We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,258)
Filter reviews
2,259 results
Traveller rating
1,451
626
118
38
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,451
626
118
38
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great hotel roof terrace breakfast room quiet street ancient rome breakfast staff pastries top floor palatine hill our honeymoon loved this hotel around the corner trip to rome breakfast is served bottle of prosecco deluxe room stayed at this hotel for nights
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 2,259 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2018

A nice hotel close to the Colosseum. We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, split by an excursion so stayed in 2 different rooms.
Hotel was OK with the only comments being that the breakfast options were limited and, that both rooms we had faced south so became very hot during the day. The hotel apparently has a policy, the reason for which I didn't get a clear answer for, that it doesn't start its air conditioning until May so the only option we had for cooling was to open the window. This resulted in a disturbed sleep due to street noise and limited privacy during the night.
Staff were pleasant and rooms were clean enough.
Plenty of restaurants etc in the area and although the hotel does have its own restaurant but we wanted a more 'Roman' experience so we chose to eat out.

Room Tip: If traveling in the shoulder seasons, check if AC is switched on, if not, ask for a north facing room.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funnell1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Responsabile reception at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear Funnell,

We would like to thank you for the precious time you dedicated in sharing with the TripAdvisor Community your overall positive comment on your recent stay with us at the Capo D'africa Hotel. We are very delighted to read you appreciated our hotel and the quality of our services and we can assure that your valuable feedback will be shared with all our team which daily strive to fully satisfy our guests’ expectations with passion and dedication. We are very sorry about your problem with the air conditioning, but we always start in May according to higher temperatures and unfortunately we had 3/4 days in April with an unexpected heatwave with an average temperature of 23c which was however tolerable.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!
Our best regards,
Massimo Piselli Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

This is my second time staying at this hotel The first time I stayed solo, the second with my parents. As this was a return visit, you can already guess that I really liked the hotel. It has lovely, extremely well maintained, tastefully decorated rooms, many of which are very large. It’s in a super location, right by the Colosseum but just far away enough to be off the main tourist drag. Breakfast is lovely, and if the weather is good you can sit on the rooftops and enjoy views of Rome.

Unfortunately, during our stay my Dad had an accident that required hospital treatment and eventually repatriation. I cannot thank the hotel staff enough for all of the help, assistance and care they provided us with. They really were fantastic, from those cleaning the rooms, to those working in the restaurant and bar, to all of those working tirelessly on the front desk. Everyone did over and above what you would expect, including making sure my Dad was comfortable and we were okay, and even locating hospitals and doctors for us. The staff in this hotel truly are special and make the hotel a lovely, friendly and peaceful place to stay. I recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Responsabile reception at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Kris,

First of all, we do hope that your father is going better now and say him hello from all our staff, we remember him with big pleasure.
We would like to thank you for the precious time you dedicated in sharing with the TripAdvisor Community your so positive comment on your recent stay with us at the Capo D'africa Hotel. We are very delighted to read you appreciated our hotel and the quality of our services and we can assure that your valuable feedback will be shared with all our team which daily strive to fully satisfy our guests’ expectations with passion and dedication. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Our best regards,

Massimo Piselli
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Good location a few minutes walk from the Colloseum. Lovely tasteful hotel, small but classy, nice reception area with little bar. Clean comfortable room and bathroom, large bed and very comfortable. Nice restaurant on the roof, with indoor section, very nice selection at breakfast both cooked and not cooked, cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurt etc... Staff very efficient polite and professional. Worth doing the early ‘skip the line’ tours of Colloseum and Vatican,most places are very walkable, but watch the pavements and roads, quite uneven, wear comfy shoes.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Pompey_Sunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Responsabile reception at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Pompey,

We would like to thank you for the precious time you dedicated in sharing with the TripAdvisor Community your so positive comment on your recent stay with us at the Capo D'africa Hotel. We are very delighted to read you appreciated our hotel and the quality of our services and we can assure that your valuable feedback will be shared with all our team which daily strive to fully satisfy our guests’ expectations with passion and dedication. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Our best regards,

Massimo Piselli
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Pros:
Great location for access to the leading sights - 5 minute walk to the Coliseum!
Clean, smart and modern hotel with helpful and attentive staff.

Cons:
Air conditioning was NOT turned on in the middle of April even though the temperature was up to 25C. To make things worse, the hotel is situated on both a corner and a gradient with an almost constant stream of cars and motorbikes - day and night.
Although he Windows opened easily, the noise made it impractical to have any windows open.
Roof top terrace is a nice feature but with little in the way of a view. Also, the terrace does NOT have a bar so you have to wait for a staff member to bring drinks from the bar in the hotel lobby.
The hotel is overshadowed by an old, large and rather unattractive monastery on the adjacent corner.

Room Tip: No side or floor of the hotel offers any advantage in terms of outlook or noise. Rating above does NOT work.
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DavidP10374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Direttore at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear David,

, We would like to thank you for the precious time you dedicated in sharing with the TripAdvisor Community your comment on your recent stay with us at the Capo D'africa Hotel. We are very delighted to read you appreciated our hotel and the quality of our services and we can assure that your valuable feedback will be shared with all our team which daily strive to fully satisfy our guests’ expectations with passion and dedication.
We are sorry to read you were a little disapponted about the air conditioning. We generally start the air conditioning system from the month of May and according to higher temperatures and during your stay we had in Rome an average outside temperature of 22c.during the day and 3/4 degrees less during the night.
However we do hope to welcome you again in our property should your future plans take you again to the Eternal city.

Kind regards.

Massimo Piselli
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Travelling for the first time without kids we decided on a trip to Rome...this hotel is perfectly situated to see all the sights, mind you we did get a cab to the Vatican City as it was as cheap instead of messing with public transport routes etc.

Check in to the hotel was swift, the girl on the reception was very good with maps etc for us.
Rooms are nice, nothing special but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a delight, with lots of choice and we had the lovely Spring like weather and were able to have breakfast on the terrace.

For us runner types, the gym is a little sparse but you are literally 5 mins from the Coloseum so just go for a run...out the doors turn right, go to the top of the road and boom it is infront of you!

Surrounding area looks grim in day time but in the evening it turns into a delightful area of restaurants and bars.

Good value and perfect location.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mumatronatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimo P, Responsabile reception at Capo d'Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the precious time you dedicated in sharing with the TripAdvisor Community your so positive comment on your recent stay with us at the Capo D'africa Hotel. We are very delighted to read you appreciated our hotel and the quality of our services and we can assure that your valuable feedback will be shared with all our team which daily strive to fully satisfy our guests’ expectations with passion and dedication. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again!

Our best regards,

Massimo Piselli
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews