We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveller rating
187
180
62
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
180
62
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun loungers private beach every evening the cliff beach towels top floor km bay sea sperlonga terrace
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 502 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is rated 4 star and while the location is second to none being right on the beach the hotel itself is certainly not 4 star. I'd rate it at 3 star and I'm being generous here. The rooms are dated and as things get broken they are not being repaired. My bathroom had a cracked wash hand basin with no plug,no top on the wc cistern,rusting lights and some other defects. It's not acceptable in a so called 4 star hotel for this to happen. It needs
updating. The beach is excellent and very well kept as are the sun loungers but please update the actual hotel,it's tired. Would not be in a hurry back,sorry.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Just stayed at Summit in Gaeta with my family for 2 nights & it was an EXTREMELY BAD EXPERIENCE.
The price is high but the service, room and food extremely bad! Like in a cheap hotel. Old room where many things are broken, breakfast looks like in a cantina, lunch was disgusting (we couldn't even eat the food). The only good thing was the coffee and the beautiful view, but there are many other beautiful hotels in the area with the same view.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank mobandeira88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Never felt as ripped off as we did at Summit Hotel! Unbelievable what is being charged for what is being offered. Please go to one of the other hotels in the area (such as Albergo Grand Hotel Le Rocco) where you get something for the price paid!
Beautiful view, but extremely bad condition of room and hotel. Bad service, disgusting food, old rooms. Lunch looked and tasted as if it was bought in a kiosk, breakfast is served like in a hostel.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank S7621BZsarahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Just there for the third time in a row - as many folks around we met the other years over the same period - mostly Italian, families with kids- feel like coming back to the summer home. This is a real paradise - private beach naturally protected by the rocks, is something unique for Italy. Water is very warm, and long shallow entrance so great for kids! Swimming is so nice, as the bay is closed from two sides - so can easily do a couple of km a day though am not a good swimmer. Water crystal clear, you see small fish around! The sand is amazing - white and silk to touch! After experiencing Ischia the space between beach chair feels luxuriously large. The food became even better vs last years though want quite good already - wide choice for dinner, delicious and interesting combinations. Breakfast is vast - this year they also installed eggs place outside so you can get a scramble etc. Our room is very clean and is being cleaned up twice a day by a very caring cleaning ladies. Parking is convenient and sufficient, and is attended during rush hours. Overall personnel is friendly, and is extremely friendly with kids. Owners are also on site so very hands on to ensure all works perfectly. Wi-Fi was also improved and works everywhere. There is the bar at the beach and also right up the beach - folks get what they want and are happy, though it is quite simple, and overall the place is actually for tranquila rather than fun parties- though there is some entertainment from time to time, I personally wish there isn't. Sorry to see some reviews on difficulty to book, if you're up to experiencing the place, book early - I do August in February, sending email always works for me with 24hr reply I get.

Will be certainly back as now always. Thank you Summit!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank YKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The Summit Hotel is built into a cliff and is located about 10 minutes by taxi from the town of Gaeta. It is an hour and a half drive from Rome and an hour from Naples.

The view from the rooms is magnificent giving you views across the bay. And sitting on the balcony you are accompanied by the almost hypnotic sound of the close-by sea gently lapping on to the sandy shore.

It is very much a family oriented hotel yet even as a couple we loved it. They have a kiddies club and put on family events at night time on the terrace.

The rooms are airy and most have a sea view. I understand that they refurbish some rooms each winter. We had a lovely room that was spotlessly clean and a gorgeous view.

You step from the hotel directly on to the beach – no walk required.

The beach is fantastic with the finest golden sand I have ever encountered and the sea is just divine. Very safe for young children (and poor swimmers such as me) as it gently deepens and it is about 100 metres before it gets up to waist height. The water is crystal clear with not a single stone or rock to be found.

Yachts and motor boats seem to gather in the bay during the day but they cannot come close to or visit the beach.

When you go to get your beach towels from the life guards the first day, they also assign you a location on the beach for the duration of your stay. You get fresh towels every day. No need to worry about getting up at dawn to book your sunbathing spot! Wander to and from it any time you desire.

It has an lovely terrace where you can have a fine breakfast and lunch. It is also a relaxing location to have a few well-deserved ‘sun downers’ as the sun sets behind the cliff in the early evening (around 6:30ish).

If you are in real lazy mode, you can toddle up to the bar at lunch time and get a slice of pizza, etc and bring it back to your sun loungers to picnic on the beach.

We ate in the top floor restaurant twice and the food is very good and excellent value for a hotel – it is about the same price as most of the restaurants in the town itself. The view from the top floor restaurant is spectacular – the entire bay opens for you to see.

The staff are professional and very courteous. In particular, the bar staff are excellent and very friendly.

One thing to bear in mind, is that the taxi service in Gaeta itself seems to be quite scarce. We found a reliable and excellent taxi driver whom we used every evening to get into and home from the town – call 0039 328 467 5009 and ask for Luigi. He arrived at the time we wanted to be collected from the hotel and whenever we had finished in the town at night we would call him and he would collect us within 10 minutes. The cost was €15:00 one-way and worth every cent.

I adored this hotel and its location. Lapping up the sun’s rays on a magnificent beach, cooling down with a swim in the beautiful Mediterranean Sea, dining on the roof-top balcony in the balmy night, sipping a night-cap on your balcony – what more do you want for a relaxing sun holiday?

Room Tip: All rooms with views are good.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeBrennan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews