We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,307)
Filter reviews
1,307 results
Traveller rating
584
527
129
34
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
527
129
34
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vatican city great hotel st peter's square front desk staff minute walk pastries modern hotel breakfast buffet hop on hop off bus within walking distance hotel restaurant other attractions excellent location stayed here for nights small balcony would highly recommend this hotel superior room
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 1,307 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

StarHotel has the best restaurant staff I’ve ever met. Cesare and Alessio are among the kindest employees in the hotel. They helped us prepare a birthday surprise for my dad that we will never forget. They went out of their way to ensure our stay is unforgettable. Definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank reva k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great feedback of our Hotel.
We could not feel more satisfied by your positive comments. We are pleased that you appreciated our hotel and our services but what makes us more proud is your recommendation of our Hotel to future Guests.
Please consider our doors opened to welcome you back soon!
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

If you want a quiet location near bustling Vatican City, this is a great option. The hotel is a 5-minute walk to the Vatican entrance, with shops for souvenirs and essentials along the route. Great complimentary breakfast is served downstairs, the a/c works fantastically (a must in Rome in August!), and the staff is super helpful and happy to accommodate our every request. A taxi ride to the Trevi fountain was just 10 euros. Only drawback - the closest stop for the hop-on/hop-off busses is a 15 minute walk away on the other side of the river.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Slynch8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to read your comments about our hotel. We are happy that your stay in Rome was as pleasant as you expected.
We would be very pleased to welcome you again and we send you our best kindest regards.

Mr Mauro Polmonari
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Lovely hotel and great location. Vatican just a few minutes away and the 64 bus will take you over the river to the other attractions.
Friendly efficient service and a very helpful reception desk.
We had an issue with our wifi so went to reception for help. All sorted in minutes.
Breakfast had fresh fruit, cakes, juices, eggs, wonderful selection of breads and more. Something for everyone.
The room was a good size and immaculately clean.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bela09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and expressing your opinion about Starhotels Michelangelo.
It’ a pleasure for us to read about the positive impressions received during your stay in Rome about our hotel service and Starhotels’ hospitality!
We sincerely hope to welcome you once again in the “Caput Mundi”.
Best regards
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Ok, let me just put it RIGHT out there; this hotel underwhelmed in a big way. From the positive reviews and pictures I saw, I was expecting a LOT more from this stay.

First, the positives. Seriously, the location of the hotel is top notch. You are literally 5 minutes from the Vatican and St. Peters Basilica. We walked through St. Peters courtyard every morning on our way out, and every night on the way in, and it was a visual treat every time. You are like 15 minutes from the Ottaviano Metro Station and 3 minutes from the San Pietro train station. You are again, minutes away from multiple food and gelato spots. There is even an electronics store on the corner (where we went to buy adapters for the 220 outlets after forgetting that tidbit about Europe.)

The staff was VERY nice and helpful. They even booked our return shuttle to the airport for us when I wasn't able because of a day trip we took to Santa Severa. The Maitre D at the the restaurant was pleasant to us when we sat down for dinner around 10 pm (their closing time, so that was nice of them...) and just as pleasant when he greeted us for BREAKFAST the following morning. (The man must put in some HOURS here!) Front desk, bellhops; the waitress even remembered that I like a cappuccino every morning, and brought it without me asking. The staff was great. I'm actually shocked at the amount of "rude staff" comments that I've been reading.

The building itself is beautiful and looks EXACTLY like the pictures.....

BUT, that brings us to the "not so bright spots." Those pictures must have been taken from funny angles. The rooms were TIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIINY. And I mean TINY. I have stayed in little beach bungalows in the Bahamas that were bigger than this. This hotel room was LITERALLY the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. And not just small, but almost completely amenity-less. No fridge (its only for mini bar items). No microwave. No dresser for your clothes. No iron (There is ONE iron for the BUILDING, which you have to request, and you only get an hour to use it.) The light switches for the room weren't labeled, which didn't matter anyway, because the bathroom light stayed on 24 hours a day regardless of which switch you hit. The only way to get the lights to turn off, is to remove your room key from the slot (your room key powers the lights,) but if you did that, you weren't able to use the outlets either, so your phone wouldn't charge while you slept. We had to just keep the bathroom door closed at night to block the light. The view from our room was of an adjacent apartment building and alley next to the building.

The TV is 90% Italian tv, which makes sense, as we ARE in Italy, but there was no option to watch anything in English; ie. no satellite tv. The ONLY TWO, channels that were English were Bloomberg business and some other British news channel. We literally didn't turn the tv ON 4 of the 5 days we were there. What the tv DID have however, was a nuclear bright blue light on the front that had to be covered by a towel, just so we could sleep.

The beds were two twin beds, which didn't BOTHER me, but it would've been nice to have one queen or something. (although a queen bed wouldn't have fit.) What DID bother me about the beds were that the pillows where absolute disasters. They were like airplane blankets stuffed in a pillow case. Limp, thin, useless.

And, if you wanted to leave your absolutely spartan and closet-like room, there was basically NOTHING else to do within the hotel. No spa, no gym, no pool. There was a tiny little bar, and the Eataly Restaurant. They only have one ice machine, and its on the 7th floor, and you have to get your ice with plastic cups.

Trust, you are using your room at the Starhotels Michelangelo to sleep, shower and get dressed.

Oh, and speaking of that shower, the bathrooms, while nice, didn't make sense either. The bidet is obviously the Italian version that shoots water DOWN, instead of UP at the dirty parts. The "shower curtain" for the shower is a glass door that literally covers 1/3rd of the tub, and it swings, so if you bump it, you're now channeling water directly to the floor. Even the hair dryer was weird, as you had to hold the "cool" button down the entire time you were using it.

The Michelangelo gets 2 3/4 of its stars for its prime location and the last 1/4 for its friendly staff. The rooms were just completely underwhelming and the hotel itself is just....boring. This is a hotel for your 3 day business trip, not your family vacation. Despite its visual niceness, and polite staff, I wouldn't stay here again if I came for a VACATION.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Matt_C_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Matt_C_NJ,

we thank you for the time dedicated to us in writing your review about our Starhotels Michelangelo.
We are sorry we did not impress you as we aim to make each and every single stay a wonderful experience. Regarding what you pointed out we take in consideration your suggestion, and we will work in order to improve our service. Hoping to welcome you again in our hotel for your next roman stay, we send you our best regards.

Mauro Polmonari
General Manager
Starhotels Michelangelo Rome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This lovely hotel is located as close to Vatican City and St. Peter's Basilica as you can get. The room was very comfortable and accommodating, even for 3 adults. The local restaurants, cafes and markets are very convenient and everyone is very friendly. It is opposite the entrance to the Vatican Museums, so the immediate area is not overly touristy.

I say the hotel is boring for a few reasons. Breakfast is very average. There is nothing on either the American or Continental buffet that is going to get you very excited. There is no pool, workout facility, or rooftop bar, so if you are looking for something to do when you are not touring the city, you will have to find somewhere outside the hotel to entertain yourself.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Miller C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerMiche, Direttore at Starhotels Michelangelo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanking you for you reviews regarding our hotel, we take note of the mentioned points, in order to work on them and improve our service. Hoping to welcome you once more in our Starhotels Michelangelo, in the meantime we send you our best regards.
Mauro Polmonari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews