We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Duomo di Napoli
from US$43.70
More Info
from US$39.10
More Info
from US$80.60
More Info
from US$97.80
More Info
Reviews (2,334)
Filter reviews
2,334 results
Traveller rating
1,382
756
180
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,382
756
180
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful cathedral patron saint side chapels royal chapel main church worth a visit narrow streets blood crypt gennaro baptistery architecture century napoli saints nave facade
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,334 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018

This is a beautiful, ornate cathedral in Naples, and as has been said many times there are so many to choose from, so for religious people, those who like art and those who love architecture, there is lots to be seen. Like the rest this has all that you want to see, religious iconography and a mix of Baroque, Gothic and Byzantine art/architecture. The chapels are amazing and writing this review after a couple of weeks makes you realise that it is difficult to distinguish between many of them. It is just set back on a main road and it is difficult to see the dome from outside, but it can be seen from miles around.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank SteveS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Yes, Duomo - the cathedral - is the main church of Naples: majestic facade, impressive high columns and ornamented ceiling, nice altar and some chapels. But yet it is another big church. For me the real treasure is hidden left to the nave - there you enter Basilica Santa Restituta. Formally, those are two separate places, so I place my review elsewhere, but I think it's worth mentioning in a review of the cathedral.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank KrisD_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

As we entered the Duomo a man approached us and asked of we wanted a guide. Our default answer in "no thanks" but he (Dino) wasn't accepting that and explained that he was a volunteer and there was no charge but we were free to make a donation at the end. We went for it and it was great! We learnt so much more than we could have on out own and Dino's knowledge and passion were terrific.
In summary - lovely cathedral, stunning chapels and get a volunteer guide if you can.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Stevewfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Just like I said - just another cathedral. It definitely has nothing on domes in Milano, Venice, Florence. It is perhaps because of location - I am always impressed by architecture and views from outside, in Naples the Dome (and other cathedrals) are just jammed into the cramped city environment so you can’t really appreciate the beauty.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank konstantin_houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Daughter saw it on TripAdvisor as one of the must see in Napoli.. Absolutely stunning throughout from statues to windows to organ.. Too many to mention. Loved the gentle choir playing in the background whilst showing the pope's visit on big screens and the thousands of visitors inside and out. Do visit the crypt also

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 613vivib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews