We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (636)
Filter reviews
636 results
Traveller rating
231
259
96
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
259
96
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lemon grove roof terrace evening meal train station air conditioning basic hotel other guests minute walk excellent location head waiter bay of naples night porter half board towels changed daily town centre balcony room piazza tasso
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 636 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Our first feeling of the hotel wasn't great and we simply did not feel at home or welcome. The hotel is basic and okay considering it is one of the cheaper hotels in Sorrento.

Firstly, you have to pay for wifi which I believe is the biggest joke ever. I have been travelling through Europe for 6 months and have been through many many accommodations and have never had to pay for wifi. Yes, they give you one device for free.. But I am travelling with a friend.. Therefore we each have a phone and laptop each. So I got my phone for 'free' but it was €5 per each other device, per day! And we needed both our phones and tablets because we are university students and need to study on our tablets and then use our phones for contacting family, social media and uploading pictures etc. I'm sorry but paying for wifi is absolutely ridiculous. At least if you are going to charge for wifi, give each guest one device for free! So when I was first told by one of the ladies with short hair that we had to pay for wifi, I simply said that there are 2 of us in the room, so how come each of us don't get one free device.. And her reaction was disgusting, rude and defensive. She made me so mad and belittled at how rude and abrupt she was for no reason. This put me off for the rest of my stay here and I did not feel comfortable going to her for any questions. And it was extremely frustrating that we were paying for wifi that barley worked in our room! It would constantly drop out or the hotel wifi would log you out and then you have to log back in again.

Most of the other staff were pleasant, especially one lady who was extremely helpful in helping us book a tour.

The breakfast was reasonable, with lots of options. The room does not have a fridge or kettle which was extremely frustrating, especially since the food is so expensive in Sorrento. The location is good, close to the centre and with many places to eat, but are expensive and not the greatest food. The air conditioning was very good and so was the view of the water from Level 6.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Miss Nicole,
thank you for your review and for your nice words regarding the view from level 6, our pleasant staff and good location.
We are sorry you had problem with wi fi, but, as for all our individual guest, you had 1 wifi free per room for one device for the full period. In case guests need more than one there is a supplement to pay otherwise everybody might be on interenet at the same time and it could be too slow and bed connection.
We are sorry you were frustating about no fridge and kettle in room but we suppose you saw when you booked that no where is wrote that we have them. Anyway hotel's bar is open 24 hours a day for any necessity as fresh bottle of water, ice, tea or coffee.
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The hotel is located close to the main shopping area .The train and bus station are less than 10 minutes walk. The room was clean ,comfy , quiet and cleaned every day(lovely soft white towels)The staff were friendly,polite and helpful nothing was too much trouble gave information on trains local markets (Tues). Meals were excellent with a range of meat ,pasta ,fish,salad and vegetarian choices. We even had a Gala Meal with music. Excellent views from the roof terrace.Train travel cheap and stations close to Pompei and Herculaneum. Buses to Amalfi and other towns along the coast. Plenty of choices for ferries to Capri and Amalfi coast. The town of Capri is 10minuets bus or tram ride from the port. We didn't make the trip to Vesuvius but there were buses outside the train station at Pompei .Certainly go back to Hotel La Meridiana again.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Mrs Julie,
thank you so much for your lovely words!
We are so glad having a part of the completion of your nice journey in Sorrento!
If you will come back in near future we hope to see you again!
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015

Basic Hotel, but very clean, great staff, excellent position for trains and buses, great view from the roof terrace, and really central for the center of Sorrento, room 524 great views to Vesuvius and over the bay of Naples, and a sun trap from 4 till sunset! Great wee café just round the corner serving freshly made Italian food and good Italian beer,[ Star Beer]. Food in the hotel was good home made Italian food. Cant fault it for the price!

Room Tip: High level with sea view
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinty12013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear guest
thank you for your review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in Sorrento!
We look forward to welcoming you again in near future!
Best Regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2015

This hotel was booked through Thomson Tours and was a total disappointment. In fact this hotel made our stay in Sorrento most uncomfortable. It was definitely not a 3 star as they told it was. Talking to Emma (Thomson Guide for this trip), she confirmed the hotel was a 2 star which we would never have booked. We were not looking for a 5 star and thought by USA standards a 3 star would be similar. It definitely far from it! We have used multiple travel companies throughout the world and this was short of a disaster.

Cons:
1. Air conditioning did not work efficiently. Something was definitely wrong with their air conditioning system. Our room never truly cooled and it was 90 plus degrees outside. The first few days it only ran from 6 - 9 am and then 2 pm to 3 am. It never felt cool. We had a total of 3 rooms and they refused to change rooms, except for one of ours. Moving to the 2nd floor did not help them at all. The management did not care and the Assistant Manager was totally rude when we expressed our concerns.
2. On discussing the air conditioning issue our Thomson Guide Emma suggested we purchase fans to make our stay comfortable. She also informed us that she did not have air con at her own residence. What was she trying to imply?
3. The hotel management also suggested we purchase fans. This would not be tolerated in the USA as there was no customer service.
4. Thomson refuses to accept credit cards from the USA because they do not possess the micro chip. We used American credit cards all over Italy and UK without the micro chip without any problem. Is Thomson's policy to only honor credit cards with chips?
If that is the case, they need to inform potential customers from the USA that rule.
5. Thomson refused to change our hotel starting the island was full. We discovered there were plenty of rooms, just not ones secured by them.
6. We have used multiple travel agencies and services (Cosmos, Collette, Tauck and others) and have been extremely satisfied with their service. We will NEVER use Thomson Travel Services or this Hotel again as they both need customer service training. The hotel needs total updating especially their air conditioning system.
6. We were miserable for 7 days and never were comfortable or cooled down in the hotel room. Other travelers expressed the same sentiments.
7. Internet access was deplorable.
8. Shower stall was tiny. Thank goodness we are slim!
9. There was a packet of soap and one packet which was labeled shower gel/shampoo. Very strange.

Pros:
1. Antonio in the restaurant tried to make everyone happy. He and his staff worked hard.
2. Food was fair, plentiful and average.
3. The evening staff gentleman and woman were beyond exemplary, unlike the manager and assistant manager during the day.

We are seasoned travelers and truly thought a 3 star (which this is NOT) would be fine since we planned to use the room for sleeping as we explored the surrounding area. It is so very sad when you cannot get a decent night's sleep on a seven day holiday.

Our advice is to not stay in this hotel or trust Thomson Tours.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PositiveFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore generale at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2015

Good morning from Hotel La Meridiana, we are very injured for your words. We suggest when you book the hotel is better you see total amenities. You wrote many no corrects information.
1) on the Thomson Brochure there is very clear that air conditions is extra charge at cost of € 10.00 per room per day and works in the morning from 6am-9am and 2pm-2am, but the management don't charge anything, nobody guest payed for that in 2015.
2) the management at moment you didn't like to stay at La Meridiana, told to Thomson rep there wasn't any problem incase you and your friends decided to leave it, but you didn't want to pay another hotel difference and you and yuor friend told in reception that if the hotel didn't make what you want you in the future will write a bad review on tripadvisor.THAT IS UNACCEPTABLE FOR THE MANAGEMENT
3) the hotel in that date was full but in any case we changed your room and you decided to leave the new room at your frends.
4) we don't know if Thomson rep suggested you to buy fans, certnally we not have done it.
5) we think you want to spend a 5 stars holidays saling and booking a 3 stars hotel and arrangiaments.
Finally we are very glad that a lot of guestes, who stayed in the same period, wrote a very good reviews about us.
Regards
Roberta Pizzella
The Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

People talk about this hotel as being basic but I'm not sure what else there needs to be here. I've never stayed in a luxury hotel but don't feel I would ever need to when lower cost hotels as as good as this.
Excellent staff, so polite and helpful, a very clean room; thank you to the maid who did a superb job every day, so friendly too.
Good food, ample breakfast if yours is a B&B deal. Toast, breads, cakes, pastries, meat, cheese, fruit, even scrambled egg, hot dog style sausage & bacon. The juice is lovely, as well as hot milky coffee or tea. We stuck with the coffee as we found the water not quite hot enough to brew good tea.
Evening meals were very good. Chosen from a menu in the morning, there is something for everyone, salads, pasta, which was amazing, then meat or fish dishes & dessert; the cakes were yummy! Drinks in the evening were an extra charge; it was so hot the week we were there we pretty much stuck with water all week to quench our thirst.
Our room was spacious and had lots of storage for hanging clothes, plenty of hangers too, as well as drawers, so many we didn't need them all. The bathroom was a good size, the shower perhaps a tad small but fine for the week, great water pressure; always plenty of hot water. Fluffy white towels changed every day, nice and big too even the hand towel was big enough to wrap around my hair to dry it. They are not usually and I tend to bring my own to do that, didn't need to use it this holiday. Plenty of soap and shower gel left to use if you don't bring your own.
The cold water runs very cold and we drank this all week with no tummy upsets so no need to buy water unless you want it from a fridge.
We had a balcony overlooking the lemon grove and the sea as we were on the top floor corner. We could sit out all morning in the shade until the sun came around, it was bliss. Then in the evening we watched the sun setting across the bay, so beautiful and Vesuvius in the vista too.
Small tv in the room with just BBC world news and a CNN channel in English but who goes on holiday to watch tv! There is a small room safe that you pay a deposit of 50 euros for the key then get 40 back. The staff will take a credit card swipe if you don't want to leave a cash deposit. The safe was just wide enough to put an iPad mini in, just as well as that's what we had! The a/c was good, it wasn't the type that felt freezing when you walked inside the room but was constant and kept the room a perfect temperature after being in what was a bit of a heatwave, even the locals said it was hot!
The position of the hotel was also very good a few mins walk into the centre to the pretty old town streets. At the top of Via Capasso, going past the school and the police station, turn right to walk along Corso Italia to the centre or turn left for some local shops useful for snacks, drinks etc.
The bus & train station is even closer, very handy for getting to transport for days out to Pompeii (train 2.20 euros each way, amazing) and to Positano & Amalfi by the bus. We used the City sightseeing bus which was not busy like the local bus. I appreciate it is more expensive but it had wonderful a/c and no problems getting a seat for what is a long time on a bus.
Walk the opposite way along Via Capasso past the Museo Correale di Terranova and you will come to a lovely viewpoint which looks across the bay to Naples and Vesuvius, great for sunsets; plenty of benches there for a sit down whist you enjoy the view.
Overall a fabulous stay, excellent all round. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony for a lovely place to sit and relax.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank big-blue-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberta_pizzella, Direttore at Hotel La Meridiana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear guest,
we are so proud of such an overwhelmed review!
Thank you so much for your detailed description of our Hotel. This could help other traveller who would book our Hotel.
We are so glad taht you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to see you soon!
Best regards
The Manager
Roberta Pizzella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews