We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
261
389
145
43
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
389
145
43
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room train station top floor cinque terre superior room convenient location excellent location hotel lobby wonderful hotel three star breakfast was excellent comfortable hotel breakfast is served the air conditioning base for exploring yogurt rental car
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is literally a stones throw from the train station.
The hotel is clean,tidy and the staff are quite friendly,I would stay here again .
If I had any faults,they were quite trivial but we had no milk or coffee top up for a drinks.
I had to go down to reception at 11pm and ask for it,as we had been out since 9am in the morning.
We had breakfast on the final day only for there not to be,no eggs, scrambled or boiled,no pancakes or bacon only to be told that we weren’t entitled to it as it wasn’t part of our group package.
We had a conversation with the staff and it got resolved as we had paid for 4 days,I have never experienced this before anywhere we have been you are normally asked for your room number but there was none of this on the 4days we stayed there.
I think they are quite tight with their food they give out and are really slow at filling up the buffet area with food.
When giving over your passport on arrival wait for it to be given back to you as it will sit in a pigeon hole on reception where it can easily be stolen,you have to ask for it back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank yartsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear customer, thank you for leaving your review and thank you for your compliments on our Hotel. We regret that the breakfast that we served to your group was not to his liking but does not depend on us, are requests that are made by the Tour Operator to get a greater discount. I can assure you that we are happy to give our customers the full service. We apologize for what happened with your passport, usually we give back the documents immediately at check-in but as your group is rather large we decided to hold them back so as not to make you wait too long. The reception staff should have given it back at the first opportunity but it was not so and I apologize for that. However, I can assure you that we have never lost a passport.
Thanks again for your review, see you soon,

best regards,

the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

The hotel is an excellent launch pad for visiting the Cinque Terre park; just a couple of minutes walk from the train station (turn left on exiting the station and make for the large red building).

[The train is the main entry access to the park. Note: the queue to buy a Cinque Terre pass at the train station can be long; also be sure to check which paths are open - some of the coastal paths are expected to be closed the whole year.]

In addition, the bus stop for busses to Portovenere is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel (the walk to/from the stop also passes plenty of restaurants and a supermarket should any supplies be needed).

La Spezia itself is also well worth visiting: a magnificent bay with stunning views to the mountains, a large marina of leisure, commercial and military boats, some nice pedestrianised streets with shops, restaurants, markets, etc.

But this hotel has very little competition and lots of demand due to the many, many tourists wanting to visit the park, potentially removing the necessity to offer a great accommodation experience. My room was disappointing: small, dark (very little natural light), very old furniture, cold (no discernible heat) and with just one electric socket tucked behind a table, for charging a phone. The bathroom had marble flooring, which as well as being exceptionally cold underfoot was also lethally slippery as the shower door leaked out a fair amount of water. The loo seat didn’t stay up; the foot lever on the bin didn’t work; the shower water fluctuated between hot and cold; there was no face flannel and just one towel (I asked for a second one). The room was also noisy, both to neighbours as well as the room upstairs flushing, showering, etc. Indeed, this was actually my second room; the first one was next to a bar/nightclub which had loud music filling up the bedroom given thin walls rendering sleep impossible.

Wi-fi was excellent throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection, especially the kiwi fruit which was probably right in season. Also presented: cold cuts, cheese, eggs, cereals, breads, yoghurt, etc.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Airlineconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

We booked this hotel last minute at the reception desk and we immediately you felt like we had stepped into a lovely traditional Italian Hotel with fittings and furniture which looked like it dated back to the roaring 40's. That does not mean the furniture was old or worn, in fact it was in beautiful condition but in a bygone style.

The hotel staff were very helpful and allocated a lovely large room which was well decorated and very comfortable with a good sized bathroom with ultra modern tiling and fittings.

We had a drink in the bar and just enjoyed the surroundings.

It has been a stressful day and this hotel was the perfect antidote. I can highly recommend this hotel, but suggest you also read my other review of the hotel we were originally booked into at La Spezia, as a contrast.

Breakfast was very good too and included in the price and gave us an excellent buffet selection of attractive looking fayre.

The hotel is less than 100 yards from the train station and near the centre so is in a very convenient location and about a 40 minute train journey to Cinque Terre.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We originally planned to stay in Levanto but wanted to take an early train from La Spezia to Naples so decided to stay here. So glad we did. Weather was not great so being across from the train station was perfect. Trains to Cinque Terre very convenient. Our room was comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Service was good. They even printed our train tickets for us when my phone wasn't working right. Breakfast was very good. Lots of choices, cereal, fruit, great bread and delish cheese. Lots more. La Spezia is a great place to stay. Lots of restaurant options within walking distance.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank petsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri08, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear customer, thank you for taking your time to write a review and thank you for the beautiful compliments on your room and our services. Our goal is to make customers feel at home, which is why we are very happy to know that they found their room comfortable, clean and well furnished and that they enjoyed our breakfast and the particular attention in local products, such as cheeses produces a small dairy in the Val di Vara.
We hope to see you soon! thanks again from all the staff, best regards.


The direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed 8 days at hotel Firenze . Ariana at the front desk was so welcoming and helpful. she gave us tips on sightseeing. The breakfast was adequate. The location is the best base to visit Cinque Terre. It is close to shops and restaurants. The room was comfortable and clean. The hallway was beautiful,

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Truong-n-Pham-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria gabriella l, Direttore at Hotel Firenze e Continentale La Spezia, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear customer, thanks from all the staff and in particular from Arianna. It is important to know the opinions of our guests and if they are positive, it makes us very happy.
We hope to see you soon in our hotel. Best regards, the management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews