We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
134
166
121
69
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
166
121
69
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant attached to the hotel the cliff the hotel staff rooms are small ferry port sun terrace the bus evening meal town centre breakfast staff fifth floor boiled eggs three star yogurt piazza tasso bars and restaurants the main square
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Really good location, right on the harbour. There are a few ways to get up to the town. 1 euro in the lift(1.90 return). approx 130 steps, a bus that takes you right to the train station for less than 3 euros per couple, long walk round the road. Large coaches can't get down to the port due to the narrow cobbled road. Lovely seaview rooms but very lumpy pillows. Excellent shower. Good choice at breakfast time. Evening meal is 3 choices of a starter and 3 choices of a main, dessert is usually a piece of cake. I particularly enjoyed the mussels and seafood salad as a starter but unfortunately the vegetables were very overcooked. A couple of days they let me have 2 starters because I didn't want any of the mains. The staff are really attentive and friendly.

Room tip: 303 has a sea and Vesuvius view
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HunterAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We stayed one night as our first night on a 4 day anniversary trip of Amalfi Coast and Capri in October 2017. This was our first time to Sorrento and the location and hotel would have also worked perfectly as a "home base" for all of our trip if we had opted to take day trips from this central location. We had a simple, but beautiful, spacious room overlooking the water with a giant patio - I could have stayed for a week and enjoyed the beautiful, lively city and amazing food, beach clubs and access to this coastal paradise. I hope we get to sometime and would choose the Hotel il Faro again.

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank Kay Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concierge_Ilfaro, Manager at Hotel il Faro, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Key,
thank you for your review, we wait you agan for next holidays.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

Located in the port we were nice and centrally located with lots going on. The hotel room was large and clean but very tired and dated. The shower was good but the grout in the tiles was dirty and old. We had half board but I'd recommend room only. Breakfast was quantity not quality. Coffee from a machine was horrible and fruit juice in a plastic cup! So we went out for breakfast to the lovely cafe in the port. Evening meal was limited to a choice of three starters, three mains and one dessert. Obviously all prepared on a budget. We felt like the poor relations among the other diners. One pudding was a slice of Vienetta! So we spent a lot of money eating out as one of the reasons to go to Italy is the food. Hotel staff were very nice and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Staff very friendly, breakfast was continental evening meals ware fantastic. Had on inland room which over looked the main road from the square down to the port but this was more fun than it sounds. Overall a great friendly hotel and would go back.

Room tip: Upper levels with a sea view are the best rooms
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 624iano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights in Oct with my Mum. The hotel is located in the marina across from the ferry boats and was a great place to stay. Very convenient ( 2 min walk) from the ferries for Capri, Positano & Amalfi. There was a bus right outside to take you up to the main square in Sorrento or the station(This was Euro1.30 pp) or you could walk along the front & get a lift up to the town (Euro1.00 pp). We walked back down to the hotel but you could do a return journey if you wanted.
We paid extra for a sea view room which was well worth it (room305) as it had been recently refurbished. The sun terrace on the roof was lovely for watching the sunset & most people took their own drinks up there.
This is a 3 star hotel and I have rated it very good. The only thing that lets it down is the breakfast. Its "OK" but nothing more. The coffee & juice were very poor and Im sure would be very easy to improve & the rest was pretty basic. Having said this, it wasn't a deal breaker and was adequate.
One of the nicest things about staying here was that it just seemed much more peaceful to be below the town & by the harbour.

Room tip: definitely upgrade from a standard room (they looked very small & dark at the back of hotel) Room 305 was lovely.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sueag2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews