We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveller rating
374
355
94
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
355
94
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street great location train station bunk beds amalfi coast balcony overlooking the street recommend this hotel people watching piazza tasso yogurt central location stayed here for nights street noise small room minute walk would definitely stay here again lovely balcony
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 862 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

The hotel & the rooms themselves are average but comfortable, but the location is very ideal. Very close to the centre of Sorrento and only a short walk to the harbour for ferries to Capri, Naples etc. However, I find it quite frustrating when hotels ask you to hand in the room keys whenever you step out of the hotel, I don't understand this routine and the benefits for the hotel?

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Our first time in Sorrento and wont be our last ! This was a little oasis in the heat. Very clean, great helpful friendly staff. Lovely breakfast will defiantly recommend.
Peter and Truda Kelly
Canterbury England

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank mercurycars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stayed in Sorrento for 3 nights and the hotel was great! The rooms are a bit small but were exactly what we expected. They were very clean and the beds were comfortable. Also, the location can't be beat! They have a beautiful rooftop patio that has great lounge chairs and tables however you can't bring your own food or drinks up...you're only allowed to purchase their food and drinks and bring it up...wasn't pleased so we never used the rooftop.
Staff were friendly and helpful...provided us with directions and assistance when needed but didn't really have restaurant recommendations.
Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank d0ubleentendre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We booked into the Sorrento City Hotel on Saturday 1st August 2015 and were intending to stay 9 nights. We were allocated room 102 on the first floor facing onto the main street. The room was very small with no drawers or a suitcase stand. There was a half wardrobe to hang clothing with the bottom half given over to suitcase storage. Despite their website stating the street is closed “The main avenue is pedestrian area from spring to autumn” this is not the case and the noise from motorcycles makes it impossible to get a peaceful night.
The air-conditioning is ineffective and the heat pumped out by the mini fridge at the bottom of the bed completely cancels out any cooling. The room was sweltering hot.
I am disabled and after taking off my leg brace I can only access the bathroom by crawling on my hands and knees. The tile floor was filthy and I had black hands knees and feet.
One night was enough and we booked out the following morning but then the fun really started! The owner manager insisted on payment for all 9 nights and cited her booking conditions requiring 7 days notice of cancellation. She wasn’t there and lengthy telephone conversations ensued between the reception clerk who had limited English and directly with ourselves. We eventually were forced to pay for 7 nights in order to leave.
The website mentions satellite TV but this has no English speaking channels not even CNN or BBC news.
The breakfast is Continental only and is inadequate to set you up for a days sight seeing.
Basically this establishment has a cheek calling itself a hotel and is more like a budget hostel for back packers charging inflated prices. The only good aspect is the location in the town centre ideal for visiting bars and restaurants.

Stayed: August 2015
3  Thank Normhbuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sorrentocity, Proprietario at Hotel Sorrento City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear guest,at least it seemed so , until the evening before Your departure, I have accepted more than a change in your programme
Morevorer we didn't ask you a penalty for the reduction of your stay. The evening before the usual change in your programme, you were informed that in case of of no show or a departure before the due time, you would have paid the total amount,as as on the hotel confirmation was specified....the room was booked on march 2015! You replied me that this was not a problem at all, as the person you were accompaining for his trip, paied. You also told us that it was really strange for you this change, room was perfect, loction , Sorrento Capri, everything! But it was not your interest the paiment as your client paied all, you were just accompaining him as i was not able to travel alone.


I wonder why you have changed your mind. It was just before your departure.
I wonder why you have proved to be a perfect mr.Hyde you menaced us, you offended us. You almost hit the receptionist
These were your words: I will ruin you on trip advisor. We don't want to PAY
You should have noticed that we granted you a two night discount, spontaneously.


Dear Sir...., Tripadvisor was created to help travellers not to blackmail hotel owners. You must give real opinions not something just aimed to your personal revenge, expeciallly when it is not the reality
regards

Roberta di leva
hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The location is terrific. Right on the main street of Sorrento very close to the square and the train station. There is a very nice breakfast available in the morning. Also a lovely roof terrace that overlooks the main street of Sorrento. The front desk was helpful with information on Pompeii and beaches for us to visit. They also recommended a closeby restaurant which was very good and offered us free limoncello!

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viaggi399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews