We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A good museum

The museum present the history of Genova art fnd has some pictures of Luca Combiaso. There is... read more

Reviewed 8 November 2018
libius2018
,
Moscow, Russia
2000 years of Genoa history shown by archaeological finds and works of art.

The Diocesan Museum of Genoa is housed in a medieval cloister of the twelfth century. Come and see... read more

Reviewed 12 August 2018
giorgiocannella
,
Rome, Italy
via mobile
Read all 137 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Genoa
from US$37.99
More Info
from US$29.93
More Info
from US$11.51
More Info
from US$17.27
More Info
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
98
36
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
36
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very interesting museum christ cloisters art cathedral century history exhibits
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

Probably the only museum I have visited in Genoa which makes perfect sense: organized, peaceful, interesting...
You visit the museum without being followed in each and every room by the people who work there, everything is explained (in Italian as well as in English), and the amazing Blu di Genova rooms (ancester of Blue Jeans) are a must!!

They can also organize dinners, ceremonies, etc...
I wouldn't be able to put in words how beautiful this visit was. I can only suggest you make time for it! :)

With the entrance fee is included a visit of the Treasure Room of San Lorenzo.

4  Thank Theetiquettorialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very awesome religios and history art right in the heart of Genoa. Also the San Lorenzo Cathedral is magnificent, so don't miss it !

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank CRISTINA Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This little museum is just around the corner from the Cathedral di San Lorenzo. Admission is 6 euros per person, but, as we learned when we were leaving, this admission also includes a visit to the Museo di Tesoro, a museum of treasures in the cathedral. Note that both these museums are closed for an extended time midday. When we were there, they were closed between noon and 4pm.
This museum contains many pieces of art important to Genoa and its history from several centuries. We especially enjoyed the "Blu di Genova" and exhibit of blue fabric decorated with religious art. This fabric was the precursor of blue jean material (the info suggested that the word "jeans" came from Genoa). These pieces were impressive and distinctive.
Museo del Tesoro was smaller but interesting. Contains impressive silver work and relic purportedly related to John the Baptist.

Date of experience: June 2012
4  Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Museo Diocesano, just around the corner from San Lorenzo on Via Tomaso Reggio is often overlooked by tourists, but it’s a very interesting museum and certainly worth a visit to see important works of sculpture, art and paintings. It has a little of everything including the tomb of the Fieschi family and altarpieces and paintings by the famous Genovese painter, Luca Cambiaso. If you are interested in religious art, it houses beautiful tapestries, silver, reliquaries and vestments. But for me the highlight is just seeing all this combined in a lovely setting, wandering through the very peaceful cloisters and discovering the museum completely alone! Rarely have I seen other people inside!

I also really enjoy the “Blue of Genova” display of blue fabric sacred hangings considered to be the same fabric used to make our current day blue jeans. These hangings represent the Passion of Christ with white paint on the cloth and they date back to1500, when the color of blue was difficult to obtain and highly guarded. When you enter, the room it is completely dark until the light sensors pick up your movement, and then spotlights beam down on the hangings, giving the two rooms a very atmospheric feeling.

There is plenty of information in both Italian and English and they have laminated pages of information available when you enter. The museum is over three floors and they do have an elevator, but you must ask if you would like to use it. The bathrooms are lovely and in the basement. They have a small gift shop with some books/brochures in English. If you are visiting San Lorenzo Cathedral, consider a visit to this museum, just a minute walk away! I think you will enjoy it!

Date of experience: February 2012
7  Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews