We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,207)
Filter reviews
1,207 results
Traveller rating
614
477
96
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
477
96
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar great location quiet street minute walk within walking distance via cavour continental breakfast santa maria maggiore hard boiled eggs recommend this hotel shower door train station lovely hotel side street stayed here for nights three star salami
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,207 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely 4 night stay. We had room 66 which had a view over the roof tops.
Rooms were cleaned everyday. Air conditioned although we didnt use it alot.
Loved the roof top bar which opened from 5pm.
Although there isn't a kettle in the rooms there is a kettle, tea/coffee, fruit juice and biscuits in the downstairs lounge.
Only 10 -15 mins walk to the Coleseum and the Roman Forum. Approximately 20 min walk to the Trevi Fountain but you are close to the Termini. We used this to get to St Peter's Square to save time but walked back.
The Hotel staff were helpful with suggesting places to eat, finding the nearest supermarket and explaining the best routes etc.

Our transfer to the airport home failed to collect us. The Hotel concierge, I can't pronounce /spell his name but sounds a bit like Damien, was so kind and helpful. I was getting a bit panicky and he spoke to the transfer firm for us and in the end sorted out a taxi for us that was with us in 3 minutes . We just made our flights in time. So a very big thank you!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, Proprietario at Hotel Colosseum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest Helen L,

thank you for writing us.
Damiano told me about your problem.
This happen when the transfers are booked to unknown
firms, or uncorrect people.I suggest to always call or write to our receptions
and ask informations.
We can arrange a transfer to/from the airport with safe drivers.
I am glad that you had a pleasent stay, and hope to welcome you again in Roma.

Kind Regards
Stefano Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Very helpful and pleasant staff I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Right in the middle of everything in Rome. 10 mins away from train terminal which will be very useful during your trip. Lots of food options and the rooftop lounge at the hotel boasts beautiful views of Rome. Only a 10 minute walk to the Colosseum.

Room Tip: Bring euro charger for your phone. If not the staff will supply you with one for 10$ for the duration of your stay.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chromero7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, Proprietario at Hotel Colosseum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest Chromero7,

thank you for writing us.
Colosseum and the Roman Forum are on the same place, so in 10 minutes you can
arrive there and visit both.Also when you are on our rooftop you can see the Colosseum
that is just in front of you.Some clients don't see immediately because needs to orientate.
I am glad you liked our hotel, and for you next stay please use the promo code, mycolosseum,
on our official website.You will get the best internet rates.Thank you.

Kind Regards
Stefano Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Superb hotel, with helpful friendly staff. The roof-top bar was a wonderful place to meet people, have a drink or just take photo's of sunrise or sunset. The only thing missing was a bar fridge in the room which would have been useful.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quiet and near the roof-top bar
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin20181009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This was a great recommendation from a friend of ours who has stayed a year prior. The hotel is in a great location to main attractions, great restaurants, was clean and spacious and had an amazing rooftop to watch the sunset every evening over an aperitif. Would highly recommend staying here as it was also great value for money.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meaghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, Proprietario at Hotel Colosseum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Dear Guest Meaghan T,

thank you for writing us,
I am happy that the reccomendation met your expectations.
If the temperature will maintain warm, the rooftop bar will remain
open until the end of October.So, still for another month will be possible
to enjoy an aperitif with panoramic view.

For the next time, or for your friends, please check on our official website and use the
promo code, mycolosseum.You will get the best internet rates.

Kind Regards
Stefano Ricci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Hotel Colosseum is a small hotel in Rome near the ancient sites. It is on a small side street, a 15 minute walk from the Colosseum and many of the Roman ruins. Easily walkable area. The hotel is quite clean. The front desk staff are amazing. They were extremely helpful with every detail of our 5 day stay. They helped arrange hotel pick-up with our Viator tours, gave advice on close inexpensive restaurants, and were very friendly. Although breakfast officially starts at 7:30 am, on 2 mornings we had to leave at 6:45 am and breakfast was available in the the dining area in the dining area when we went downstairs at 6:30 am. There is a rooftop bar on the 7th floor that provides a nice view of Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sej60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews