We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“La Dolce Vita in Monteverde Vecchio”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior 1
Exterior 2 Planimetry
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Exterior 1
Exterior 2
Planimetry
Living room 1
Living room 2
Bed room 1
Bed room 2
Balcony 1
Balcony 2
Studio 1
Studio 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Michael R
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita in Monteverde Vecchio”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The bungalow was a tangible earthly delight! The charming and spacious home was perfect for my family's holiday in Rome. The natural jasmine scented outdoor terraces, which included an over-abundant ever-giving lemon tree, provided the ideal location for a morning espresso or quiet respite from a day of touring. Abundant local markets yielded delicious ingredients for home-made breakfasts and aperitifs in the evenings. Genuine neighborhood immersion supplied memorable and authentic experiences making the tourist enclaves feel miles away; we got to know the local purveyors and all treated us warmly and hospitably. Taxi stand or stairs down to Trestevere are just out the door and quickly connect you to all the important tourist spots in the city. On-site laundry was a dream!! The owner was cordial, helpful and very communicative during the entire experience (booking through check-out) - much appreciated. Already missing l'Orangerie and making plans for an encore visit........viaggiare bene!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Neighborhood charm, architectural design of the bungalow, terraced patio - the lemon tree!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful, quiet stay in Trastevere”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in L'Orangerie for 6 nights at the end of April and the beginning of May, and it was absolutely lovely! Giacinto arranged for a driver to pick us up at the airport, and he met us at the apartment. Giacinto showed us around the apartment, and provided some directions/recommendations for the grocery stores, restaurants, cafes taxi stand, etc around the neighbourhood. He also recommended that we check out the neighbourhood's daily market, which runs from 7am-1pm Monday to Saturday (don't miss this, best bread, cheese and produce ever!!).

Giacinto also gave us walking and transit directions to the historic centre. There is a tram stop at the bottom of the hill that takes you into the center in 10 minutes. The Colosseum is about 45 minutes walk away, and the Vatican is about 30 minutes walk. He was also able to provide some advice on how to get to Naples for a day trip to Pompeii, which was very helpful.

The apartment itself was perfect for us. We wanted an escape from the craziness of the city at the end of our very busy days in Rome, and we were able to get that at L'Orangerie. The area is very quiet and calm, and it was great. The apartment was actually a bit bigger than we thought it would be from the pictures, and we were very comfortable. We took advantage of the terraces, and enjoyed sitting outside in the sun. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped, and is stocked with all the basics - salt, pepper, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, tea, coffee, and sugar. The shower is hot, and has excellent water pressure.

Highly recommended apartment, very helpful owners, and a great stay! We will definitely look to stay again if we return to Rome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet area and the local market!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieandA...
Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent five days in this lovely cottage in February. The apartment was very well equipped and nicely furnished, with a little kitchen and living room + two bedrooms + two terraces. Everything worked perfectly and we felt like we received special service from one of the owners, Giacinto. The area was peaceful and there was a small grocery store in the neighbourhood. In a walking distance we found also a lot of restaurants and a big super-market. On Sunday morning there was a lively fleamarket on the other side of the main street (starting in the corner behind the tram stop). We also used the tram 8 daily to get to the city center, it was very convenient and took only 10 minutes. There were a lot of stairs when walking from the tram stop to the apartment, thus this is propably not the best option for the families with very small children or older people. For us (two adults + two teenagers) the stairs were a a perfect way to get our daily exercise after all the pizzas and pastas. We warmly recommend this lovely place in a peaceful part of the Rome!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahMerl...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous home in one of Rome's most exclusive neighbourhoods”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

l'Orangerie is a small villa situated in Monteverde, one of Rome's most exclusive and beautiful neighborhoods with great restaurants, selective wine bars, picturesque food markets and a stunning view over the city. Monteverde is also only ten minutes away from trendy Trastevere with its lively bars and young hip scene. If you are looking for relaxation you can walk within 5 minutes to one of the most beautiful parks in Rome: Villa Pamphili. The usual sites are also easily available via train or bus. The villa is a small stand alone home, elegantly furnished, clean, tasteful and with 2 absolutely wonderful and spacious terraces where you can sit in the sun watching parrots play in the orange trees. The villa is great if you travel with kids as well. The owners are wonderful people who welcomed us personally and did everything to make us feel at home. We stayed for four weeks and will be back for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RudyOk
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in Rome”
Reviewed 11 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

l'Orangerie is a very quiet place to stay in Rome, a little cottage in the centre, at Gianicolo Hill, over the traditional district of Trastevere, it's very good for a family with young children

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing