We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Review Highlights
My visit

It is an old church that is full of relic of different kind of saints. Once your inside the church... read more

Reviewed 23 January 2017
Noel M
,
Santa Ana, Philippines
via mobile
Catholic church

Impressing steps lead you to the main entrance if you come from Piazza Unita or the Teatro Romano... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2013
Bálint K
,
Budapest, Hungary
Read all 81 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Trieste
from US$11.55
More Info
from US$19.49
More Info
from US$92.39
More Info
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
22
33
26
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
33
26
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

I am in Trieste for work related trip and visit the church often… Wonderful place to reflect and find peace.
After mass on Sundays they have gifts for donation sale...

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Climbing up the stairs and entering this, I was impressive with a big fresco in the apse, and with a domed ceiling, of this church.
In the upper background of this fresco, just Virgin Mary seemed to be lit up.
Looking up at the domed ceiling above the nave, I thought its design unique. See attached photos.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank japanguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

It is an old church that is full of relic of different kind of saints. Once your inside the church you will notice that the layout is still old fashion where the priest has his own podium elevated above the altar. Visit my fb page biyaheng elljim for my Trieste trip any questions dont hesitate to ask

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

This baroque style church is set on a small hill looking out over Trieste and is adjacent to the much older Basilica di San Silvestro. It looks pretty good in photos.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Santa Maria Maggiore is a nice church with a lot of art work inside but it did not impress me much. You should get it but this is a third class building if you compared to the Cattedrale di San Giusto. Still it is on the way to the castle and near the city centre so not harm done if you visit it

Date of experience: May 2015
Thank manuelaE3038WG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews