We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
622
715
170
56
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
715
170
56
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar piazza navona gin corner spanish steps great location within walking distance breakfast room superior room modern rooms public areas lobby area ham walked everywhere major attractions heart of rome three nights side street
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

For a family trip to Rome we chose Hotel Adriano because of its location and the good ratings it received on Tripadvisor.

Our summary:

POSITIVE:
- the location is really just great, everything is in walking distance!
- the rooms (double superior) are nice and clean
- the room personel is very kind and attentive

NEUTRAL:
- the breakfast is ok, but we can understand why other people might find it poor (mostly heated up industrial bread and cakes, some fruit, cereal and bacon/eggs, that's it)
- in the lower parts and basement of the building you can smell a moldy stench all the time, as in other old buildings of the city
- the Gin Bar is nice, but closes at midnight and was mostly empty in the evenings

NEGATIVE:
- one of our rooms smelled (despite intense cleaning) as if it had been inhabited by a heavy smoker before
- the "door" to the bathroom was only a curtain and the part where you take the shower in the bathtub covered with nothing more than a short glas shield: it took a while to develop a 'shower technique' that avoids wetting all the floor and the bed
- as mentioned in other comments the personel in the reception is not very attentive: we understand that is not Sheraton*****, but it's not a youth hostel either, so please try to at least pretend that you enjoy assisting your clients.

All in all: an ok experience, but next time we would try another place.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel Adriano.
We couldn't be happier with your positive remarks on our hotel its location, the courtesy of our staff and the comfortability of your room.
We would like to clarify what our breakfast buffet consists of: we serve scrambled eggs and bacon, hard boiled eggs, a variety of breads and croissants, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and fruit juices, ham and cheese, home baked cakes, biscuits, muffins, tea, coffee, espresso and cappuccino. We are also able to accommodate vegans and celiacs, by just informing us at the time of booking. Our guests' feedback is crucial. If you smell mold, we would appreciate hearing about it. In regard to our bar, The Gin Corner, it depends, there are nights when we are full of guests and times when there are few guests. We are sorry that during your stay it was not livelier but we hope that did not deter you from enjoying the expertise of our bartending staff or the exceptional cocktails we can serve from having over 100 brands of international gin on hand.
As it relates to a smell of cigarette smoke in your room. It is prohibitive to smoke in the hotel so we cannot understand where that smell would have come from. If you travel throughout Europe you will find that most bathtubs have a panel of glass but it does not extend the entire length of the tub. It does take some practice to not get the water all over the bathroom, but that tends to be the norm in most European baths unless you just have a shower stall.
We are not happy to read that our personnel was not accommodating. They are here to serve your needs and to do so in a friendly manner. We will most certainly take it up with them as it is completely unacceptable.
We are very sorry to read that your stay was only ok. That is not good enough for us! We do hope that you can return and have a better experience in our hotel. We thank you again for your comments.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel Adriano is the best place for your Rome vacation. Location and value can not be beat. Incredible customer service which is rare in Europe and great gin bar for lighting up your evening. All attractions are walkable and rooms are good size. Highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Param G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive review on our Hotel Adriano, for saying we are the best place for your vacation, a good value and for giving us such a high rating. We are very appreciative.
For sure, our location can't be beat. We are a 5-10 minute walk to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain and another 15-20 minute walk to the Vatican and the Colosseum. Our central location also exposes you to the finest shops Rome has to offer and in addition the center has a multitude of fine restaurants, cafes, pizzerias, gelaterias and museums and government buildings to check out. We are flattered to read that you valued our customer service. We know how important it is for our guests to be able to have a very attentive staff who will listen to their concerns and act to rectify any thing if need be, to meet our guests' needs and to do all this is a friendly and helpful manner. So thank you for that feedback.
We couldn't be happier that our 3 time award winning bar, The Gin Corner, lit up your evenings. We know our bar is special due to our selections of over 100 international brands of gin. This is the most important ingredient is making a cocktail truly unique. Our bartender is also very experienced , he has worked all over the world and brings his expertise to your experience at our bar making it the highlight of you evening.
All of the major sights are within walking distance from the hotel. We are a 5-10 minute walk to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain and another 15-20 minute walk to the Vatican and the Colosseum. So you never really have to take public transport unless you want to.
All our rooms have various sizes, décor, amenities and prices and they are all listed on our website so that you can choose according to your tastes and budget.
Thank you so much for recommending us to our readers and we hope that the next time you visit Rome you will choose to stay with us again.
All the best,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Central hotel close to Pantheon. Nice lobby with a gin bar downstairs, but rooms are pretty small. Bedding not so comfortable, mattress too soft and makes noise every time you move in the bed. Breakfast is correct, nothing fancy but rather basic. Staff very nice.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank manvin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel Adriano.
Indeed, our hotel is very close to the Pantheon and along with Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain are all a 5-10 minute walk away, also, the Vatican and Colosseum are a 15-20 minute walk.
We are glad you liked our lobby, we have many different sitting areas for our guests. All of them offer comfort, quietude, and the opportunity to relax while waiting, reading, surfing the web, having a drink, etc. Our bar, The Gin Corner, is also located in our lobby. It is well worth a stop as your experience will certainly be unique. We serve over 100 different brands of international gin which is the main contributing factor in making your cocktail truly special. Our bartender is famous for his worldly experience and so he will make your experience a very special one.
All our mattresses are new and they have a cover on top also. Most of our guests compliment us on how comfortable they are. But it is always a matter of personal taste when it comes to a mattress as some like it firm and some soft.
Our breakfast buffet is plentiful in that we serve scrambled eggs and bacon, hard boiled eggs, croissants and a variety of bread, a platter of ham and cheese, fresh fruit and fruit juices, yogurt and cereals, home baked cakes, cookies, biscuits, muffins, coffee, tea, espresso and cappuccino.
Thank you for complimenting our staff. We welcome feedback on our staff as we need to know that they are providing the level of service that is expected of them in order to give you a memorable experience with us.
So, thank you again for your comments and we hope that the next time you visit Rome, you will stay with us again.
Best regards,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

After much research (and our third trip to Rome) I decided on location over star-rating and I am glad I did to a certain extent.
The Hotel Adriano was perfectly adequate and the location was perfect. The room was clean, functional and after long days walking the city that is all you need!
Unfortunately the breakfast was very disappointing - most of it inedible! Which is the main reason I am reviewing this hotel as average.
There is a modern part of the hotel (which I gathered was all the photos online) and most of the hotel rooms are actually very dated - Make sure you ask for the modern rooms if booking!
Would not stay again unfortunately.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel Adriano.
We are happy that you our location served your needs during your visit in Rome. It is indeed in the heart of the center of Rome. We are a 5-10 minute walk to the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain and a 15 to 20 minute walk to the Colosseum and the Vatican. Also, the center has some of the best shops, restaurants, pizzerias, gelaterias and cafes, not to mention museums.
We are sad to read that you were not happy with our breakfast buffet. In general we get high ratings for it. We also wish you had been more specific, because to say that it was all inedible is quite a statement. Since we serve a variety of items how can they all not be to your satisfaction. We serve scrambled eggs and bacon, hard boiled eggs, croissants and a variety of breads, ham and cheese platter, fresh fruit and fruit juices, yogurt, cereals, home baked cakes, biscuits, muffins,tea, coffee, espresso and cappuccino. We also hope that you reported your dissatisfaction to our staff so that they could do their best to accommodate your needs better.
We encourage our readers to please go to our website as we have photos of all the types of rooms, with their prices,descriptions,square footage, and amenities. In this way, you have a much better idea of what to expect. We hope you will stay with us in the near future and to possibly upgrade your room choice, we are certain you would not be disappointed.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Best wishes,
Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night visit to Rome staying in hotel Adriano. Hotel is in a fabulous location for all of the attractions, a couple of minutes from the Pantheon, a couple more to the Trevi fountain. We also visited the Vatican, Spanish steps, Colosseum and Palatine Hill all by foot without any problems. We would have missed so may other beautiful buildings had we used the public transport so we are glad we chose to walk. Great Gin bar downstairs in the lobby with a huge selection. Check-in and check out was smooth, breakfast was also very nice. Clean towels daily, fridge stocked with soft drinks and a couple of beers and water (chargeable) and a safe is provided in the room (free). Very clean, friendly and a great location. Free maps available from reception also.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAdrianoRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Adriano, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel Adriano. We are also very appreciative for having giving us such a high rating.
We are so pleased that read that your stay with us was fantastic and that our location was fabulous! We think the same but it's great when we receive that feedback from our guests. You are right in that all the major sites are within easy walking distance and that it's the best way to experience Rome, to soak in all the beauty and history of the eternal city.
We are happy that you got to try our bar, The Gin Corner. It is a 3 time award winning bar and we are very proud of it. We can offer more than 100 brands of international gin, which can make your cocktails extraordinary! It's an experience not to be missed.
We know that checking in and out of a hotel can be an unpleasant experience if the staff and hotel are not efficient and accommodating in their approach, offering maps and guidance for your experience in the city.
We are glad that you were pleased with your room, it's cleanliness and all the amenities that come along with it. And last but not least, our breakfast buffet which you enjoyed comes with a variety of items such as scrambled eggs and bacon, hard boiled eggs, croissants and a variety of breads, ham and cheese platter, fresh fruit and fruit juices, yogurt, cereals, home baked cakes, biscuits, muffins,tea, coffee, espresso and cappuccino. In addition, we can accommodate vegans and celiacs by notifying us at the time of booking.
Thank you again for your positive comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews