We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not all great”
Review of Tonnarello

Tonnarello
Ranked #52 of 13,940 Restaurants in Rome
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Trastevere
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

This place had great reviews, especially the Cacio e Pepe, so we tried it. I did not like the pasta. My husband got the carbonara and it was okay, but not great. We did really enjoy our starters, Parma Ham with Buffalo Mozzarella and the hot focaccia. Also the strawberry Panna Cotta was delicious.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Tiffanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 996 of 14,257 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

THE BEST RESTAURANT! We stayed in Rome for only 4 days and came back here twice because it was so good! We were a group of 4 and tried a bunch of things on the menu and everything was perfect!! I would recommend this place to everyone! Prices were veryyy moderate, only problem is to find a table outdoors

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank aleksandraa2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Food was great, especially the mussels. Crowded but worth to wait a bit. Special thanks 2 Pierpaolo and Ciccio!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank aijas2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The wait was sizeable around 19h. Thankfully some prosecco made that time easier. Finally seated after 30 minutes, the menu was pretty standard for Travestere. The service was friendly and efficient. The food was OK but not more than that - it seems that all the starters, pasta and pinza are the same in this quarter. I am not sure why the review for this place are any different than some of the other - the food was pretty average as it has been in all the places that we have been to so far in Rome. Would not go again.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oldtraveller131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

If you like homemade pasta and a casual atmosphere, this is the place for you. We sampled the calamari, artichokes, and various pasta dishes. I tasted Cacio e Pepe all around town, and this was my favorite. The pasta is simply delicious. The restaurant is huge - inside and out, but they do not take reservations. If you go on the early side, you will not have to wait long if at all, but if you go later, be prepared to wait. Nothing fancy, just good homemade rustic Italian food.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tonnarello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing