We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good service”

Caupona - Pompeii Restaurant
Reserve with
Caupona - Pompeii Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 215 Restaurants in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$57
Description: "Caupona" (means restaurant in Latin), just like in ancient Pompeii existed long cauponae 89, the most famous is that of Lucio Vetuzio Placido, one we faithfully reconstructed, perfectly decorated with hand-third style frescoes and meticulously reproduced, here for the first time, you can eat the typical Roman dishes taken from: "De Re conquinaria", the famous book of ancient recipes taken from chef Marco Gavius ​​gastronome Apicius who lived at the time of Tiberius, also we offer good wine Pomepianorum, Fralernum, and "Mulsum" (Wine of the ancients, with ginger and honey, spices ...) eat in terracotta plates, goblets, vases, all as in ancient Pompeii ... Nestled along the wooden tables, soft lighting and a harmonious music will accompany you throughout lunch or dinner, you will hear the ancient tools like the lira and the cedra, everything to make you live a 'unique experience, unique ... just a stone's throw from 'entrance of the excavations ... where you can breathe the air of antiquity ...
Restaurant details
Description: "Caupona" (means restaurant in Latin), just like in ancient Pompeii existed long cauponae 89, the most famous is that of Lucio Vetuzio Placido, one we faithfully reconstructed, perfectly decorated with hand-third style frescoes and meticulously reproduced, here for the first time, you can eat the typical Roman dishes taken from: "De Re conquinaria", the famous book of ancient recipes taken from chef Marco Gavius ​​gastronome Apicius who lived at the time of Tiberius, also we offer good wine Pomepianorum, Fralernum, and "Mulsum" (Wine of the ancients, with ginger and honey, spices ...) eat in terracotta plates, goblets, vases, all as in ancient Pompeii ... Nestled along the wooden tables, soft lighting and a harmonious music will accompany you throughout lunch or dinner, you will hear the ancient tools like the lira and the cedra, everything to make you live a 'unique experience, unique ... just a stone's throw from 'entrance of the excavations ... where you can breathe the air of antiquity ...
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

The greeting and service at Caupona was very good. I chose the ancient menu while my girlfriend had the select meat menu. The ancient menu seemed a bit of a gimmick but the food was all very well presented. Would definitely recommend the meat menu!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank 474bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Caupona, a restaurant located just a short walk from the ancient ruins of Pompei, serves Roman inspired cuisine. Presented in a modern style and constructed with unique ingredients, every dish is delicately and lovingly designed to bring ancient recipes and ingredients back to life in a way that can be appreciated by a modern, discerning palate. The wine that is made using an ancient Roman recipe helps enhance the flavour of every dish and add a level of sophistication to every course that will astound with its complexity. The staff are always friendly attentive and eager to please. The owner, Francesco is always enthusiastic to encourage every diner to immerse themselves in a unique and personal Roman culinary journey. Always a pleasure and I am very lucky to be able to experience the joy that is served here on a frequent basis.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank ChrisC9005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

I have booked this place in advance after reading reviews in the "Fork" app as it looked lovely and was close to the archeological site in Pompeii. It was a great experience! There were 6 of us, and we went for lunch at 13:00. Excellent staff, beautiful interiors (all done up like Roman villa), comfortable seating, pretty courtyard. We were encouraged to try Roman costumes to add to the experience, which we did - it was great fun. There was a special menu that consisted of the ancient dishes but we were not brave enough to try them. We had excellent meal - very tasty food, presented like in the best London restaurants, very good service. I would recommend this place for a nice family lunch after the morning looking at the archeological site.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PA5899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a Sunday and desperately tried to find something nice for lunch. My friend found this restaurant ( don’t get mislead by the entrance walk) and we tired around the corner and entered the old Pompeii times :) it has an atmosphere as if you could eat in Pompeii back in the days. We were stunned! The staff was super kind and cute dressed in old Pompeii cloth. The first time in Italy I found the restaurant decor taste really authentic and truly nice! The food is not cheap but we enjoyed an amazing white wine recommendation from the rare around Pompeii and with the surrounding and music we felt relaxed and happy :) after that the hike through the real old Pompeii could start :) thank you!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank anna22muc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

I went in this restaurant 4 days ago. I really like it because the place is very suggestive and it is based by Roman. The staff is friendly and the food is very particularly in fact I chose the Ancient Menu. I shall this “Caupona” to everyone

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DorartaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caupona - Pompeii Restaurant also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Caupona - Pompeii Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing