We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveller rating
994
412
79
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
994
412
79
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews al sangiovese breakfast room garden room le mura charming hotel small garden lovely courtyard minute walk breakfast is served city centre ring road small hotel old city main piazza quiet street room was large pastries
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The hotel is lovely. We requested a change of room after arriving as our room overlooking the street was, to say the least noisy at 1 am. This change was accomplished very easily and the 2nd room with balcony was spot on. We also had great assistance in booking restaurants, taxis etc. Breakfast outside was also a pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yorky1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel,with friendly helpful staff. It’s location is an easy 10 minute walk from the centre, which I preferred as it was a quieter area.
The rooms are acceptable and clean with a mini bar but,could benefit from tea/ coffee making facilities.
The bathroom was spotless and well supplied with toiletries. The water pressure is low so the shower was not great.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice including a hot choice of scrambled eggs.However, it would be fantastic if the eggs could be cooked to order - either scrambled or omelette as they did lack freshness in the warmer!
Overall, a nice place to stay for a short break.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Citywomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We really liked this hotel , which is off the main drag but close to some interesting sights and good neighbourhood restaurants and bars. It has a charming (though could be cold in the winter because of doors opening and shutting) little courtyard breakfast room.The ground floor rooms I couldn't recommend because of noise/proximity to the breakfast room but a lovely manager was very helpful in helping me to change rooms after the first night. The windows would have benefited from blinds or shutters so one wasn't woken so early by the light.

Room Tip: If sensitive to noise avoid the ground floor.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stachys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Responsabile reception at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Guest We thank you for your review. We apologize if at the beginning something dindn't go well. We'll take care about your advices and we'll do our best for improving ourselves. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

This used to be my go to hotel for trips to Bologna, but next time I will find something else. The staff at the front desk were not very helpful, and there was no info in the rooms for guests about when breakfast was served, what time checkout was, etc. In the bathroom, the hot water kept going in and out, and the water pressure was weak. Also, the shower door opening was very small. I imagine some people, including pregnant women, might have a hard time getting in and out of it. Lastly, the food at breakfast was somewhat disappointing. It should be pretty easy to find good pastries for breakfast in Bologna and not have to resort to store-bought, pre-packaged ones.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goatsdoroam2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Only had one night here . In a nice position though , just a little outside the centre of town . We like walking so gives you a nice chance to walk down a few different streets into the middle of town . The hotel looks lovely from the outside . Clean and tidy on the inside . Rooms are a good size and we had a window looking down the street ( I love Italian streets ) . Breakfast is served at the end of a lovely courtyard in separate building , this had all the usual breakfast buffet food .
All in all a very nice well kept hotel .

Bologna is a fab place to visit I loved it

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank ieak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
condelloroberto, Direttore generale at Hotel Porta San Mamolo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your review,
Best Regards
Roberto Condello - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews