We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
497
359
55
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
359
55
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piazza maggiore great location themed rooms pillow menu the main square quirky hotel weekend break centre of bologna the main hotel quiet side street long weekend just round the corner wonderful city top floor would highly recommend this hotel bars and restaurants would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Check me out on Instagram! @eatgosee

We stayed here for 3 days / 2 nights without the breakfast option included.

HIGHLIGHTS:
- LOCATION is everything. If you’re in Bologna for a short period of time then you want to be within 15 mins of everything by foot. The hotel is right by Piazza Maggiore. You will be hard pressed to get a better location at this price.
- check in was super easy and the lady on check is super helpful and friendly
- All staff were friendly, well informed and approachable. Fluent English speakers too.
- quiet tidy warm rooms
- hot water, fast reliable WiFi
- Room 402 is on the top floor with roof windows for lots of light
- large, generously sized bathrooms
- we got an upgrade to a superior room

In terms of spec, the hotel is somewhere between a B&B and boutique hotel. It’s lobby is modern and bright, the kitchen / restaurant is woody and cozy for nightcaps. The rooms are less modern with darker woods and deep red colour. It’s perfectly comfortable but it’s not fancy - that’s absolutely fine. Fancy also seems at odds with Bologna as a charming but modest city.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank eatgosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stayed in apartment 4 a few doors down from the hotel, it was roomy, clean, fresh and very comfortable, staff were all very friendly and our apartment was ready for us 3 hours early.

Coffee pods for the coffee machine were provided as well as thick bath robes and slippers. Hotel was very very close to the centre of the city. I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daisyduke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

The reception staff were always as helpful as could be, for example printing out train timetables and giving advice about walking routes.However one member of staff, Elena, really went over and above with her outstanding customer service when I left my phone on the back seat of a public taxi which dropped us off at a restaurant. She persisted in trying to call the number of my phone for about 45 minutes while we were stranded without another mobile at the restaurant. Eventually the taxi driver, by that time in another part of the city, heard the ringtone and agreed to deliver it back safely to the hotel. I had prepared myself for never seeing it again along with our electronic boarding passes!
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It has one of the best central locations, just of the Piazza Maggiore in Bologna, and the most helpful and efficient staff I have ever encountered.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Al Cappello Rosso is perfectly located for a great stay in Bologna, close to all the action and sights near to Piazza Maggiore and shops/restaurants, but in a lovely, quiet lane. We stayed in an apartment in what they refer to as the annex building, which is a private residential building a few doors along the street from the hotel. Apparently the hotel has 2 apartments within this building. Our apartment was very generous in size and comfortable; the bathroom spacious and modern, and a stylish, modern kitchen, dining table that seats 4, and a living area. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The only real downside to the apartment is that it is quite dark, especially the bedroom. Despite large windows, not much light comes in to the apartment, due to its positioning within the building. This can’t be changed of course, but some additional and super high voltage lighting in the bedroom would help a lot as the bedroom looked a bit gloomy and this was with summer sunlight. There is the best hotel safe I have ever seen; a big pull-out drawer inside the wardrobe. (Unfortunately, the bathroom door and wardrobe doors collide when open). The lobby is lovely and inviting, and the staff at reception pleasant. The hotel’s restaurant has a stylish, rustic wine cellaresque decor and the included breakfast was very tasty. All in all, we had a lovely stay at Al Capello Rosso.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

The hotel is two minutes walk from Piazza Maggiore, the centre of the old town.
We arrived by car and paid for one of their parking spaces-25E , but probably worth it as spaces are restricted nearby.
Staff were all friendly and helpful. The rooms appear to different to each other. Ours was at the back and very quiet. Comfortable bed, great temperature control, small but nice bathroom, with Etro toiletries.The pillow menu also helps get a great nights' sleep.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and outstanding baked goods.
Would not look for any other hotel-this is perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tommytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews