We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 1:00 PM, 2:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Modena
from US$30.06
More Info
from US$132.95
More Info
from US$52.02
More Info
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
326
45
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
45
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour our tour guide no pressure to buy free tour balsamic vinegar aceto balsamico different varieties tasting session italian guide production process english speaking tour tour takes about an hour great english take home free of charge for sale great tasting
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We went to Modena to specifically try balsamic! This tour is free and offered in English and Italian. The guide was extremely friendly and enthusiastic about her job. You get to hear about how it is produced and at the end of it you get to try the products that they make! Definitely worth a visit!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank WilliamH2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We visited the town of Modena and hoped to tour the balsamic vinegar producer there but they had no English speaking tours that day so the very helpful lady at the tourist office booked us on to this tour which was free of charge and about a twenty minute drive from Modena. We had a hire car so this was no problem. The tour started at 3.15 and was conducted by Laura who was very knowledgeable and did a brilliant job of interchanging between English and Italian to cater for the whole group, there were about 10 of us in total. We were given a history of the company and how the vinegar is made, which was very interesting and got to inspect the barrels and smell the different vinegars of differing ages. The tour ended with a tasting which again was fascinating. I don’t think the trip would be great for younger children but our 12 year old did enjoy it. The tour was free too and there was no sales pressure to buy any of the products. I would recommend this if you are a foodie.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jop_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

What a treat! This free tour was absolutely excellent. The information given was interesting and we had the opportunity to ask many questions. We tasted many kinds of Balsamic Vinegar and there was no pressure to purchase. We did in fact purchase some of the vinegar as it is quite well priced for the process and notoriety of this production facility. Highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Snowfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

The tour was fantastic, definitely recommend to all visitors to Modena! Julia was a great guide with lots of knowledge and taught us plenty about balsamic vinegar. We learnt so much and now have some amazing balsamic vinegar to take home with us.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank NikiK105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We highly recommend visiting! I booked online before our trip to Italy and within hours received a confirmation email. The day of the tour we arrived two hours early (due to a different tour finishing earlier than expected) and thankfully there was another couple just starting a tour, so they let us join them. Julia, our English-speaking Italian guide, was amazing! We started in the family museum room and learned about the history of Acetaia Giusti, as well as the Giusti family. The Giusti family has directly guided the company since its opening in 1605. We even had the pleasure of meeting Claudio Giusti, a 17th generation Giusti.

We continued our tour to the barrels in the attic and cellar. Very interesting to learn about the aged barrels and how they transfer from one barrel to another. I enjoyed being able to smell the balsamic vinegars at different stages of aging. The best part was the tasting at the end where we were able to sample a range of ages and flavors of balsamic. Being able to sample in this way really makes you appreciate the vast difference between them.

There is no cost for this tour, and although we did purchase a few bottles to bring home, there was no pressure to buy and Julia's focus was more on sharing the family's passion and history with us. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank BnRadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews