We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
14
34
12
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
34
12
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2014

This Hotel only has two stars on the official rating, which is complete nonsense.
Very friendly and efficient service. Breakfast is great with plenty of choice. The location is great, Barcola is about 4 kilometres north of Trieste, close enough for an easy and cheap bus ride but out of the noise and bustle of the centre.
The air conditioning not only works but is also quiet,which is not a common experience for me even in much more expensive hotels.
And it is cheap.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

It is ten years since I wrote a review of this hotel which is located in barcola, ten minutes from Trieste on the bus, or in the summer, the ferry. I have stayed there many times since and I continue to enjoy its consistently high standards of cleanliness and friendliness . The breakfasts, which can be eaten indoors or out on the small terrace, provide choice: fruit, ham, cheese, bread jam, pastries and great coffee and tea. You are two minutes from the sea and there are convenient local bars, restaurants and shops. It works well to have a base away from the noise and bustle of trieste and the cost is very reasonable.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in June 2014. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were excellent and very friendly, we had originally only planned one night but enjoyed it so we booked for another. The breakfast is typically continental and there is plenty of it and if something is missing or runs out if you ask they will bring more. The hotel benefits from a stairlift for disabled guests and the wifi connection is good. If you are on a budget then this is a place you could take a closer look at

Room tip: Just ask them for assistance, they will do all they can to help you
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artois1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is in excellent location, across the street is the train station. You can take the bus to the taxi boat ride in Venice about 10 minutes away. The room is large enough for Europe standard. It offers excellent breakfast and free internet. The staff is very friendly and resourceful. It is hard to find a parking space, but you can park the car and take the bus going to Venice.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnpa2750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Very nice hotel but slightly blighted by noise. Great for the promenade, swimming in the sea from the bathing areas and the walk to Miramare.

There is a busy road at the front and railway line about 100 yards away at the back. .

The people were lovely. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent. There was good wifi in the room and the breakfast room was great to work in - equally good wifi, plus somebody to sell drinks etc at all hours. Hot chocolate and a whisky as nightcap - no problem.

The room itself was plain - nothing fancy - but very comfortable. Good beds, good shower, plenty drawer and wardrobe space. TV was all italian but internet/wifi was so good we could pick up BBC over the internet. All very clean and well looked after.

We were staying at the Tritone when it was really quite cold outside in the evenings. We had a room at the end of the hotel with windows at the side and at the rear of the hotel. We shut the windows at the side so that solved the the road noise issue and left the bathroom window at the rear of the hotel open for a bit of fresh air. The hotel is actually quite well shielded from the main railway line and we didn't have any problem with train noise.

The rooms in the rear of the hotel are not air conditioned but have ceiling fans so might be quite hot in the summer. In the winter, it might be unpleasant in the rooms at the front if you like fresh air circulating.

The rooms are one or two floors up from street level and there is no lift. The disabled chair lift wasn't working so all baggage had to be carried upstairs. Not recommended for disabled people.

There is a large, free public car park across the road right in front of the hotel. Our car seemed perfectly safe there. The bus service into Trieste takes around 15 minutes and the frequency is every 15 minutes or so.

We had a very pleasant stay.

Room tip: In the winter stay at the back of the hotel. In the summer stay in an airconditioned room - the double glazing is quite good. Otherwise its fans at the back.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews