... Hotel staff extremely efficient and available, giving good advices also... nice restaurant next door , super cool friendly and typical mini market next door also :)
Overall perfect place to stay while visiting the cinque terre and Liguria .

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gaelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

All the reviews I read before arriving were dead on...Mira Mare is awesome! The 1/2 mile road winding up the mountain side makes you realize the little Italian villa is truly an immersion into the Italian culture...not a tourist area. The view of the Bay of Poets is breath taking and is all yours. Very private and large outside patio space for morning coffee or any meal.
Lucia is an absolute doll and was full of great day trip ideas to explore. She and her staff went well beyond what could be expected to make sure everything about our stay was more than perfect and it was.
We stayed in Suite B which was very large and included a second sitting room and kitchenette with refrigerator, stove and microwave. The spectacular view could be enjoyed from anywhere in the room or walking out through the two sets of large french doors opening to the patio. The grounds also include a beautiful pool and, like the rest of Mira Mare, all very private.
Settimo Cielo, the "locals" Italian restaurant right next door, was so convenient and the food was amazing. We ended up eating there several times. Super friendly restaurant. Having the little grocery store next door was also super convenient.
What more can I say? You will not be disappointed only very pleasantly surprised and very happy that you chose such an awesome "microcosm" in which to stay.
Reviewed by Gary. Pennsylvania. USA.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Stayed for an extended period of time for work. Once you get here you quickly forget everything else. The view from the apartment is spectacular. Your host is wonderful, and you have a fabulous restaurant (Settimo Cielo) next door. Also a great little store. Can't ask for more!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank 123Jason123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

It's accepted that there is no substitute for a first impression.
Our first impression of Miramare came from our hostess Lucia!
She was so friendly, polite and hospitable! She greeted us with a huge smile and waving hands! The apartment was great! French doors opened out to a large terrace and a sprawling panoramic view of Spezia Bay! Stunning!
The apartment was fully equipped and I loved preparing some meals with the delicious local produce and FRESH pasta!
Our place was 10 minutes from the port which was very convenient to Cinque Terre.
Loved the ferry we took to hip hop around the picturesque towns.
Miramare was exactly as it's on line brochures presented it....even better.
It's perched on a cliff overlooking the bay!
the pool area also looks over the bay! Super relaxing and quiet!
While there, MAKE SURE YOU TAKE THE 45 MINUTE RIDE TO A SLEEPY HIDDEN JEWEL OF A VILLAGE CALLED ALERO! As peaceful as anyone could imagine and a wonderful author's escape!
Thanks to Lucia!!!!

Room Tip: Just make sure the room open to the terrace!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

We used booking.com to book this apartment for the second week of our honeymoon.
Let's start with the positives;
The building is beautiful and the grounds are well kept with nice little areas to sit out and watch the view. The pool is a good size and the views are outstanding - I could have looked out over those mountains forever and the view was never the same with the different lights, the boats, the clouds. The host Lucia is very friendly, helpful and very enthusiastic. She was eager to give us tips on how best to see the Cinque Terre and the wider are. Miramare is a very, very quiet and tranquil place, ideal for people who don't want to interact with other people. It was perhaps a little too quiet for us.

There were a few niggles that I think are worth mentioning. Firstly, we booked studio with a terrace. When we arrived Lucia enthusiastically showed us our room and then immediately said "don't worry, you do have a terrace, I say that because it's not attached to your room." I was a little confused when we entered a first floor room and were told that "our" terrace was back through the foyer/reception and out the side door - which is the public route to the pool, where we found a table and chairs that could be used by anyone. That room should not be advertised as a room with a terrace, it is a public area not attached to the room and very inconvenient to be carrying breakfast and lunch through the foyer, past another room.

She left us to finish off another check in and we then discovered that the mezzanine level bedroom area of our studio was so low that my head (5"10) touched the roof so my husband who is 6"6 was practically doubled over. We didn't even have to raise the issue of the terrace, as Lucia too agreed that we could not survive not standing up for a week and found us an alternative room with a normal height ceiling. So be aware - 5"10 is not that tall, so if you are slightly above average height avoid the mezzanine room!

Lucia let us see the room before we agreed to move and explained that we would need to spend the first night in the original room, which was no problem to us. The second room was much, much smaller, but we were told it was still in the same price bracket - we couldn't be bothered querying it, as to our delight this room DID have a terrace, which was more important.

The beds are advertised as king or queensize but in both the rooms we stayed in, it was two single beds pushed together, which I personally HATE at the best of times but was especially inconvenient for a honeymooning couple.

Towels were changed every few days but strangely the bath mat was never changed so after a week it was pretty dirty.

In the listing it states that the property is 800m for the marina at la spezia - it may be 800m sheer drop to sea level but there is no marina 800m away. I am mentioning this because although we had researched that la spezia was a big industrial port, to us if something is 800m away from a marina we (perhaps naively) assumed there would be attractions or at least places to eat within walking distance. The road from the property to the main road is a single track with hairpin bends, nothing is walkable.

This is not a reflection of Miramare but again worth mentioning - The area of la spezia itself is VERY INDUSTRIAL and we found it to be very dirty. The free parking recommended to us to catch the boat to Cinque Terre was laden with animal dirt, and rubbish. The neighbouring villages of Lerici, Porto Venere are much nicer, but a 15- 20 minute drive away.

There is a nice, rustic and very casual restaurant next door which we used on a few of occasions but we are not the kind of people that like eating in the same place every night so a car was essential, this also curbed any sharing of wine with our meal as someone was always designated driver - public transport is a non existent to the property.

To sum up, the property itself is nice and would be a perfect base to explore the Cinque Terre for a few days, but it was too remote for us and a week was too long. I think they need to be a little more honest about the beds, the room facilities and the remoteness of the location as we did feel a little duped.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gaynor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia c, Direttore generale at Miramare Apartments&Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2016

Dear Gaynor,

Thank you for your review and remarks we will definitely consider and as always, we will act to improve our service.
BTW, I would only like to specify few aspects which could be not really exact:
1) through our partner (booking.com) you booked a standard "STUDIO WITH SEA VIEW", and not a "studio with terrace": this tipology doesn't exist and we don't advertise something we do not have. It would be contrary to our philosophy and transparent approach to welcome our Guests.
Every "STUDIO WITH SEA VIEW" has also a portion of a shared terrace.
From your first apartment you asked later to change, you acceded to your portion by the lobby. I don't see anything wrong on it. We added a value to your "studio with sea view" booking, offering a portion of a shared terrace from a private use only .
2) you forgotten to mention about your and your husband "oversize" stature: as a rubgy player, this is not frequent to welcome Guests taller than 200 cm.
3) the second STUDIO WITH SEA VIEW I've proposed to you is 31 smq, as per the description in our web site and in our partner web site: I cannot understand your remark "much, much smaller".
4) concerning LA SPEZIA area, yes, there is a small commercial harbor and a military arsenal, but this is not impacting the beauty of the UNESCO World Heritage sites: Cinque Terre, Portovenere and the other great spots in the area, Lerici, San Terenzo, Tellaro, Sarzana, Palmaria Island ..... and much more as you have discovered in your tailor made recomendation list we did together at your arrival.
5) concerning the beds, you are right: some units have double beds composed by two single beds. If asked, we could change the two mattress into a single big one.
6) we are located on the top of a hill overlooking the Golf of La Spezia and the ocean, this is why a car is higly recommended adn this is also why you can relax and to come down.

I don't think you should feel as you wrote "duped".I frankly think this something offensive we don't deserve.
We take care of our Guests as much as possible - as we did with you as well and with pleasure trying to accomodate all your requests - and we have always been transparent in our communication.

Thank you in any case for your visit,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews