We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
162
295
192
77
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
295
192
77
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews riviera travel evening meal star hotel pool bar the main street pasta starter cakes roof terrace half board apartment block excellent location reasonable size fifth floor small balcony three courses changed daily central location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

Villa Maria is perfectly placed within 10 minutes’ walk of the centre of Sorrento. It can be a fairly noisy neighbourhood.

Firstly, this does not pretend to be high class, but what it does offer - for its price range - is top class friendly, helpful and sympathetic service; clean rooms and generally good food.

Filled with tourists needing early starts the breakfast served from 7am provides all, but the most particular customers, with a range of foods to keep the low-cal to carbo-loading diners well stocked for the day ahead.

Dinner is three courses with 3 or 4 choices per course. Although simple the food is in the main cooked well. A range of vegetables do not accompany main courses, but plentiful alternatives are served on a never-ending buffet.

We asked if we might change room. They could not have been more helpful. A wonderful view across the bay was well worth the supplement. Lifts run very slowly indeed so a top floor room choice means adding several minutes to your day waiting, unless you are fit enough to climb the 100 steps from Reception to 5th floor.

Yes, they are a bit short on refinement but make up 100% on service with a smile and willingness to please. If you choose this hotel recognising you are taking the slightly lower price option available, then you will enjoy your time.
Want 4-5 star treatment? ...... then cough up for it.

Some room walls are a bit thin. Not a place to have a lively argument with your partner or the whole floor will hear.

Quibbles aside we had a marvellous week.
Well done Villa Maria!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank A1592DNkates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Kate,
Thank you so much for the nice words you spent for us.
We are pleased to have appreciated our breakfast buffet made of fresh and genuine products, and to have appreciated our dinner service
Our strong point is the friendliness and professionalism of our staff and we are pleased that you enjoyed it.
The staff is very attentive to our dear guests and do everything possible to do everything to meet your expectations and make you feel at home.
We are pleased to know that during your stay you have enjoyed the privileged position of our Hotel.
Best regards,
Hotel Villa Maria Sorrent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

Picked this hotel for it's location just off the Corso Italia and because, as it was offered by Jet2.com Holidays, it would have been checked out.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon, tired after a very long trip to be told by a rather unhelpful man that our passports would be held until that night.
He gave us the times the restaurant was open and it would be busy as the hotel was full.

We were allocated room 408.

This turned out to be the size of a single room with a double bed.
What looked like a piece of wood suitable for a computer workstation was attached to a wall.
The room did not have a mirror or dressing table for my wife to put on her makeup.
Passing each other meant one had to get up etc.
The room was below Travel Lodge standard and would have be just OK for a single male staying one night on business.
There were three steep steps up to the shower room.
These did not have any grip rails so coming down was not very safe.
H & S would have had a field day here.
That tiny room did not have any place to hang towels etc. although it did have a very large waste basket. (for both rooms of course) Could not get the cat in never mind swing it.
The shower which sported two cracks in the base had the control in the middle so any movement while taking a shower could quickly mean no shower or a very cold shower.
Getting the shower curtain across was interesting!

The one tube of shower gel that was there on our arrival on Sunday was not replaced until the following Friday. The bed clothes were replaced as follows =

Monday to Friday nothing changed.
Friday two pillow cases.
Saturday two pillow cases and the top sheet on the bed.
On Saturday night our room had two sweets and a note from the chamber maid hoping we had had a nice stay. I hope she changed the sheets for the next unfortunates in room 408.

The room had a small balcony but had, unlike the wooden shutters in other rooms, metal industrial shutters. These were put up and down by switch in the room.
On half board, as offered by Jet2.com Holidays we went to dinner where people were been asked to share their small table with complete strangers because there were more guests than tables. The food was sad at best with our lamb looking pale on a plate of gravy.There was a saled buffet consisting of just three items.

So much for dinner shared or otherwise. Sorrento is full of lovely restaurants and we found six of them.

We saw sharing at breakfast also when too many came down at the same time.
Breakfast was good if one enjoys sweet cake and tarts at 7.00am. No full English here. Not many meats or cheeses either.

Some people on strick budgets had to eat in every night but many were very unhappy.

Room 408 I hate you!!

On leaving we were told by reception that we would have to pay the tourism tax of 42 Euros in cash. "Take the card or forget it." They took the card but I had to ask for a receipt for the bill. No "have a nice day" in this hotel.
The chap at the pool cafe was good but he was swimming against the tide.

Room tip: No not have room 408 and probably the rooms directly above or below it.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mocroi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Rooms are comfortable, clean, towels changed daily, courteous staff and a good breakfast.

The hotel is quite centrally located with the main square about 10 minutes away. Lot of eating joints nearby. Our tour operator picked us from the hotel.

The only negative is the bathing place. The glass cubicle is 1.5 feet square. U need to be very athletic or size zero to soap yourself from top to toe without banging yourself!
.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank shamitsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Reading other reviews, we were not expecting a top drawer establishment, but we thought that friendly staff and a good location would go a long way to making our trip to Sorrento a good one.
A positive start was the help we received to get our cases up the bit of a hill when we arrived. The check in was a bit vague, but polite, we are fairly self sufficient and don’t mind asking, so we were not too perturbed by this.
The room was less than impressive, reflecting other reviewers opinions of dated, but it was clean enough and the bed was fairly comfy.
Noise is a big issue for me, as we are quiet ourselves and live in a quiet area. You cannot have it both ways, the hotel is in a great position for walking to the town centre, but you trade that for the constant noise of the road at the bottom of the hill. If you enjoy the buzz and atmosphere of that kind of thing, it’s great. I don’t and it made sitting on the balcony uncomfortable unless I had partaken in liquid anaesthetic. Some of the other guests seemed to be hell bent on moving their furniture around every two minutes at all times of day and night, with the tiled floors and thin walls, this became irritating to say the least. Not the hotel’s fault though, but they need to know.
We had not been able to book the hotel on a B&B basis, so we duly arrived for dinner at a polite 7.15 pm (we don’t eat late as were early to bed and early to rise) only to find it rammed with a what appeared to be pretty much all of the Riveiera guests (we were not traveling with Riviera) all making a hell of a racket in there and only a few tables to spare. We didn’t make a good impression with the already under pressure dining room staff as we refused to join any of the tables of 4 or 6 - we didn’t go on holiday to share dinner with strangers.
The food was just OK. I’m fairly flexible with my food, but my husband struggled with the choice and composition.
One evening we arrived at 7pm for dinner to find the dining room very noisy and completely full with two further couples being told they would have to wait. We walked off in a huff and that night and decided it was not worth trying again. We didn’t bother eating that evening, too tired to go off out and search for food. One other night we ate out to ensure we had a relaxing and pleasant meal. With the dining room open from 7pm to 9.30pm and clearly unable to accommodate all the rooms in one sitting, we failed to understand why there was not some kind of booking system. Perhaps we should have complained bitterly to the reception, but they are the host, this shouldn’t happen in the first place, the hotel is not new to the game and that only just polite attitude was offputting. I didn’t want to loose my temper and that had become a real danger by that point.
Breakfast was passable, particularly if you like cake. Once again, if you arrived at the sitting when the Riviera guests had piled in, it was a night of a nightmare.
Previous reviews had suggested the staff were all friendly. I regret to say we saw none of that. They were not rude, just not keen to engage. Every time we walked past reception we were studiously ignored, a smile and a nod would have made all the difference. My attempt at raising a smile from the guy behind the pool bar failed dismally, I thought a smile spanned pretty much all language barriers. I only tried to engage as I’d seen him two nights earlier having a joke with an old lady in the restaurant who had ordered some exotic and no doubt exorbitantly priced cocktail! I guess strolling past him didn’t cut it on the friendly front.
We are understanding and flexible guests, but we felt generally less than comfortable here, a bit sad really.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank NelsonBearsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The staff from reception to the dining room were so lovely and accommodating. We originally had a room with 2 single beds pushed together and they were able to move us to a room with a proper double bed. Really peaceful nights sleep, great comfortable beds and pillows, a good spacious, clean room and the shutters on the windows were fantastic! Breakfast was delicious and the coffee was great.
Highly recommended. Perfect if you want somewhere to stay that is a stones throw away from the hustle and bustle, but is close enough for all the main attractions and transport needs. Thank you to everyone at Villa Maria for making our stay so lovely. All I'd add ... is that I wish there was a small kettle in the room :-)

Room tip: We had a room on the the top floor (5th floor) towards the back and you could hear a pin drop!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaMariaSorrento, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Maria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Dear Rowena,
thank you for your kind review for our staff, we are very much in the care of our dear guests and we do everything we can to make everything to meet your expectations and make you feel like at home.
Our breakfast and our meal are prepared daily by our chef with fresh and genuine products.
We are pleased that you have appreciated the professionalism of our staff and we hope to see you soon here in Sorrento.

Hotel Villa Maria Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews