We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
332
233
48
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
233
48
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazza maggioregreat locationthe main squarebeautiful hotelcan't beat the locationsan petroniobalcony overlookingpastriesquiet streetcentral locationevery eveningthe main hotelstudio apartmentrecommend this hotel to anyonebreakfast was amazinga lot of noisethe wi fi
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a perfect location, right off the main square in Bologna. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were exactly as advertised. The breakfast selection was very good, and exceeded many of the other hotels we have stayed in Italy. Overall, you really can’t beat this hotel’s location, and should we return to Bologna we will definitely be booking at this hotel again. Thank you very much to the Art Hotel Commercianti staff for making our stay extremely enjoyable in Bologna.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lkraso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione! Vi aspettiamo di nuovo a Bologna, un saluto da Piazza Maggiore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Great small hotel in the centre of Bologna. The young lady receptionist, on our arrival was very helpful with details of what to visit nearby and also selected good restaurants for us to eat during our three night stay. But it was the large varied selection of items that were on offer at breakfast which was most notable. We have travelled to many countries and stayed in many different types of hotels but for the price we paid and the smallish size of this hotel, the breakfast selection and the freshness of the food was outstanding. The restaurant manageress was also very efficient as were her team. The food items were always soon topped up and beautifully arranged. A very professionally well run hotel and very caring staff.
l

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018
Google Translation

Gentilissimo Richard, ci fa un immenso piacere sapere che abbiate apprezzato la professionalità dell'intero Staff e gradito il soggiorno nel nostro Hotel. Grazie per tutti i complimenti scritti in questa recensione, tornate presto a trovarci! Un saluto con affetto da Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

The Art Hotel Commercianti is very well situated. Room was clean, comfortable, smallish but the objective of our visit was to tour and not stay in our room!

The quality and choice of food at breakfast was very good and varied.

Ilaria, the owner of the hotel was very pleasant- as were all staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prokshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie di cuore per la bellissima recensione siamo davvero molto felici che abbia apprezzato l'Hotel e il nostro lavoro! Un saluto con affetto da Ilaria e da tutto lo staff dell'Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

I love this hotel right beside the imposing Basilica di San Petronio in a building that dates back to the 11th century. Our room on the top floor had a tiny balcony (just large enough for a tiled table and 2 chairs) from which I could almost reach out and touch the red bricks of the church’s looming side wall. A few minutes walk to the wonderful Quadrilatero market. Breakfast is good - but a coffee at the cafe at the end of the lane, right on the piazza, is more atmospheric!

Room Tip: Top floor with a balcony looking out at the Duomo
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la splendida recensione, dalle nostre terrazze sembra quasi di poter toccare la Basilica di San Petronio! Un saluto dal cuore della città!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

First issue is in finding this hotel with a car. Google maps can find it on foot but cannot find it by car. Waze can find it by car but one of the routes has a gate that is sometimes opened and sometimes closed. If you come in to the piazza magiorre from the other direction it is usually open but the road down to the hotel off the piazza looks like a pedestrian only walkway along side the church. In addition, I don't think the piazza is open to regular traffic. After an hour of driving in circles finally the police stopped me in the piazza and showed me the walkway to drive down and confirmed that even though I was not supposed to be there it was permitted for arriving and departing hotel guests.

The hotel service level was top notch. Helped bringing in luggage. Valet parking. Front desk advice on restaurants and attractions.

Room was typical old European hotel size. Elevator which you don't always have in old buildings in the middle of European old towns. We did have a nice large balcony with table and chairs. Recently remodeled bathroom.

Outstanding breakfast in the am and small bar in the evenings.

You can't beat the location and the quality but getting in and out is a big challenge.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IlariaArtHotels, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Art Hotel Commercianti, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la bella recensione che ci ha scritto, siamo davvero felici che abbia apprezzato la sua stanza e il servizio del nostro Staff. Grazie anche per i complimenti alla prima colazione! Per quanto riguarda la viabilità del centro storico ha ragione, raggiungerci può risultare difficile, ma se seguite le indicazioni che mandiamo per mail il percorso diventa molto più facile, inoltre la reception è sempre a disposizione per fornire indicazioni anche telefonicamente. Un saluto di cuore dal centro di Bologna!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews