We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Touch of Home in Downtown Rome”
other travellers have booked this property
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
213 reviews
The Master Bedroom- Photo by TripAdvisor Official Photographer,
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Master Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom - TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Second Bedroom - TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Custom Interiors- TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Artworks-Photo by Owner
The Kitchen-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen - TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen- By Night-Photo by Owner
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-Wide Jacuzzi Tub/Shower-Photo by Owner
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Bathroom-TripAdvisor Photo
The Kitchen-Photo by Owner
The Hallway-TripAdvisor Photo
The TV Lounge/Living Room-TripAdvisor Photo
The Elevator-Vintage Otis Elevator/Lift for 3 people -TripAdvisor Photo
The Entrance-Art Deco Marble Foyer-TripAdvisor Photo
Our 1936 Art-Deco Building-TripAdvisor Photo
Our Street-TripAdvisor Photo
The Master Bedroom for 2 people - Comfortable Memory Foam Mattress-Photo by Owner
Sunny Second Bedroom for up to 3,  garden balcony, view of rooftops and Castelli Romani Hills.
The Sunny Second Bedroom-Hand-Made Cabinetry-Photo by Owner
The TV Lounge/Living Room- TripAdvisor Photo
The TV Lounge/Living Room-TripAdvisor Photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 213 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
WorldlyWa...
Girona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Touch of Home in Downtown Rome”
Reviewed 21 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

What a wonderful place to stay in the heart of Rome. We spent the Halloween weekend in Rome and are certainly glad we chose Classy Central Minerva as our base for seeing the sights.

We normally use hotels when we travel and this was our first (and definitely not last) experience using a rental apartment. Wow, what a difference!! The difference in price between Classy Central Minerva and a decent hotel is negligible when travelling with four people. The benefits you gain staying here are numerous. We could cook our own food whenever we wanted (the store across the street is even open on Sunday mornings), go to another room and read while the kids enjoyed satellite TV after a long day's sightseeing, and jacuzzi bath. You can bring your laptop, Ipods etc. and not have to worry about them while you are sightseeing as the front door locks tighter than a safe.

Mary Therese and Wolfango were exceptionally kind and really went the extra mile to make sure our stay was enjoyable. They really are available 24/7 which gives you some peace of mind in such a big and bustling city.

Pay special attention to their advice and tips when you arrive. We followed several of them: Mama Mia pizzeria (around the corner is quick and has such an entertaining owner that my 10 year-old son went back to have his picture taken with him), when to get to the Vatican and what the current expositions were at the museums. You won't be disappointed if you follow their advice.

Regarding the elevator problem, we discovered that it sometimes doesn't like the 5th floor (where the apartment is located), so all you have to do is get it on the 6th floor and ride it down to the 5th.

I would definitely recommend the Classy Central Minerva to family and friends. You can't go wrong!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2010
Dear Montse and family,

Hello. Thank you for such a kind review, we are very glad that you had such a good stay in Rome and hope you'll be back to see more. I do hope that your daughter got to see the catacombs, too. We hope you have many good memories of your stay, thank you for choosing the Minerva,

Best regards,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUEENSLAND , AUSTRALIA
Reviewed 20 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Nov 2010
Dear Christine,

Hello, thank you for the very nice review. We hope that your time here has been a good one, full of unique memories. Hope you have a good rest of your journey, and come back any time.

Best regards,

Mary Therese & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crumze
Bangor, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay.”
Reviewed 13 November 2010 for a stay in November 2010

My travel buddy and I stayed at the Minerva on our first (of many hopefully) stay in Rome. The apartment was a great place to stay. It was so nice to have the space to spread out, and each have a little privacy in the evenings. The beds were super comfortable, everything was clean and in good working order, and the wireless internet was great. It was especially nice to have the washer to do some laundry so we didn't have to pack so much.

There is a tram/bus stop out in front of the house that made it easy to get around to the places we couldn't reasonably walk to. There are good places to eat near by, and a grocery store right across the street. I'd highly recommend Mama Mia's around the corner. Mary & Wolfgango provided us with a lot of information when we checked in so we had a head start on how to get to the places we wanted to see, and knew where to go to get good food and supplies. They are available 24/7 if you need them, and Mary saved us from being late for a big event after we had trouble with ordering a taxi.

If you are not used to the noises of a big city, you may want to prepare yourself for the sounds that come with a city of this size. I am a country girl so the "noise" from the street, (buses, sirens etc.) made it hard for me to fall asleep the first night. That was quickly resolved with some earplugs, and I slept like a baby all week. :-)

The only minor trouble we had was that the lift (elevator) was not working one day we were there. Thankfully it wasn't a day we needed to move luggage. Mary & Wolfgango obviously have no control over that so I can't fault the rental. But it is something to keep in mind if you or anyone in your party has trouble climbing stairs.

Overall I would highly recommend the Minerva, and if it is available we plan on renting again on our return trip in 2012.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2010
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for your very extensive review. We are glad to know that you got there on time, that day. I want to say that the Minerva has St. Gobain double -paned windows, and we tried our best at souns proofing, however , some residual city noise does arrive, but for people used to to the city it is quite normal. We're glad you enjoyed your stay,

Best regards,

Mary Therese & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staghorn Flat
Reviewed 11 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Nov 2010
Dear Lynne and family,

We hope that you got to see all the things you were interested in seeing, and that you have good memories of yur stay. Thank you much for the nice review, unfortunately the lift/elevator belongs to the building we are in and has yet to be renovated, sorry.

Best regards,

Mary & Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CANADA
Reviewed 7 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2010
Hello,
Thank you for the very nice opinion, we appreciate it. We were glad to have met you, and hope that the rest of your trip up north was just as beautiful as in Rome, that area is very special, with many gorgeous small villages with breathtaking views. We are glad you liked the Minerva, we put our heart and soul into maintaining it at the highest levels of quality for each and every client, and we try to tailor our city tips to help each client with their particular itinerary in Rome and elsewhere in Italy, whether it be a day trip to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast, Assisi or elsewhere. Glad you found the Farmer's Market,a few blocks away, it is the best gourmet market of the city , frequented by the best chefs of the city and the prices can't be beat, besides being a very entertaining experience to visit, also the goods market located just behind it has great buys. You are most welcome to come back anytime, we hope you have great memories of your trip!

Best wishes,

Mary Therese and Wolfango
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing