We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$286
US$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$396/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Mare(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
Book now, pay at stay
US$826
US$788
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Magi House Relais(Sorrento)
US$309
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$422
US$407
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$509
US$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$514
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$671
US$479
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,694)
Filter reviews
2,694 results
Traveller rating
1,756
645
179
68
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,756
645
179
68
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscascading poolshalf boardsea viewbay of naplespool arealovely hotelour honeymoonpoolside restaurantevening mealamazing viewsthe cliffplenty of sunbedspool attendantshort strollpublic areasmount vesuviustown centre
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 2,694 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We have just returned from a wonderful week here. We went with Jet2holidays and the deal included a sea view room and half board - both both which are well worth it as others have commented. The hotel layout is fascinating and very characterful - this was one of the things that attracted us in the first place as we wanted it to feel italian and not like a chain. We were pleased with our room 923 which had a fairly individual layout and great views of Sorrento and Vesuvius.
The staff here are brilliant - not obtrusive but very available. It was really nice to have a bar service by the pool and not with plastic glasses! The pool area is fabulous and in the summer you can still be outside in the sun until 7pm. The evening half board is extensive and changes everyday - it is waiter service - not a buffet - which was nice. You dine outside overlooking Sorrento and as the sun sets Sorrento goes pink. It is a beautiful sight.
The only negative was having to pay €23 to park our hire car. TOP TIP: don't hire a car. The combination of Italian driving style and the coast road is not for the faint hearted. There are lots of trips available and easy access to public transport so save your money!

Room Tip: Ask to be on floors 9/10 or 11 with a sea view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear Samantha,

Thank you very much for choosing the Grand Hotel Capodimonte for your holidays and for sharing your review here on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to learn you weren’t disappointed with the hotel and that you appreciated our public areas, the views and the service at the Snack bar and by the restaurant.

Thank you again for your wonderful remarks and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The review i will break down into sections

Firstly the hotel...

Set in the cliffs the hotel is very eye catching as you approach the foyer set in an almost cave like setting looks smart and well presented and maintained.

The reception are is spacious clean and well presented and leads to a number of terrace areas, bar and a lounge area for relaxing.

The rooms are clean and again presented well and the decor is tasteful yet typically Mediterranean as you would expect for the are, tiles are not dated in the rooms but if you are seeking a modern hotel then your first impressions would suffer as it presents as almost periodic.

The beds were twin beds which was a disappointing element as i quite like my wife!

Linen and facilities were changed daily and the room was cleaned daily by housekeeping.

There is a mini bar selection in the room although i felt the prices to be a little high for the mini bar, you accept it because you are on holiday and its the norm.

In the mini bar expect to pay £4 for a bag of crisps(chips), £6 for a beer and £4 for a soft drink.

There is a small shop located to the front of the hotel which sells the usual drinks etc at a fraction of the cost you will pay for the mini bar prices.

Moving onto the pool area.....

The pools are a waterfall effect set at differing levels and they provide towels (1 per person) free of charge.
The pool area is clean and again very well presented and the surrounding shrubs and plants very well looked after. It really is quite picture perfect overlooking the Bay of Naples with Mount Vesuvius in the background.

Drinks from outside of the hotel are not allowed at the pool area, there was a sign requesting people not to bring things to the pool side, in addition the pool had no diving, jumping and no inflatable items of any sort were allowed in the pool

This was disappointing because i had no where to ride my unicorn!

Whilst i can appreciate the hotel may be pushing for a sophisticated Italian Riviera appeal i think it has forgotten that people go on holiday to relax and maybe have some fun, i felt a little sorry for some of the families with children as they did not seem able to let loose and go a little crazy, the pool area is quiet and as such kids could not quite be maybe as free spirited as they liked.

Moving to food and drink....

We stayed half board for the week and could not fault the choices really, the evening meal was table service and from a set menu that rotated through the week there was adequate choice with portion sizes big enough to satiate.

The drinks are not included and at dinner the prices ranged from £6.50 for a beer, £8 for a glass of wine, £25 bottle of wine, £4 soft drink.

These prices are reflected through the hotel in the bar area and in the pool snack bar too.
We ate lunch at the hotel one day and the pizza and chips was a very respectable £20 including a soft drink.

Service at the hotel.....

The dining staff and the bar staff are faultless, polite and very efficient
The reception staff not so! They present as aloof and frosty and the life guard is clearly employed as a sort of fun police, the first activity of fun in the pool and he is up with a wagging finger!

The housekeeping staff although good at the job have an issue with integrity, our friend had bought some shoes and had left the bag and receipt out after returning from a day out the receipt and bag had gone.

When this was raised the reception staff sent the housemaid to their room and she denied taking the bag or the receipt, however......the next day she had left the service cupboard open and what was on full view?

Yes bags from local shops and outlets that she had collected from other rooms!

Our fried had to return the shoes due to a manufacture fault on them and luckily the staff in the shop were excellent and changed them without the receipt.

Sorrento.....

Beautiful city with plenty on offer for everyone, the city is located a short walk from the hotel and is a hive of activity on an evening, bars and restaurants appeared a lot cheaper than the hotel and some advertised beer and wine from as little as £3.

There a shops with a huge range of items from designer fashion branded to the back street local shop, a word of advice though would be to shop around as many on the main street have inflated prices compared to those in other areas.

Things to do....

From day trips to events i felt there was a huge range of things to do, we took a trip to Capri which is reasonably priced at £30 return ticket, and whilst the island is beautiful it is worth noting that at times Capri plays host to people such as Christiano Ronaldo, Roman Abramovich et al

As such we did not account for paying £10 yes £10 for a coca cola and all four of us were surprised at the bill after our mid day refreshment stop.

I would highly recommend Pompeii and Herculaneum, the trip cost £56 each and a further £40 for entry, however going with a guide is the best way to take this experience in we were very lucky to get a guide called Anna, i do not know if she can be requested but if she can then ask
She is brilliant and very passionate and knowledgeable it was an amazing experience.
A word of caution though, you will need a hat, good comfortable footwear and some water as there is no breeze and the temperature when we visited was in the 37-39 degree range.

In summary an amazing holiday with our best friends, fabulous location, beautiful views, plenty to do and see
Sorrento is a 5 star city, the history of the area again 5 star the reason i have graded this review as 3 stars is because i feel the hotel can do a little better to make the atmosphere and service of some of its staff better.

Staff to look out for - Carmichael - brilliant service, Luca again good service and sense of humour and chap in the bar that looks like Bruno Mars

Room Tip: Higher floors for the views!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Gray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Gray,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review following your stay at the Capodimonte.

We appreciate your compliments and detailed insights into every little aspect of your experience, full of useful feedback we can use to further improve our standard of service.

We would like to take this opportunity just to clarify some of the points you have raised.

The restrictions for the use of the pool are obviously set up to ensure the safety and tranquility of all our guests; we do understand that families with children would sometimes feel them a bit too strict, but the great majority of our guests prefers a safe and quiet environment to relax in the sun. The lifeguard does a great job in ensuring everybody has a wonderful experience.

As per the housekeeping staff, they are all very trustworthy; as it was already explained to your friend, they only removed the paper bag because it was found on the floor next to the bin. We apologize anyway if they weren’t able to find the receipt.

Thank you again for all your travel tips for Sorrento and the surrounding area, we are glad you had the chance to explore this wonderful region and we do hope that you will give us another chance by visiting us in the future.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

On arrival at the hotel, we received a very friendly and efficient welcome. A porter took our cases to our room and when he open the balcony door shutters, the view over Sorrento and the bay just took our breath away. We were in a party of 8 (4 couples) all with different rooms but all with a similar view. The hotel is built in to a cliff and it can take a while to get your bearings however this was not an inconvenience and you find that the hotel is much more expansive and spacious than it first looks, with various bars and restaurants. There is a terrace bar near reception with stunning views, perfect for a romantic evening nightcap. The restaurants are excellent. If you book half board you can swap your evening meal for lunch; we had lunch at the poolside restaurant and ate out in the evening. Although to be fair, you can eat as much as you want at breakfast, so lunch isn't always necessary. The waiting staff were attentive, welcoming and helpful at all mealtimes. The pool area was comfortably busy but never crowded and there were always sunbeds available. Drinks are a little pricey, but not overly so for a 4 star hotel in Italy. I would stock up on water though from the local shops which is cheap as chips. . I think this hotel is the best in the area. It is spotless with very friendly and helpful staff, and worth paying the extra for a better room. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view and balcony, you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BOR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback, we are delighted you had a wonderful experience at the Grand Hotel Capodimonte.

First impressions are very important and we are glad you took the time to explore the hotel and find the most attractive and romantic spots.

Thank you again for all your kind remarks, we are already looking forward to welcoming you as soon as possible.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel the staff were so so good. Food was excellent could not fault the hotel if I was to say anything then a spa would have been great . Would definitely go back . Great pools and fantastic views.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Lorraine,

Words cannot express our gratitude for your positive feedback and enthusiasm. We will make sure to keep the standards high, should you come back to visit us in Sorrento.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We were unsure about booking into a large hotel (around 200 rooms) but so pleased that we did. The grounds are so extensive that we never felt like we were in a large hotel. there are small areas all around the garden and of course a fantastic waterfall swimming pool. Service was the very best and the a la carte restaurant served well cooked and presented meals in a lovely setting. A great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuseppe M, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Capodimonte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear David,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and your opinions about the Grand Hotel Capodimonte here on Trip Advisor.

Although our hotel is quite large, we manage it with a great care for every detail, trying to deliver flawless standards of service to all our guests. Being pretty large, there is a lot of room for everyone’s privacy and most of our guests appreciate that.

Thank you again for all your compliments, we are already looking forward to welcoming you again as soon as possible.

Best Regards

Customer relation care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews