We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vetusta Roma

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael A
Northbrook, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My family stayed at Vetusta Roma for 5 nights. Mauro was a great host. He communicated with us before we arrived to find out if we needed assistance with transfers. He gave us some very good tips for our visit and stocked the apartment with basics that made everything very convenient while we were there. The apartment was very convenient to the metro and to several bus routes which made it pretty easy to get around. A great bakery was right across the street with delicious pastries, great cappuccino and cheap prices. The apartment is very comfortable and was reasonably spacious for a party of 5. Two nice bedrooms with air conditioning. The only negative was inconsistent water temperature in the shower, which could go from hot to cold and back in just a few minutes. I would definitely recommend the property and our host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was a very comfortable apartment that was conveniently located
Liked least: Fluctuating shower temperature
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assie55
Gold coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice spacious apartment”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had five nights in this apartment. 3 adults.We had plenty of room and found the apartment spacious and comfortable. Mauro our host was very helpful.The apartment is only a 10 minute walk to the metro and a 15 minutes to the Colosseum.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonNor...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly and helpful owners, comfortable and spacious flat”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for five days, with an 11 and 13 year old. Mauro and his family were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They arranged collection from the airport (my husband has a bad back and it was our first time in Rome, so this really took the stress out of arrival - a door to door service). They explained where to shop locally, covering all the essentials - pizza, ice cream, fresh bread, cheese, veg, meat ( free fresh herbs supplied!), hot chocolate and pastries for breakfast. The local shopkeepers were also very welcoming and helpful, and good humoured with our VERY limited Italian, we even managed to get goat's milk for one of us who is allergic to cow's milk. Mauro also pointed us to Romulo and Remo the first night - a busy, friendly local restaurant, reasonably priced with a good selection of Roman specials.

The apartment itself was spacious, warm for us in February but with tiled floors, high ceilings and air con, so it looked as if it would be cool in summer. The front bedroom windows opened onto a little balcony with cyclamen grrowing in boxes, lovely for watching the world go by. When we ran into trouble with the Wi Fi Mauro's daughter came straight over to sort it.

The location was great for us - ten minutes walk to the Colosseum and Forum, San Giovanni and San Clemente. Via Gallia and nearby streets are well served with buses - we easily got to Termini, out to the catacombs, and across to the West side of the city. Would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The welcome.
Liked least: Took a while to get the hang of the temperature controls for the shower.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJW2901
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best In Rome”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for 4 nights with our family of four. What a great apartment - very spacious and well priced. The lift worked well and the owners met us there and provided all the information we could have wanted before they left.

The apartment had everything was provided including some food in the kitchen which we replaced before leaving. The location is great - on a busy street but there is very little noise with the windows closed. We left the windows open to experience the views / nightlife and got a nice breeze flowing through. Super fast wifi was free. Metro is close and lots of designer shops nearby. Plenty of places to eat and the coffee shop / patisserie across the road was magnificent.

I would not stay anywhere else next time I am in Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eve74
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment and neighbourhood!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Vetusta Roma and completely agree with the stellar reviews. Mauro arranged for a taxi from the airport and patiently awaited our arrival, despite the fact that our flight was delayed by an hour. He and his daughter explained everything about the flat, the neighbourhood, and their lovely city of Rome. They provided maps and restaurant recommendations. They also made us feel completely at home and encouraged us to call them if we had any problems.

My husband and I love the amazing food in Rome but since we were with our teenagers we decided to eat at more budget-friendly restaurants. We went to the two restaurants Mauro recommended a total of 4 times between the 2 places and they were undoubtedly the best meals we had in Rome. Not only were they minutes away (walking), but they were affordable and delicious and the kids loved them.

The apartment itself was very comfortable and the bathroom is huge. The shower was a bit tricky for us to get used to - we finally learned a few tricks to ensure the pilot doesn't go off (essentially, don't turn on the cold water if you can help it). Our master bedroom had AC and so we were very comfortable, although the rest of the apartment doesn't have AC (you still get plenty of breeze with the windows open). The location is great (15 minutes walk to the Colisseum, 8 minutes to the metro, and lots of bus routes close by). Many of the reviews talk about the flights of stairs to the apartment but we are happy to report that there is a workable lift there now.

We would highly recommend this apartment to any families staying in Rome We were simply floored by the great value of the apartment - it must be because it's a little outside of the main areas, but for the price point, it is certainly worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Mauro's hospitality and customer service
Liked least: The beds and pillows were a bit uncomfortable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$160
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing